2016 End of Year Survey

2016 End of Year Survey header

I’ve seen quite a few bloggers posting this and even though it’s pretty long (and I’m not sure how many of you will actually read it all, haha), I decided to do it anyway since I think it’s a great way to wrap up my reading and blogging from 2016. For those of you who don’t know, this survey was put together by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner. I’m going to try not to talk too much about each answer since, like I mentioned, this is already pretty long. But if you’re curious about anything I mention here, feel free to ask me about it in the comments 🙂

2016 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 65
Number of Re-Reads: 1 (I’m not much of a re-reader, haha)
Genre You Read The Most From: I think fantasy? I read a pretty good mix of things, so it’s hard to tell.

Best in Books

Best Book You Read In 2016?

This is unbelievably hard, haha. I’m going to go with Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. I loved this book so much and I’m so excited that it’s now out in the world for everyone to read ❤ Here’s my review if you missed it.

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I didn’t start seeing negative reviews for this until after I already had read it so I went into it expecting it to be really good. I ended up really disliking this one.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard book cover

Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

City Love by Susane Colasanti. I hadn’t really been reading a lot of contemporaries so I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this as much as I did.

City Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I’m not sure if anyone actually read any books because of me raving about them, but I think the books I recommended the most were probably Ruta Sepetys’ novels. Literally every time someone asks for a historical fiction recommendation, I recommend her books. They’re SO GOOD.

Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best series I started would probably be Fear My Mortality, which is now published as Beyond the Ever Reach, by Everly Frost. The best sequel was probably A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab. I didn’t actually read any series enders this year.

Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

There are honestly quite a few I could include for this one. Everly Frost, Julie Murphy, Jeff Garvin, Lora Richardson, Louise Gornall… I’ll stop there 😉

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Through a Window by Jane Goodall. It’s nonfiction which I very rarely read (although I’m hoping to read more of it this year) because it intimidates the hell out of me and takes me forever to get through. But it was nice to learn about some of Goodall’s experiences and observations during her time studying chimps in Africa.

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

My first instinct is to say Beyond the Ever Reach but since I’ve already used that as an answer and I’m trying not to repeat answers (although I’m pretty sure I’ll fail, haha), I’ll go with Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I very rarely re-read books and I honestly can’t see myself re-reading any of the books I read this year, especially so soon after reading them for the first time. I’d say maybe Glass Sword since I sometimes re-read books before the next book comes out to refresh my memory but I wasn’t a huge fan of that one, so probably not. I don’t have a good answer for this question, haha.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard book cover

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Hmm, maybe Heartless by Marissa Meyer – especially the OwlCrate exclusive cover.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer OwlCrate book cover

Most memorable character of 2016?

Nemesis from The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid. She was really different for a number of reasons and is one of the few characters from books I’ve read during 2016 that immediately comes to mind for this.

the diabolic by s.j. kincaid book cover

Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

I risk sounding kind of weird for saying this, but I honestly don’t care much for really “beautifully” written books because really flowery, descriptive writing tends to bore me. And even if a book I read is really beautifully written, I often don’t notice it because I’m more focused on the plot and things that are actually happening. With that said, I think I’d go with Ash by Malinda Lo.

Ash by Malinda Lo book cover

Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez-Greene. It’s a story about a girl who is a member of the FLDS and definitely makes you think about what it might be like to live a life like that.

Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez Greene book cover

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. This has been out since 2013 and I first read a book by Ruta Sepetys in 2014 (I think) and I can’t help but feel that I should have read this sooner. It was soooo good.

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Heartless quote 1

I’m honestly not really sure why I love this quote so much, but I do.

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

2016 shortest and longest book read

As you can see, I don’t read really long books, haha. This is another thing I’m hoping to change this year (maybe I’ll finally get around to Game of Thrones…).

Book That Shocked You The Most

All Her Secrets by Kate Avery Ellison had a pretty shocking ending that I did not see coming.

All Her Secrets by Kate Avery Ellison book cover

OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

I don’t do a whole lot of hardcore shipping anymore, but Fay and Malcolm from The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson were pretty damn great.

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The sibling relationship between Nadia and her younger sister, Genivee, was great. I love when family, especially siblings, have an actual role in a story. Oh and I almost forgot: Liberty and her grandma had an awesome relationship in Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer.

 

Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys (told you I wouldn’t be able to come up with different answers for every question).

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, for sure. I don’t know that I ever would have picked this book up if it weren’t for all the love it gets in the book blogging community, but I really enjoyed it.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab book cover

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Michael from Beyond the Ever Reach (admittedly, this is probably my answer because I just finished  reading the sequel and I’m reminded of how much I love him).

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

Best 2016 debut you read?

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin. Not only did I love that the MC was genderfluid, but the story itself was really good.

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin book cover

Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova, without a doubt! It wasn’t a perfect book, but the world-building was absolutely fantastic.

labyrinth lost by zoraida cordova book cover

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. This book made me actually laugh out loud a few times which is pretty rare for me. I really had fun reading this book and can’t wait to read more from Julie Murphy.

dumplin' by julie murphy book cover

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati had me close to crying a couple of times. I know there was one book that had me crying my eyes out and I’m really mad that I can’t remember what book it was. I think it was The Edge of Juniper (this seems like something I should remember).

Hidden Gem Of The Year?

I’d have to go with Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin. It deserves so much more attention than it gets!

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin book cover

Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Edge of Juniper and Heartless. I KNEW that Heartless would have a messed-up ending but I was crushed anyway.

Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Probably Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. It had really unique formatting and had all sorts of charts and things thrown into it. The overall concept of the story was pretty unique too. I still wouldn’t really recommend the book though since its ending was horrible (bad/lazy writing and offensive to people with disabilities/chronic illnesses).

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon book cover

Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

I have to repeat my last answer and go with Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. The book was really good but the ending was terrible and made me so, so angry. I’m still mad about it, tbh.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon book cover

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Since I just started blogging this year, I discovered a ton of great blogs in 2016. Just a few of my favorites are Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews, Jill @ Rant and Rave about Books, Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through Fiction, Reg @ She Latitude, Novel Knight, Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads, Melissa @ BookNerdMomo, and Lilly @ Lair of Books. Seriously, there are so many great blogs that I’ve found this year and I know I’m forgetting some of my favorite blogs/bloggers, so just know that I love you all and am so thankful to have found all of your wonderful blogs! ❤

Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Hmm, I don’t know. Maybe my review of Under-Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. None of my reviews really stand out as particularly good or interesting, haha.

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I write a lot of different discussion posts (they’re one of my favorite things to post), but one that I did somewhat recently that I particularly liked writing and sharing with everyone was my rant, er, post about why people shouldn’t lecture others for buying books from Amazon.

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

The Boston Teen Author Festival! This was back in September and I had so much fun. I got to listen to and meet quite a few authors, including Roshani Chokshi who I promptly fell in love with. I did a recap of the event for anyone who’s interested.

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

There are so many great things that happened over the past year, it’s hard to choose. I think I’d have to go with having my review blurbed on the Amazon page for The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson. That was SO exciting and was one of those moments where I was kind of like “okay, I guess I’m really a blogger!” haha

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I think finding the time and energy to blog hop. I always managed to find (or force) time to write posts, but haven’t always been the best about visiting other people’s blogs. It’s something that I’ve been working on recently though that I hope to continue to improve on throughout 2017!

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most popular blog post going by views was my post on when a negative opinion crosses a line. I think a teacher somewhere was using this post for their students because I got a ton of hits from Google classroom, haha.

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I don’t really know. Hmm… I’m just going to go with this post on the problem with calling backlist books “unoriginal.” 

Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I can’t actually remember if I discovered this site in 2016 or before then, but Book Riot. They put together so many great articles and I especially love their recommendation lists. Another perk: they do a ton of great giveaways.

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

The only real goal I set for myself at the beginning of 2016 was to read 50 books. I surpassed that (much to my surprise) by reading 65!

Looking Ahead

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

There are a few. I’ll go with This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab and Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. Both were really highly anticipated releases for me, but I never got around to them.

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

THERE ARE SO MANY. Maybe King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard. I absolutely love Red Queen and although I wasn’t a big fan of Glass Sword, I’m hoping King’s Cage will be great. 🙂

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard book cover

2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. It’s inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement and I’m so unbelievably excited to read it.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Well I already mentioned King’s Cage so I guess I’ll go with A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab and By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost. The first is a series ending and the second is a sequel. I’m super excited for both.

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Diversify my reading! I’ve already seen how this is affecting my book buying habits because I’m automatically looking for diverse reads which is great. I’m hoping to read AT LEAST one, preferably more, diverse books every month.

A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone

The only 2017 release I’ve read so far is Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall and, as I’m sure you’ve seen with all my raving about it, I definitely recommend it to everyone (as long as you won’t be triggered by things like self-harm and mental illness).

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

That’s my 2016 wrap-up! If you did this survey (or have another yearly wrap-up), drop a link in the comments!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

36 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Survey

  1. This Savage Song is on my priority list for 2017 too! I meant to get it aaaages ago, never did, then I got it for Christmas so I’m hoping to get to it soon! And The Hate U Give is one of my most anticipated books too 😀
    Also, thank you for the shoutout! I’m so glad to be included in your favourite bloggers list, it means a lot to me ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. completely agree about Ruta Sepetys. I’m not huge into historical fiction but love her books. I recommend them to everyone 😀 I also agree that Everything Everything had a terrible ending. I felt like reading the whole story was pointless after finishing it :c

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the shout out, Kourtni! 🙂 I love my OwlCrate copy of Heartless. I completely agree with you on that. I still need to read it. Labyrinth Lost was such a good read, and I loved the world building. It was so imaginative and Wonderlandlike but different in its own way.

    Like

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 I hope OC does more exclusive covers in the future! I was kind of nervous at first, but I ended up really loving their Heartless cover. The world building in LL was phenomenal and really made that book stand out, IMO. I’m really curious to see how the series is going to progress and if we’ll see any other unique settings like Los Lagos.

      Like

  4. I really loved Symptoms of Being Human too! I think it could get a bit too info-dumpy at times but I really love the messages and I thought it was cool that Riley was a blogger. I’m also not a big fan of the ending in Everything, Everything. I did NOT like that twist at all and wish it didn’t exist. 😛

    And you muuuust read This Savage Song! Schwab’s world-building is masterful as always and while that’s probably my least favourite of her books (that I’ve read), I still think it’s worth the read.

    Lastly, thank you so much for the shoutout! It’s an honour to be included in that list bc you’ve also listed some of my favourite bloggers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Symptoms of Being Human is so underrated! You’re the only other blogger I can remember who read it (I’m sure others I follow have, I just don’t remember haha). I’m really hoping to get to This Savage Song in the next few months. I want to make sure I’ve read it before the sequel comes out!
      You’re very welcome! ❤

      Like

      • I know, I actually don’t know who has read it other than you, off the top of my head… Unfortunately people just don’t really talk about it, haha. There are quite a few reviews on Goodreads, though, so at least it’s not THAT underrated. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Okay! Under Rose-Tainted Skies is officially on my TBR. 🙂 This is a wonderful post! It’s obvious you spent a lot of time and mental effort putting it together, too. I love it. I just finished Dark Matter last night and I agree it was action packed, but I don’t think I really loved it. That said, this is why I love blog hopping! Hearing what other people have to say about books is super interesting.

    Good luck with all your 2017 goals! I’ll be watching. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks Kourtni! It’s been a pleasure getting to know you through your blog 💕 & you’ve also brought to my attention that I REALLY need to get to Ruta’s books lol. Which is why I hauled Sat to The Sea in December. I’m def getting Out Of The Easy, the synopsis caught my interest some time over the summer when it was on Bookoutlet…I love New Orleans too so this is a MUST! Wishing you a wonderfully exciting 2017 😃💕

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks so much for the shoutout, Kourtni!! I’m so glad to have met you on here this year. 💕
    I’m also really excited for King’s Cage and holding out hope even though I wasn’t a huge fan of Glass Sword. I’m still mad about parts of that book but I’m so invested in the world and the characters haha. Also, I want to finally pick up This Savage Song this year too. And the Shades of Magic books! V.E. Schwab’s books in general are priority reads for me this year because so many people recommended them to me last year lol. And I really need to pick up one of Ruta Sepetys’ books too. I’ve had a few people recommend Salt to the Sea to me. I hope you have a fantastic 2017!! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! I’m really glad we met too 🙂 I’m really hoping that King’s Cage is better than Glass Sword. GS just seemed so boring and slow to me. I have hope for KC though, haha. I definitely want to read more of Schwab’s books this year! I’ve only read two of them and she has so many! Salt to the Sea is really good! I hope you like it if/when you pick it up 🙂 Thanks – I hope you have a wonderful 2017 too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • For me Glass Sword was a really aggravating read rather than a boring one. I nearly DNFed it at one point. So, yeah here’s to hoping we both enjoy King’s Cage way more!
        I hope I enjoy it too. I’m thinking I need to add it to my 2017 TBR. So hopefully I do get to it this year.
        You’re welcome!! 💕😊

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Seeing how much you loved Under Rose Tainted Skies is making me want to read it right now, haha. I also really need to get to The Diabolic and Dark Matter!! I’m so glad to see A Gathering of Shadows on here 😀 I can’t wait for A Conjuring of Light! And thank you so so so much for the shout out, Kourtni ♥ I love you and your blog to pieces!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I desperately want everyone to read URTS, haha. It was so freaking good! I can’t wait for ACOL either. Schwab’s been posting some teasers on Twitter and they’re making me want it even more, haha. You’re so welcome! ❤ I'm so, so happy that we met!

      Like

  9. Great post! So many books you’ve mentioned are my TBR, especially Schwab! I’m excited to binge read the last two books at the end of February and read This Savage Song!
    Hope 2017 is just as amazing for reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That Mortality book Beyond the Never Reach or whatever looks kinda good. I’m guessing you recommend so I’m adding it to my TBR. Great answers! This tag is so long so it must’ve been hard.
    Ash by Malinda Lo: do you recommend that?

    Like

    • Haha it took quite awhile to write this up. 😛 Beyond the Ever Reach is so good! I hope you like it 🙂
      Hmm I guess it depends on what kind of reader you are. If you’re someone who really likes plot-driven books, I’d say you could probably skip Ash. But if you like books that are more character-driven and/or that have really pretty writing, I’d recommend it.

      Like

Join the Discussion

