Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine Blogger Award header

I was tagged awhile ago to do the Sunshine Blogger Award by Melissa @ The Bookworm’s Fantasy! Thank you so much for the tag! (Also as a side note: I thought someone else had tagged me to do the same tag recently, but I can’t find another one. So if you tagged me for this, please let me know in the comments!)

THE RULES OF THE TAG:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and then write 11 new questions.
  4.  List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

What’s the next book on your TBR?

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs. I ended up getting a copy from Penguin’s First to Read program and I’m pretty excited. 🙂

What’s your favorite snack to eat whilst reading?

I don’t normally snack that much when reading, but I sometimes eat popcorn while I read in the evening. I’m addicted to popcorn. 😛

How do you organize your books?

Since I’m in college and live in a dorm, I don’t really have many books with me at school and don’t really have a bookcase to organize them in. But when I was in high school and did have a bookcase, all my books were organized alphabetically by the author’s last name.

Do you tend to read more books written by female or male authors?

Female, definitely. Part of this is probably just because I read mostly YA and YA is dominated by female authors. But I also tend to prefer stories written by women because most of the time, I find their female characters are written better than men’s female characters.

Are there any genres you don’t read at all?

Erotica, for sure, haha. I don’t really read biographies or memoirs either, although I’m hoping to get myself to read a memoir this year.

What’s your favorite book to movie adaptation?

Probably The Hunger Games. Aside from the fact that they whitewashed Katniss, I felt the movies did a really good job of sticking to the books and the movies got better and better as the franchise went on.

What was your most recent book disappointment?

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan. I read it because it’s about lesbians in Iran which sounded really interesting and like it would be a great book. It wasn’t necessarily bad, but it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. The love interest annoyed the crap out of me which was kind of an issue since the book is essentially a forbidden romance story. (By all means, still give it a try especially if you’re looking for a book with LGBT rep set in the Middle East.)

Where do you usually buy your books from?

Amazon and Barnes & Noble, mostly. I have Amazon Prime and a membership with B&N, both of which mean cheap online prices and free shipping. 🙂

Which book are you most excited for that isn’t released yet?

Oh dear lord, this is hard. I have to go with The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. YA book inspired by Black Lives Matter. The wait is killing me.

Do any of your friends or family share your passion for reading?

My mom kind of does, although I still read way more than her, haha. My little sister likes reading too, but, again, doesn’t read as much as I do (she’s more of a YouTube person, haha). Other than that, not really.

What are the top 5 things you look for in a book?

Characters that are easy to either relate to and/or empathize with, an interesting setting/world (especially for SFF books), diverse characters, a relatively fast-moving plot, and good character development. These aren’t necessarily things that need to be there for me to enjoy a book, but they’re things that I like to see included.

Nominations

I’m not going to nominate 11 people because I’m way too lazy for that. I’m just going to tag a few of my more recent followers from the past week or so. If any of you don’t want to do this, no worries! 🙂

Marie @ Marie’s Library

Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku

Emma-Louise @ The Stationery Geekette

Ayustika @ That Bibliophilic Cauldron

Bea @ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

My Questions

  1. What 2017 releases are you most excited for?
  2. What book did you read in 2016 that you want everyone to read?
  3. Are there any authors whose books you desperately want to like, but just can’t get into?
  4. What was the most recent book you read that surprised you (in either a good or bad way)?
  5. Are you participating in any reading challenges this year?
  6. What was the last book you bought?
  7. What’s one thing you’d like to see more of in books?
  8. Where do you go most often for book recommendations (other blogs, Goodreads, etc.)?
  9. Is there anything you like to do while you read? Listen to music? Eat?
  10. If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, which would you choose?
  11. What’s one trope that you’ll never get tired of?

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! It ends at midnight!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

11 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Yay! Thanks for the nomination! I have recently really gotten into memoirs. Particularly reading essay-style formats (How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran and Why Not Me? By Mindy Kaling) and audiobook formats (As a You Wish by Cary Elwes, Bossypants by Tina Fey, Yes, Please by Amy Poehler– just to name a few). I look forward to seeing what you think of memoirs.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

