Ringing in the New Year Book Tag

new-year2

Since today is New Year’s Eve, I figured this would be the perfect time to post this tag that I was nominated for by Kirsty the other day. Thanks so much for the tag!

Rules:

  • Link to the person who tagged you
  • Link to the creator of the tag – Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles
  • Share the tag image
  • Answer the questions below
  • Tag friends (or not if you don’t feel like it)

Best book and/or series that you’ve read in 2016?

This is a really cruel question, haha. I think I’d have to go with Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. It was such a fantastic book and I honestly cannot recommend it highly enough (although be aware that there are triggering topics like self-harm, depression, agoraphobia, OCD, and anxiety).

Authors that you’ve recently found and would like to read more of in the new year?

Julie Murphy for sure. I read Dumplin’ over the summer and loved it and definitely want to read more from her. There are a lot of others too, though: Susane Colasanti for my YA romance/contemporary needs, Victoria/V.E. Schwab, Blake Crouch, Malinda Lo (even though I didn’t enjoy Ash that much, I want to read some of her other books), Anna Banks, Marissa Meyer. I could probably come up with more, but I’ll stop there, haha.

Most anticipated book turned movie/tv show?

I know a Red Queen movie was announced awhile ago but I haven’t heard any news about that, so I don’t know if it’s still happening. If so, that probably wins. I think The Hate U Give also got a movie deal which is ridiculously exciting to me, even though I haven’t read the book yet since it doesn’t release until February.

Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss with at midnight (if there is one).

Is it totally ridiculous that my first thought for this is still Four from Divergent? It’s almost 2017 and he’s still my go-to book boyfriend, hahaha.

What’s on your TBR for 2017? (Top 5 will suffice if it’s an extremely long list!)

THERE ARE SO MANY. A few new releases that I’m really excited for and definitely want to read at some point during 2017: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy, King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson, and Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney C. Stevens.

How many books do you hope to read in 2017?

I’m setting my goal at 50 which was the same goal I set for myself this year. I wanted to keep it the same rather than increase it (even though I passed 50 books this year) so that I won’t be as hesitant to pick up longer books as I was this year when I wasn’t sure if I’d reach my goal.

Will you participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge or any others (PopSugar, Read the Books You Buy, etc.)?

I’m doing the Goodreads challenge and the Beat the Backlist Challenge which is hosted by Austine at Novel Knight. I’m also going to be kind of participating in Book Riot’s Read Harder challenge, but I’m not making it a priority.

Any New Year’s Resolutions? (Bookish, blogging, and otherwise)

I kind of posted about this yesterday with my 2017 reading/blogging goals post, so I won’t reiterate everything I said there. My biggest resolution though is to diversify my reading. I’m also going to be making more of an effort to be healthier and exercise more (which is such a cliche resolution, I know, but I really need to, haha).

Tagging

As usual, I’m just going to tag a few of my more recent followers. If you don’t want to do this (understandable seeing as how New Years is tomorrow) or have already done it, just ignore me. 🙂

The Pemberley Reader

Nini

Anna

Hannah

Stephanie

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2017 is good to all of you!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

13 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Ringing in the New Year | Book Tag – The Pemberley Reader

  2. Pingback: Ringing in the New Year || Book Tag – My Bookish Dream

  3. Pingback: 2016 End Of The Year Book Survey – BookNerdMomo

Let's Chat!

