Top Ten Books of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday Books of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme: top ten books of 2016. Rather than focusing just on books released on 2016, I’m going to be including any book that I read in 2016. As usual, links will take you to Goodreads. I’m also including links to my reviews in case anyone is interested!

Fear My Mortality/Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost

beyond-the-ever-reach

Read my review.

I’ve talked about this book a lot but that’s because I just really loved this book. I read it when it was about to be released as Fear My Mortality and it has since been re-released as Beyond the Ever Reach. I’m really excited for when I read the sequel, Beneath the Guarding Stars, which the author was kind enough to send me a copy of.

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

the diabolic s.j. kincaid

Read my review.

This was a great sci-fi book with a very interesting world and a ton of political intrigue that was just so fascinating to me. I know a lot of other readers have been loving this book, too.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

under rose-tainted skies cover louise gornall

Read my review.

This doesn’t come out for another few days in the US (January 3rd!) but I recently read an ARC of it and loooooved this book. If you’re looking for a good book that talks about mental health, I can’t recommend this highly enough. I’m probably going to buy myself a copy so that I can reread it at some point.

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

22692740

Read my review.

I devoured this book after borrowing it from the library. I loved reading about a genderfluid main character and thought that Garvin did quite a good job of writing them.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

Read my review.

I honestly loved this so much more than I was expecting to. This was written really well and I loved the romance and pretty much everything else about the book, haha. I bought Richardson’s other book which I really ought to read soon…

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplin' by julie murphy book cover

Read my review.

I kept hearing people rave about this and the fat representation in the book, so I picked it up from the library and really loved this book. Murphy is releasing another book in 2017 that has a bisexual main character and I’m SO excited.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Read my review.

I kind of put off reading this one because even though I really loved Sepetys’ two WWII books, I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about one set in the 1950s. But I honestly think this may actually be my favorite Sepetys book (although it is SO HARD to choose one). I flew through this book.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

Read my review.

I wasn’t expecting to like this one as much as I did, mostly because I have a hard time connecting to middle-aged protagonists, especially when they’re men. But this book had me eagerly turning the pages and I loved it. It was a great sci-fi thriller and it’s definitely a book that I’d recommend.

Nemesis by Anna Banks

Nemesis by Anna Banks book cover

Read my review.

This had a couple of things that annoyed me but, overall, I really loved it. I thought the world was really interesting and I quite enjoyed the romance. I can’t wait to see where the rest of the series goes.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

labyrinth lost by zoraida cordova cover

Read my review.

I read this after seeing quite a few bloggers reading and loving it and I’m really glad I did. I loved how diverse the characters were and was pleasantly surprised to find out the main character is bisexual. It wasn’t the strongest book I read, but the world-building was phenomenal and I’m still really looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

Did you read any of these books? What were your top reads of 2016?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2016

  1. Isn’t it great when an author can make you connect with characters you wouldn’t normally connect with? Exo Books’ The Last Day of Captain Lincoln did that with me. I totally got misty eyed over an 80 year old man. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool list. I read The Diabolic recently as well. I have several of the ones you’ve listed on my TBR. I’m looking forward to Nemesis and Labyrinth Lost. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had the unpopular opinion about The Diabolic. I enjoyed the story, but thought it was over-hyped. I think I’m having trouble right now with stories (and tv shows) that are predictable and that’s where The Diabolic fell for me. Alas. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely loved The Diabolic as well! When I started it I didn’t understand what was so great but when I got about a quarter of the way through it was amazing. I also really enjoyed Labyrinth Lost too and I’ve got Nemesis, Dark Matter, and Out of the Easy all on my TBR so I’m glad to see they were some of the best for you this year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great picks for this week Kourtni. I’ve only read Labyrinth Lost from your list but I have a few of the others on my to-read list so hopefully I’ll be able to get around to them sometime during the beginning of next year! I’ve heard some good things about Dumplin, The Diabolic and Nemesis in particular so those I really can’t wait to pick up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

