Beat The Backlist Challenge 2017 Sign-Up

beat the backlist 2017

I’ve been keeping an eye out for reading challenges to take part in and came across the Beat the Backlist Challenge which is hosted by Austine at Novel Knight. The goal of this challenge is to read books that were published before 2017. You can set your own goal though for how many you want to read – there aren’t any really specific requirements for the challenge. I’m going to be focusing on reading books I own that were published before 2017 because, as we all probably know, I have a ton of books that have been sitting around, waiting for me to read them. I’m feeling pretty confident that taking part in this will help me get at least a few of them read. πŸ™‚

My personal goal is to read at least 20 of my backlist books. I may end up making it higher, depending on how well I do in the first few months of 2017, but I’m sticking with 20 for now. I’ll be quite honest: I have very little idea on what I actually want to read for this challenge. However, I wanted to put together a TBR to include in my sign-up post. So I’ve come up with one, although the chances of me actually sticking to this TBR pretty much amount to 0%, haha. But here are 20 titles that I might try to get to:

  1. 1984 by George Orwell – published 1949
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – published 1985
  3. Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac – published 2005
  4. Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill – published 2007
  5. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – published 2007
  1. I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells – published 2009
  2. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – published 2009
  3. Legend by Marie Lu – published 2011
  4. Of Poseidon by Anna Banks – published 2012
  5. The Raft by S.A. Bodeen – published 2012
  1. Adaptation by Malinda Lo – published 2012
  2. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau – published 2013
  3. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – published 2013
  4. Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon – published 2013
  5. The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher – published 2013
  1. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord – published 2014
  2. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman – published 2014
  3. Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz – published 2014
  4. The Only Thing to Fear by Caroline Tung Richmond – published 2014
  5. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – published 2015

In addition to the goal of reading backlist books, there’s also a Hogwarts House mini challenge!

btbhpinfoslider

You sign up with your house (I’ll be representing Ravenclaw!) and can get points for your house by doing the following:

Post Challenge TBR/goals Β (on blog, Goodreads, social media, etc) = 20 points

Read 10 pages = 1 point

Write review = 50 points

Cross-post review to a retail website (Amazon, B&N, etc) = 15 points

Hopefully, I’ll be able to get lots of points for Ravenclaw! πŸ™‚

Anyway, this is my tentative (VERY TENTATIVE) TBR and goals post for the Beat the Backlist Challenge. I’ll likely be including my progress in my monthly wrap-up posts, but I’m sure I’ll mention it here and there in other posts too. πŸ™‚

Are you participating in any 2017 reading challenges?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

23 thoughts on “Beat The Backlist Challenge 2017 Sign-Up

  1. Yay Ravenclaw! πŸ™‚ Good luck with the challenge! I set my goal to 30 because I have over 110 books in my TBR and I really want to read them all, so setting a low goal and hoping for the best! I hope you enjoy 1984, I love this book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have sooo many books on my TBR, I wasn’t sure how many to aim for with the challenge because I don’t want to overwhelm myself, haha. I’ve been told by several people that I would like 1984, so I’m hoping to finally read it! haha Thanks and good luck to you as well!

      Like

Let's Chat!

