The Influence of Education on Writing | Guest Post for the Sauvage Domicile Blog Tour

sauvage domicile courtney ruggles blog tour banner

Hello, everyone! Today is my stop for YAReads Blog Tours’ Sauvage Domicile tour. Full disclosure: I have not yet read the series. BUT these books sound fantastic and I will definitely be picking them up at some point! (You all know I have a weakness for dystopians!) I have a guest post from the author of The Domiciles series, Courtney Ruggles, discussing how her education and experience in sociology and social work has helped her to write some of the gritty issues that make their appearance in the series.

Guest Post from the Author

My education has definitely allowed me to write some of the touchy issues in The Domicile Series. I obtained my Bachelors in Sociology in 2010 where I studied oppression, studied groups, and behaviors. Then I went on to get my Masters in social work. I diagnosed, providing counseling among a slew of other kinds of treatment for people with mental health diagnoses. I loved my work but I knew I always wanted to work on a more macro level, impacting policy and research. So I went on to get my doctorate, which I am finishing now. I am all ABD- All ‘Bout Dissertation!

But in my experiences, I studied cases of oppression, marginalization, and abuse. I counseled and treated people who dealt with these issues every day. I spoke with people who were trapped inside their own minds, their realities twisted like a maze they didn’t see themselves escaping. Though I started writing The Sixth Domicile before I graduated high school, the hard issues entwined in the story were definitely inspired by my education and experiences, such as the abuse Q experiences from Q437A, as well as the oppression and group-think that occurs in the Domicile.

I have a few WIPs and ideas on my backlist in which my education and/or experiences as a social worker has inspired the storylines. I’m excited about them, seeing how this major part of my can fuel my dreams in ways I hadn’t imagined it could until now.

Thanks, Courtney! This was great to read about because I’m a college student studying psychology, sociology, and anthropology and I’ve always wondered how studying these fields may help me in the future to incorporate some of the sensitive issues I’ve learned about into my writing.


About the Author

courtney-300x252

Courtney’s love for writing started pretty much when she learned to read, which her mother would tell you was a feat in itself back when she was in the first grade. Once she aced those flashcards with vocabulary words, Courtney’s writing took off.  And her love with it.  In school, she was always writing short stories on a word processor (What?? Word processor with floppy disks?). Oh yes, she literally had a card filing case full of floppy disks.

Now getting her Doctorate in social work, she’s used this education to help her write some of the gritty issues entwined in her stories. When Courtney isn’t writing her next book while drinking coffee, you can find her doing homework (drag) with chocolate chip flavored coffee, reading series of books (because school books are only so interesting) while drinking pumpkin flavored coffee, playing with her little boy, or daydreaming of future beach houses while drinking some other scrumptious flavor of coffee.

Author Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


About the Book

sauvage domicile courtney ruggles book coverThe Revolution just entered the wild.

Q’s escape from the Vrai Domicile was supposed to be the final spark to ignite the people. But that spark was doused by a sacrifice that threatens to destroy her.

Now Q must forge a new path. Led deep into the woods to find the elusive Transients, she must not only protect those who escaped the Sixth Domicile with her, but also align with Transients who have their own plans of warfare. And their war calls for more death and destruction than Q ever thought possible.

As Q unites both Transient and Domicilian, she quickly realizes that even in the wilderness, no one is free. They must take the fight back to the Domicile. But this war brings with it more secrets, heartbreaking betrayals, and even worse sacrifices, as Q fights to protect her people from Elders who always seem to be one step ahead.

The face of the Revolution has changed. Q has entered the sauvage – a place she isn’t sure she can survive.

Book 3 in the Readers’ Favorite Domicile Series by Courtney Ruggles.

Buy The Sauvage Domicile on Amazon!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

