Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read During 2016

top ten tuesday new to me authors of 2016 12/6/2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme: new-to-me authors I read during 2016.

Let’s face it: there are a lot of authors that I’ve read for the first time this year. Some of them are debut authors and therefore I couldn’t have read them before. But, since this is my first year blogging, I’ve just been introduced to so many new books and authors. Picking ten of those authors to feature was really difficult, but I did my best. I’m also including what book of theirs I read (or what the first one I read was if I’ve read more than one) and linking to it on Goodreads for anyone who’s curious!

Susane Colasanti

susane colasanti author pic

I think it was March or April when I read Susane Colasanti’s book, City Love. I really, really loved that book and I won a copy of the sequel, Lost in Love, yet still haven’t read it (shame on me). I really need to get to that soon because I’d love to see what those characters are up to. If you’re ever in the mood for a good YA romance, I’d recommend checking Colasanti’s books out.

Everly Frost

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

You’ve probably heard me gush about Fear My Mortality already, but that was one of my favorite books this year and I’m not done talking about it yet. It’s since been re-released as Beneath the Ever Reach and its sequel, Beyond the Guarding Stars, has been released as well. I should actually be reading that this month (or next month at the latest) and I can’t wait.

V.E. Schwab

schwab author pic

I had honestly never heard about Schwab before I started blogging, but then she was EVERYWHERE. I ended up reading A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows over the summer and very much enjoyed them. I can’t wait for A Conjuring of Light! I’m definitely planning on some of Schwab’s other books, especially This Savage Song which I was SO excited for but has been sadly sitting on my shelves waiting to be loved.

Julie Murphy

julie murphy author pic

Y’all. I’m so in love with Julie Murphy – both her writing and her as a person. I read Dumplin’ over the summer as well and just looooved that book. It was so great to see a fat main character who is totally okay with being fat. I’m also really excited for Murphy’s next book, Ramona Blue, which is featuring a bisexual main character (and I believe Murphy herself is bisexual, so it’s #ownvoices – yay!).

Mary Ting

author pic

I signed up for a book tour of the Descendant Prophecies several months ago. I ended up reading the first and second books in the series and was totally addicted to the first book – I did not want to put it down! The second book was good too and I really need to finish the series. I know she has published other books as well – I’ll have to look into them and see if they’re something I’d be interested in. 🙂

Jeff Garvin

8377979

Jeff wrote Symptoms of Being Human which is another one of my favorite books this year. It features a nonbinary main character which was fantastic to see and, as far as I know, no one has had any problems with the representation in it either. I don’t think he’s published any other books, but I know I’ll be keeping an eye out for more from him.

Lora Richardson

14221635

You may remember me devouring The Edge of Juniper back in September which, surprise, surprise, has been another of my favorite reads. I have Lora’s other book, Outspoken, waiting for me on my Kindle. I bought it pretty much immediately after finishing The Edge of Juniper haha I definitely want to read more from her as I absolutely loved her writing.

Nicola Yoon

nicola yoon author pic

Nicola Yoon made this list because even though I had a problem with how Everything, Everything ended, I still really liked the rest of it (I read it in two days which is very rare for me) and I got to listen to her speak at the Boston Teen Author Festival and she was just such a sweetheart. I have The Sun Is Also a Star and will be reading that this month, with any luck.

Marissa Meyer

marissa meyer author pic

I’ve had the first two books of The Lunar Chronicles for a couple of years now and still haven’t read them BUT I have now read Heartless which I loved. I have to give credit to Meyer for somehow making such a hated villain so human and likable. I now really want to read TLC soon. I’ll do it, I swear.

Zoraida Córdova

zoraida cordova author pic

If you like reading books with great worlds, you definitely need to check out Zoraida’s Labyrinth Lost. It wasn’t perfect, but it had fantastic world building (and also an awesome diverse cast). There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll be reading more from her in the future.

Who are your favorite authors that you discovered in 2016?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

41 thoughts on “Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read During 2016

  1. Great list! V.E. Schwab and Marissa Meyer are on my list too! I’ve read and loved A Darker Shade of Magic and am starting A Gathering of Shadows soon. After that I’ll probably binge all her other books until A Conjuring of Light is released 😉 And The Lunar Chronicles is one of my all-time favorites. Can’t wait to read Heartless. I loved Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon as well ❤ (though admittedly, the ending was indeed a bit off)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely want to read some of Schwab’s older books, like The Archived. Her characters and world-building are just SO good. I desperately need to read The Lunar Chronicles. I feel like I’m the last person alive who hasn’t hahaha (I may be exaggerating a little bit…) Everything, Everything was such a great book except for that ending haha I loved the rest of it, though.

      Like

  2. LOVELOVELOOOOOVE your choices for the list this week! Especially love seeing Jeff Garvin on here; I’d pick him for my own list, if I did this topic in the future! (at least, at this moment I’d pick him.)

    Thanks so much for sharing! Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday if you’re interested in checking it out. No pressure or worries if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future, and have a great rest of your Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Book Tags And Blogger Awards! – thebookwormsfantasy

  4. YES YES YES to V.E. Schwab!! I probably would never have heard about her books if it wasn’t for the book blogging community. I’m so glad I’ve read some of them– they’re fantastic! I think my favorite out of the ones I’ve read so far is Vicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great picks for this week. Some of the authors on this list are favourites of mine to, V.E. Schwab and Marissa Meyer, and others are authors I just discovered this year myself as well.
    Labyrinth Lost was absolutely amazing wasn’t it? Definitely a favourite book of mine this year, and I have Nicola Yoon’s books on my to-read list for next year so I hope I enjoy Everything Everything as much as you did! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh I really want to read novels by Yoon, Meyer, & Garvin!! I think I have The Sun Is Also A Star by Yoon & the Lunar Chronicles by Meyer on my shelves, but I haven’t pick them up yet xD I have an excuse for TLC though — I don’t have Winter yet & I prefer to have the whole series before I start it lol. Great list! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

