Top 5 Books I Want to Re-read

top 5 wednesday books i want to re-read

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s theme is: books you want to re-read. I could easily come up with a lot more than 5, but I (somehow) managed to keep it only to 5. (I deserve an award, to be honest.)

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2767052

I first read this a couple of months before the first movie was released, so I think it was at the end of 2011 that I read these. 5 years later, these books are even more relevant and I desperately want to re-read them. Plus, I’d love to see what I pick up on the second time around that I missed the first time I read them.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

uglies scott westerfeld cover

I’m sure a lot of you know how much I love dystopian books. This series is what kickstarted that for me. I read the first book around 7th grade and was just so addicted to the series. I can’t remember if I ever actually finished the series or not, oddly enough. Regardless, I’d love to revisit the books that made me fall in love with one of my favorite genres.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the book thief markus zusak cover

I’m sure a lot of you also know that I love WWII historical fiction. I had to read during my freshman or sophomore year of high school. I liked it, but as a general rule, I really didn’t enjoy books that I had to read for school, so I’m curious whether or not I would enjoy it more if I read it just for my own personal enjoyment.

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

5107

This is another one I had to read for school, but I have nothing but good memories of this book. I know this is a book that divides people – you either love or hate this book. I just really, really loved this book and would love to re-read it.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

boyne-the-boy-in-the-striped-pajamas

I want to re-read this for a couple of reasons. As I already mentioned, I really love WWII historical fiction and I’ve been getting back into these types of books recently after awhile of not really reading them. This is actually one of the very first WWII books I read and I absolutely loved it at the time. It was the first book that ever made me cry. 😉 But recently I’ve been wondering if it’s a bit sympathetic to Nazis – based on what I recall, I feel like it might try too much to humanize them. So I want to go back and re-read it with a more critical eye and see whether or not it’s a book I can/should continue to love, support, and recommend.

What books do you want to re-read? If you did a #T5W, link me to your post in the comments!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I Want to Re-read

  1. Oh my God I read the Uglies back when I was 15 and reread last year how crazy! I never read the whole series, I only read Uglies and Pretties then the start of Specials! Such good books though right?? Great list, I’d love to read The Book Thief and Catcher in the Rye. Interesting thing to say about The Boy iN the Striped Pajamas, I’d like to reread now too!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

