4 WWII Historical Fiction Books To Add To Your TBR

random-post-blog-graphic-2

I’ve been planning to make a post like this for awhile and now that Trump has been elected and we’re all about to be entering WWIII, why not now?

In all seriousness, I’ve always loved historical fiction and have always had a particular love for WWII historical fiction. Those stories have always showed how, in the darkest of times, there are still good people and there’s still hope. So I thought I’d highlight a few WWII books that I have read and really enjoyed.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

25614492Ruta Sepetys is one of my favorite authors and I’m convinced she can do no wrong. Salt to the Sea is her third novel and her second WWII novel. One of my favorite things about her is that she tends to focus her stories on little-known historical events. This one centers on the sinking of Wilhelm Gustloff. I really loved this book – you can check out my full review here.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

16250900

I read this I think a couple of years ago and liked it quite a bit. It takes 4th place on this list, but only because I felt it was very character-driven and I’m someone who prefers plot-driven books. I know so many people who absolutely love this book though and it really is a good book, personal preferences aside. If you’re interested in seeing more of women in WWII, this is a great choice.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

51fa0mhsovl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Am I cheating by putting two Sepetys novels on here? I can’t help it – I’ve already mentioned how much I love her books. This is the first one of hers I read (and I believe the first one she published) and is also one of my all-time favorite books. This focuses more on the Soviet atrocities of WWII which I had learned very little about prior to reading this. I could go on and on about why I love this book so much, but I’ll stop here. πŸ™‚

Front Lines by Michael Grant

18743370This is maybe cheating a little bit since this is an alternate history book about what it might’ve been like if women were allowed in combat during WWII. But I think it still deserves a place on this list. One of the things I love about this book is that it offers a good amount of diversity and explores how race and religion (Judaism specifically) would have also affected women in combat during WWII. I loved, loved, loved this book and can’t for its sequel to come out in January. Here’s my review but I’m warning you now, this is one of my first reviews ever so it’s probably pretty terrible hahaha

Do you like reading WWII historical fiction? Have you read any of these? What others would you recommend?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

17 thoughts on “4 WWII Historical Fiction Books To Add To Your TBR

  1. “Early One Morning” by Virginia Baily, “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” by Jennifer Ryan, “The Girl in the Blue Beret” by Bobbie Ann Mason, and of course “The Book Thief” by Marcus Zusak are all amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love historical fiction! From this list I’ve only read Salt To The Sea but I loved it. I have Between Shades of Grey sat waiting on my shelves. I’ll have to add the other two! I also recommend The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman, and Paper Boats by Erndell Scott ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruta Sepetys can do no wrong if you ask me haha I’ve read all three of her books and loved every one of them! I read The Book Thief several years ago and have been meaning to reread that one. I had to read it for school which almost always makes me dislike a book, even if I would normally enjoy it haha I haven’t read the other two, but I bought Prisoner of Night and Fog a few months ago – now I just need to read it haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Historical fiction is definitely not my favorite genre but once in a while, I’d like to branch out and read more of it. I’ve read and (to my surprise) enjoyed Code Name Verity. I think it was a good portrayal. And I’ve been meaning to read another from Elizabeth Wein, Rose Under Fire, but still haven’t got around to it. Anyway in all seriousness, I hope WWIII would NOT happen πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

