My Bookish History Tag

my-bookish-history-tag-blog-graphic

I was tagged to do this ages ago by Niraja at Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them. Thanks so much for tagging me and sorry it’s taken me so freaking long to get around to this!

Rules:

  1. Link back to whoever tagged you.
  2. Discuss based on these questions, or create your own to help you out!

Do you have any childhood favorites (I’m thinking along the lines of those chapter books in elementary school)?

Oh my lord, there are so many! I’ll go with the Magic Tree House and Gregor the Overlander series! I read those all in elementary school (I may have finished Gregor the Overlander in middle school…) and although I remember practically nothing about any of them, I remember just loving them so much.

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

I’d say either Magic Tree House or the Dear America series. I would devour the books in both of those series and never seemed to be able to get enough of them.

Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger for sure! The Book Thief by Markus Zusak as well although I don’t remember enjoying that quite as much as The Catcher in the Rye.

Was there a book that changed the genres you read? (i.e. were you an avid reader of contemporary, but now it’s all about those dragons?)

Maybe The Hunger Games. Prior to reading that I read mostly historical fiction or contemporary, but ever since then I’ve looooved reading dystopians and/or post-apocalyptic books.

Are there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

Of course! All the series I’ve mentioned already (Magic Tree House, Dear America, Gregor the Overlander, The Hunger Games) plus Harry Potter and Divergent. I’ll always love all of these series! I can’t remember any individual books that stick out though.

What kind of bookworm are you now? You can mention anything. Can you easily read 100 books in 6 months? A slower reader? Are you a mood reader or do you set book goals? Do you hoard books? Do you have 79084 books on your TBR list?

In comparison to most people, I’m a pretty quick reader as I go through about a book a week, sometimes a little more. But other book bloggers make me feel like such a slow reader sometimes haha Sometimes I’m a mood reader although I’ve been getting better about being able to set a list of books to read for myself and actually stick to it. And as for my TBR, well… I’d probably need to live to at least 200 to get through it all.

Do you have a shelfie for us?

Kind of. I’m in college and live in a dorm so I don’t really have bookshelves, but my dorm room this year has an old fireplace mantel that I use as one. Here’s a pic from the day I moved in (it looks a bit different now) featuring lots of artwork from my two younger siblings 🙂

img_20160904_184954

As usual, I’m going to tag a few new followers. If you’ve already done it or simply don’t want to, no worries!

Amber

Marian

Laura


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

14 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag

    • I will always love Divergent! I was so addicted to that series. I think I flew through each book in two or three days which is not something I do often haha
      Thanks! 🙂 My younger siblings, especially my brother, love making art and giving it to me so I’m happy to have it up in my room haha 🙂

      Like

  1. Making the transition from a carefree mood-reader to an organized and planned reader is rough. A few years ago, I had lofty goals about determining my next ten or fifteen reads in advance, and ha ha ha no. The best I can do is check out four books from the library at a time, and maybe read three of them. (Maybe.)

    What on earth kind of dorm room do you live in that has such a gorgeous fireplace?? All of my dorms were bleak white cubes of various sizes. I’m officially deeply bitter that my dorm experience wasn’t nearly as amazing as yours. Love your shelfie! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so true! I pretty much only plan any review copies I have or library books so that I make sure those are read on time. When it comes to books I own though I don’t really plan those out, just kind of choose what I want haha
      I live in a room in a brownstone that used to be part of an apartment. 🙂 The fireplace itself is boarded up but I love having the mantel to shelve the books I brought with me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Bookish History Tag | Reads and Treats

  3. Pingback: My Bookish History Tag – Reading Sanctuary

  4. Pingback: My Bookish History Tag | Abyssal Librarian

Join the Discussion

