Top Ten Horror Books I Want To Read

top-ten-tuesday-blog-graphic

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week is a Halloween freebie theme so I decided to highlight some YA horror books that look interesting and that I want to read.

As always, links will take you to Goodreads.

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

24502942

I was supposed to get to this during the Halloween Readathon but I don’t think that’ll happen. Anyway I’ve been eyeing this book for quite awhile and I bought the ebook not too long ago because it was on sale for just a couple of dollars. I desperately want to read this.

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

21413855

This is a book that I keep going back and forth on whether or not I want to read it. But it seems like a good ghost story so I think I’ll give it a shot one of these days.

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz

18459190

This is another one that I was hoping to maybe get to during the Halloween Readathon and even though I didn’t get to it, I’m still hoping I’ll read it at least somewhat soon. I got to meet Laurie at the Boston Teen Author Festival last month so now I really want to read her books.

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

27405351

Does this actually count as horror? I’m not really sure (it seems more paranormal to me than outright horror) but Amazon lists it as horror so I’m sticking with it. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this but honestly, anything based on the Salem witch trials has got me interested, especially since it’s written by a descendant of Cotton Mather. Sign me up!

The Call by Peadar Ó Guilín

41pruf6szsl-_sx374_bo1204203200_

The blurb for this is pretty short and kind of vague and I haven’t really seen many reviews for this so I don’t have a solid grip on what this is about, BUT it still seems really creepy and spooky and interesting so I want to give it a shot.

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

6160nw7gzrl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

I honestly hadn’t heard of this before a couple of months ago when I started seeing it around the blogosphere. This is about a group of girls who all think that another girl is possessed and take it upon themselves to try to form an exorcism. It sounds sooo creepy and sinister.

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

9378297

I have heard SO many good things about this book and it sounds so wonderfully creepy. I definitely need to give this one a try. 🙂

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

12813630

A story about a girl who wakes up surrounding my corpses and has to fight to keep herself alive? This sounds amazing. I know a lot of people are huge fans of Holly Black as well and I’ve been wanting to check out some of her books.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender

24612533

I read one of Katie Alender’s other books, Good Girls Don’t Die, and while it wasn’t my favorite, I still enjoyed it and would totally read more of her books. I also am a huge fan of stories set in creepy asylums (which totally conflicts with my role as a mental health advocate but hey, don’t judge my contradictions) so a story of a girl who gets trapped in an old asylum and starts seeing a bunch of ghosts sounds so awesome.

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

19364719

This is a collection of short stories that are all either thrillers or horror (I think). There are some pretty big name authors in it too like Leigh Bardugo and Marie Lu. I’ve seen a few people reading this recently and, as I’ve mentioned a few times, I’ve wanted to check out some shrot story anthologies so this looks like a great choice.

Have you read any of these? Are there any others I should’ve included?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Horror Books I Want To Read

  1. I’ve heard The Merciless is an extremely spooky read. Epicreads read it as “high” on the scary factor. I’m intrigued to see how scary it is. I also really want to read Anna Dressed in Blood as well as The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Both sound fantastic!

    Happy Reading!

    Amber @ Escape Life in the Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard that The Merciless is really scary too! I’m kind of afraid to read it because I’m such a baby when it comes to scary books haha I can watch scary movies all day long and be fine but for some reason, scary books end up keeping me awake at night hahaha

      Like

  2. You have so many awesome books on here! I have to say that Slasher Girls and Monster Boys is my favorite some of the stories in there are the scariest I’ve ever read. I also really loved Anna Dressed in Blood, The Merciless, Welcome to the dark house, and The Dead House! I have The Call and Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall on my list this week too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Haunting of Sunshine, The Merciless, and The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall are all on my radar as books that I wouldn’t mind putting my big girl pants on for since I am not a fan of the horror genre at all LOL! these look like some really great picks Kourtni, I hear The Merciless is actually scary & that pink cover quite deceiving *covers eyes*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. READ WELCOME TO THE DARK HOUSE! That duology is one of my favorites of all time even though I hate horror with a passion. It’s so well written since its creepy and atmospheric and downright freaking scary but it doesn’t have any kind of paranormal element which in my opinion, makes it that much more terrifying haha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Featured Book Blogger – Kourtni Reads

Join the Discussion

