Weeding Out My Goodreads TBR

random-post-blog-graphic

Anyone who has been reading my blog for a while now will know that I add a lot of books to my TBR. This is especially true for my to-read list on Goodreads because, well, it’s really freaking easy to quickly look a book up after seeing it mentioned somewhere and add it to my list. I’m pretty sure I add at least a book or two a day. What this has resulted in is… a really long to-read list on Goodreads. I realized (slightly to my horror, slightly to my amazement) is that I have almost 800 books listed: 796 to be exact (although by the time this posts, it’ll probably have more…).

So I want to weed out my Goodreads TBR and take off some books that I might not be interested in reading anymore. But I’m having a hard time parting with any of them! So I want to brainstorm some things I can base my decision off of and have an easier time shortening up this list, even if only by a few books.

What I’ve Heard About the Book

If I’ve heard a lot of great things about the book, then great – it can stay. Books that I haven’t really heard anything about can stay too because I love reading kind of obscure or just less well-known books. But if I remember seeing a lot of mixed reviews or a lot of negative reviews, maybe I can take a second look at it and see if the premise is interesting enough for me to still want to give it a try or if I can knock it off my list to make room for books I’m more likely to enjoy.

Reread the Blurb

I’ll admit, as I’m scrolling through my TBR, I don’t even remember some of these titles.ย If that’s the case, I can probably either A.) just get rid of it (if I really wanted to read it, don’t you think I’d at least remember hearing something about it?) or B.) reread the blurb and see if it’s something I’m truly interested in. If it’s not, adios!

Read a Couple of Reviews

There’s no way that I have time to do this for every book because, ahem, there are almost 800 of them, but for those books that I’m just not sure whether or not to keep on my TBR, looking at a couple of reviews may be helpful. I’ll admit I don’t really trust most reviews on Goodreads, but if the reviews are from people I’m friends with on there and/or bloggers I’m familiar with, then they could be trustworthy and helpful.

Any other ideas? What do you do when you need to take some books off your TBR?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

33 thoughts on “Weeding Out My Goodreads TBR

  1. This is a great idea! I really need to weed out my TBR and get rid of some books I know I’ll never read, and these are all great ways to do it! I haven’t done it yet because I have like 1500 books on my TBR, and I know it’ll be so time consuming to scroll through them all… but it is something I wanna do! And soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with you on all your points! As well, when I weed out my TBR, I ask myself how I plan to get my hands on each of the books. If the book in question is not in my public library or in my local bookstore, I usually say bye-bye. But there are just some books on my TBR with adorable covers which I can’t bear taking off… I don’t know what I’m going to do about those, LOL! Great post!๐Ÿ˜œ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I did these recently, I deleted some books on my to-read shelf on GR. I managed to delete about 20 books that I’m no longer interested with.๐Ÿ™‹

    But I still have about 300+.๐Ÿ˜ฟ

    Oh, and I have a bad habit of adding all the books in the series if the first book’s blurb is interesting, so I removed those and just retain the first(if I’m still interested on it). โค

    I also take into consideration these when removing a book:

    1. Will I ever buy this book?
    2. Do I really want to read a book about *insert description here*?
    3. My gut feeling says YES or NO.

    Hope that helped. Happy weeding!๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck!! It’s a rarity for me to delete books from my TBR, but then I will only put them on there if I’m pretty sure I’m going to read them – Annie’s list above is basically the questions I will ask myself before adding to the TBR. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 800 book is definitely too high! lol I’m sitting around 200 and I thought I had too many books on there x)
    My for-sure way to get rid of a book off my TBR is when I’ve had it on the list for over a year and I still haven’t thought about reading it, or thought about it at all actually. I check my Goodreads TBR every six months or so and purge it of books I know I’m not going to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to always want a lot of books on my TBR that way when I go to the bookstore or library I can always find at least one or two books that are on my TBR, even if there isn’t much to choose from. But yeah 800 is just way too many books so I definitely to get rid of some hahaha

      Like

  6. I honestly have just as many books that I have to read as you do. But I don’t have a list made of them. Maybe if I did make a list I might read through them faster. Good luck with whatever you decide to do about your list of to read books. Though I do believe you can never own too many books. Look forward to reading your future postings.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I have over 1400, almost 1500 books on my TBR shelf because like you, I always add books because they seem cool, the cover is pretty, a goodreads friend is currently reading or gave it a good rating, etc. so I tend to do this every few months (though it doesn’t reduce that month). I do all the things you mentioned, check the ratings, look at reviews from my list of friends and see if they read it. But mostly I try to be really honest with myself and ask: do I really want to read it and will I ever have the time to read it. Sometimes it sucks because it may be a popular book or one that I’ve been recommended so I feel bad taking it off my list but it’s so much better afterward…. Until I had ten more the next time I go on a book search spree haha

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s so hard to part with books on my TBR! I think what’s hardest for me is when there are really popular books that have been sitting on my TBR for awhile. I kind of feel like I should read them since so many other people loved them but at the same time, they’ve been sitting there for so long that I don’t know if I’ll ever actually get to them, you know? ๐Ÿ˜› Hopefully I can cut down my TBR so that it gets at least a tiny bit more manageable haha

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I had a good old sort out of my Goodreads TBR earlier this year. Some I just saw the covers of and was able to delete but with most of them I checked the blurb there was a lot on the list that I’d added that wouldn’t interest me anymore because my reading taste has changed so much in the last year alone. Now If I see a book someones talking about I make a note of it or take a screenshot on my phone and then I leave it there till the next weekend before looking it up. If I’m still interested by the weekend then I add it to my goodreads but I’ve found a lot of books don’t make the cut when I do it this way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm that sounds like a good idea. I definitely tend to add books to my TBR without really thinking about it, simply because it’s so easy to just look them up and add them on GR. But taking screenshots and then deciding later on if I want to read them may actually help me to cut down on the number I add to my list. I’ll have to try that out ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  9. I think I just hit 800 on my TBR on Goodreads and have been contemplating doing this as well. I love your idea about rereading the blurb to figure out if I’d still be interested in it so I might have to try that when I have the time. I swear it’s so hard not to add every book you hear great things about to your TBR on there. ๐Ÿ˜‚
    Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m not strict at all with what I add hahaha I’ve always kind of felt like it doesn’t matter if there are a ton of books on my to-read list because then at least I’d have a lot of options when I’m looking for new books. But it’s become just way too long haha

      Like

Let's Chat!

