How Do You Stick to a Book-Buying Ban?

random-post-blog-graphic

I need help. Serious help. I really need to cut down on my book buying. For the past few months, I’ve been buying 20+ books each month. And seeing as how I read 7-8 books a month if I’m lucky, I’m falling ridiculously behind with the books I’ve acquired and have also been spending way too much money on it. So I need some advice: how can I get myself to actually stick to a book buying ban? I have a few ideas but I could definitely use some more tips that any of you have. Let’s go over my ideas so far, shall we?

Instead of buying books I want, get them from the library.

Last month I got a library card with the library near my school and I still have access to digital loans to two other libraries (Boston Public Library and the library from back home) as well. So if there’s a book that I’m dying to get my hands on, I could just borrow it from the library rather than buying it right away. If I really end up loving it, I can buy a copy when I’m not on a book buying ban anymore.

Refocus my energy on getting through the books I have.

It’s probably no surprise to anyone that the amount of books I own and haven’t read is outrageous. I probably have close to 100 books that I’ve bought but haven’t read. Maybe more actually since I really don’t have much of an idea on how many ebooks I have haha So I could use the time during my book buying ban to focus on getting through all of these books I bought because I was so desperate to read them but that have now been sitting on my shelves for months. *cue eye-rolling*

Remind myself that Christmas is coming up.

I’m hoping to get this book buying ban to last until Christmas. (Hoping being the keyword.) I’d maybe try to make it go a bit longer but 1. my attempts at book buying bans have failed before and 2. I always get money at Christmas and it’d just be cruel not to let myself spend any of that on books. πŸ˜› But hopefully I’ll be able to get myself to wait this long by reminding myself that not only will I be able to buy books after I get Christmas money, but I’ll probably get at least a few books as gifts as well.

Alright these are the only ideas I have to help myself get through this book-buying ban. I think these will be helpful, but I guess only time will tell.

What do you do to help yourself stick to a book buying ban?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

25 thoughts on “How Do You Stick to a Book-Buying Ban?

  1. I don’t know if this will work for you, since you do read so many books a month, but try setting yourself a goal of reading XX number of books before you are “allowed” to buy any. You say you read 8 books a month, so you can set it at 15 or 20 (that should get you to Christmas and actually have a few extra included so you don’t just read a little faster to get there.) Good luck kiddo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am trying the ‘don’t buy any books until after Christmas’ tactic, but am not sure how successful this will be. I like the idea of saying you can only buy a book once you have read xx number, as this seems a more achievable and will keep the focus on reading. As nothing was working for me, I counted all of my books and that put me off buying for a little while 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have this same problem. In my case I literally ran out of money so I couldn’t buy any more books haha. If you are using a credit card to buy then take it out of your wallet. If you report your card damaged the bank will issue another one with a new 3 digit code so you’d have to re-enter it to buy from Amazon… I had to do this then hide the card so I didn’t know the 3 digit code haha. Sounds severe though. It also helps to make a check list of books you already have that you want to read and then work through the list before you buy anything new. I’ve been doing ok but still splurge on new releases by favourite authors occasionally. Still have about 150+ books on my shelves to read tho lol GOOD LUCK!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love all these tips! I actually generally have no problem NOT buying books, and I think that’s largely because of the library. I get tons of books out at a time and my pile just grows so big, it puts a hold on my… want? to buy books. Right now I have maybe like 11 books, and since a loan is only three weeks long usually, I’m on a deadline! (Though OK, you can renew that loan.)

    But yeah. Definitely the library for me. If I end up with a book that I really love, I end up buying it too, but that’s for later. πŸ˜‚ Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The library really is a lifesaver (and money saver haha)! I think having access to one while I’m at school now will help, especially since even if my library doesn’t have a specific book, I can request it from another library. I try not to take too many out at once though because otherwise it stresses me out and/or I end up owing money for overdue books though haha But I’m definitely going to try to use the library as a way to make myself not so desperate to buy new books. Hopefully it’ll work! Thanks, Reg!

      Like

  5. The library is definitely helpful. Especially since you have Overdrive. I checked out ebooks a lot during my last book buying ban 😊. Currently I’m sticking to this only buy books you know you’re going to read soon book buying ban. It keeps me from going too crazy because I’m reminded to ask myself “Are you really going to read that soon or even within the next few months or do you just want to buy it because everyone else is?” It’s working so far. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I always think that if I really love a book then I can buy it later, so that stops me from buying all the books straight away. I’ve also bought books before that had a lot of hype and I thought I would love, but then I just hated the book. And it was such a waste of my money… So now I don’t buy books unless I KNOW I love them.

    Also, I think if you break it down. The more books you keep buying, the longer it’ll take you to read them. If you have 100 unread books on your shelves and you’re only reading around 7 books a month, then you’re going to take around 1+ years to read those books. Not including any more that you may buy! Eek!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Liked by 1 person

    • Luckily I haven’t yet bought a book because of hype and then ended up hating it. I almost bought Truthwitch but then saw the library had it and just borrowed it there with the intention of buying it later but holy crap am I glad I did that because I didn’t enjoy that book very much at all so it would’ve been a huge waste of money. I need to remind myself that I can always buy a book later if I do end up really liking it lol I seem to figure that’s a possibility hahaha
      Listen we’re not even going to talk about how long it would take me to get through all the books I have hahaha I really need to get better about actually reading all the books that I buy. πŸ˜›

      Like

Let's Chat!

