Top 5 Inaccurate Covers

top-5-wednesday-blog-header

Okay, okay I know I already posted something today but I’m posting again. I generally try to avoid posting twice in the same day just because 1. it’s probably annoying for you guys and 2. I don’t have the time to do it haha But I really wanted to be part of the cover reveal earlier and I also didn’t want to miss this week’s Top 5 Wednesday theme. So here I am. πŸ˜›

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic is: inaccurate covers.Β Those books that have nothing to do with the story, or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the actual main character, or it’s a really cheesy cover for a great read! Admittedly, most of my picks are ones where the cover looks so cheesy but the story is great. πŸ™‚

From Gods by Mary Ting

This has two different covers but honestly, they both look super cheesy to me. The one on the right is a little better, but like I said, still cheesy. I’ve only read the first two books in this series so far but they were both way better than the covers had me expecting them to be.

Nemesis by Anna Banks

27414431

I can’t be the only one who doesn’t like this cover, right? It just seems… weird. If I were going off this cover alone, I would have no idea what to expect out of this book. Some sort of fantasy, but other than that… I’m lost. But reading this book is totally different. It was a fantastic story and probably one of my favorite reads from this year.

Oleah Chronicles (Truth and Justice) by Michelle Johnson

Another case of “really cheesy covers, but great books.” Based on nothing but the covers, I would expect something really lameΒ and I probably wouldn’t bother picking them up, to be honest. Luckily Michelle contacted me and asked me to review them because this made me actually look past the cheesy covers and read the books (which are really great, if not a bit cliche).

Just a Few Inches by Tara St. Pierre

51qlbiuyd0l-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Okay, so a lot of my picks this week are from self-published authors. πŸ˜›
It makes sense, I suppose, since they don’t really have access to the cover designers from a big publisher.

Anyway, this is another one where I looked at the cover and just felt kind of “meh” about it. It really makes the story look boring and… strange. The story was a bit strange but in a good way and it definitely wasn’t boring. I liked this book a lot and I know a lot of other bloggers got this to review and liked it as well.

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

15993203

Look at how beautiful that cover is. Look at it! I almost bought this after seeing the cover but decided not to and I’m honestly quite happy about that. I borrowed this from my library and it wasn’t necessarily a bad book, but it wasn’t great either. It’s just one of those kind of forgettable books that are entertaining enough, but nothing super special. Side note: they’re changing the cover design for this series which I feel is a HUGE mistake because the new covers look so stereotypical whereas this cover is beautiful and pretty unique. I mean look at the above cover and then look at the new one:

27074515

WHY?!Β It makes it look so cheesy.

Anyway, enough of my ranting about the new cover haha That’s all I have for this week!

Do you agree with me about these book covers being inaccurate? What covers would you add to the list?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Inaccurate Covers

  1. Expectations vs. covers – it’s a thing. Covers have a lot of power, so actually it’s even more important for self-published authors to have great covers, because a bad cover DOES put me off – or at least it won’t spike my curiosity when I see the book, so I just won’t even care to check what it’s about in most cases. And I do agree with your choices here, I’m not a fan of any of those covers either 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cover for Nemesis is one of the reasons why I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read the book πŸ™ˆ Also, the original Dark Days cover is so gorgeous I have no idea why they’re changing it. That cover is what made me want to buy the book! the Aus/UK cover is different though but still not as bad as that new one hahaha.

    Also I definitely notice the lower quality covers by self published authors. I totally understand they don’t have the resources but really there’s so many amazing free stock photo websites out there. You could make a simplistic, but eye catching cover pretty easily.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yeah I’m really not a fan of the Nemesis cover. It’s just so… boring? And doesn’t really give you any idea on what the book is about.
      I’m so mad about the Dark Days cover change (and now Rebel of the Sands has fallen victim too…). The first one was gorgeous – I’ll never understand why they’re changing it.
      I can sympathize with not being very good at graphic design but yeah I mean, it’s not that hard to teach yourself how to make simple but appealing and attention-grabbing covers. Especially since you can search for tips on graphic design and get tons and tons of web results.

      Like

  3. Omg yes! I feel the same way about Nemesis, I’ve heard so many great things about it but can’t make it past that unappealing cheesy cover LOL! & Dark Days has been at the top of my TBR partially because of that beautiful 1st cover. I saw the cover to book 2 on Edelweiss & knew they were going with a cover change but I truly dislike the new covers. Not sure why they’d take this route πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ*removes from BookOutlet cart* πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yeah that Nemesis cover really does not do the book justice. I’m glad I read it, but I had to get past the cover first lol
      The cover change for Dark Days Club made me so angry and I’m still so mad about it honestly haha It was so beautiful, why would you ruin it?! And now they just announced they’re doing the same thing for Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. It had a gorgeous cover and now they’re changing it to a cover w/ a girl in a weird pose lol WHY?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wait!!! NOOOO!!! Not Rebel Of The Sands too!!! Why?!?!? I love that cover just the way it is & hate when they add any characters to the covers of YA SMH πŸ˜’I’m probably going to read Nemesis on Kindle cuz that cover is just not redeemable lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yup, they changed Rebel of the Sands. I hate the new cover honestly. The original one was beautiful, they didn’t need to change it at all. Now it has some cheesy action cover. And I honestly would not see that cover and think it looked like a good book.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SMH I think the only cover change I’ve been happy for recently is The Wrath & The Dawn paperback πŸ™ŒπŸΌπŸ™ŒπŸΌπŸ™ŒπŸΌπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜ I wouldn’t pick up anything with a cheesy action heroine on the cover either LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

