Top Ten Books I Was Recommended That I Want to Read

top-ten-tuesday-blog-graphic

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is books you’ve read based on some recommendation whether the recommendation came from other bloggers, magazines, podcasts, family/friends, etc. The problem is that I haven’t actually read very many books that were recommended to me. So instead I’m doing books that I’ve been recommended that I want to read.

All links will take you to Goodreads, as always!

King Leopold’s Ghost by Adam Hochschild

347610

This was recommended to me by my older brother and he actually bought it for me for Christmas last year. I have no good reason to not have read this yet, but surprise, surprise I haven’t. It’s a story about imperialism and colonialism in the Congo by King Leopold II of Belgium and just how absolutely brutal it was.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

256683

One of my friends from high school recommended this to me when she was reading the series since she knew I loved reading fantasy. I know a lot of people don’t like this series (or Cassandra Clare…) but a lot of people also love this series. I have a few of the books so I will read them. The question is when. 😛

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

16299

So I recently mentioned that I had been wanting to try reading some of Agatha Christie’s books and Theresa over at TheCalicoBooks recommended this one since it’s her favorite one of Agatha Christie’s books. I have to say it really does sound like a great book and I think next time I go to the library I’m going to check and see if they have it.

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

22738563

This hasn’t been personally recommended to me, but I’ve seen so many different people recommend it. From bloggers to people putting together recommendation lists for feminist literature, this is just recommended everywhere. I definitely need to read it.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

18813642

I think I mentioned this in my last TTT, but I’m mentioning it again so deal with it. 😛 This is another one that I haven’t been personally recommended, but like We Should All Be Feminists, it’s recommended so much by and for people interested in reading about feminism. So again, I really want to read this.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

12000020

Another one that I mentioned in my last TTT haha I’ve lost track of all the times this has been recommended by, well, everyone. I don’t really have much else to say except that I need to read this.

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

409207

This was recommended to me by a few people – I specifically remember my older brother and one of my coworkers recommending it to me. I swear I will read this one day, but right now I’m just way too intimidated by how long it is.

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

6792458

This was recommended quite awhile ago by Matt McGorry who, for those of you who don’t know, is an actor (most well-known for Orange is the New Black and How to Get Away With Murder) and an activist. This is a book about how mass incarceration is essentially “the new Jim Crow” i.e. a major source of racial discrimination and inequality.

Pines by Blake Crouch

15034320

I remember after I read Blake Crouch’s newest book, Dark Matter, someone recommended checking out his Wayward Pines series. I’m pretty sure it was Jill from Rant & Rave About Books but I’m not 100% sure. Anyway, since I really loved Dark Matter, I’d absolutely love to read more of his books so this is definitely something I want to read somewhat soon.

Someone Knows My Name (aka The Book of Negroes) by Lawrence Hill

875441

I remember reading Naz’s review of this over at Read Diverse Books and he just didn’t have enough good things to say about it so I decided I really needed to read it. I bought it a couple of months ago but, as is a very common problem for me, have not yet read it. Soon, I promise. Also just an FYI, it’s published in some places as The Book of Negroes and in other places as Someone Knows My Name.

 

Have you read any of these? Would you recommend them? What are some books that you were recommended that you want to read or have read and loved?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Was Recommended That I Want to Read

  1. I cannot recommend And Then There Were None enough!! I’ve reread it four or five times over the years and I love it even more each time. It’s creepy and incredibly suspenseful– perfect for this Halloween season!
    I also recommend the Mortal Instruments series, even though it can be polarizing. People tend to either love it or hate it, but fortunately I was in the former camp. If you like fantasy then I think it’s worth a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad to hear another person who liked And Then There Were None! I’ll definitely have to check it out.
      I read The Infernal Devices and liked it a lot so I’m hoping I’ll like TMI as well. I think going into it without super high expectations will help me enjoy it too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I will add my voice to the “you should read Aristotle and Dante” crowd. Ben Saenz lives in my town and I got to meet him last summer – he’s writing a companion from Dante’s POV. It should be good. And The New Jim Crow will probably make you angry, just so you’re forewarned. Here’s my TTT if you’re interested.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had no idea he’s writing a companion novel! I’ll have to bump it up on my list then. 😛
      I would expect nothing less than feeling angry after reading The New Jim Crow. But it’s a very interesting and important topic that I’d definitely like to learn more about.

      Like

Join the Discussion

