4 Ways to Get Interest in Your Group (That Don’t Involve Spamming People)

random-post-blog-graphic-1

I frequently get friend requests from people on Goodreads and then within a day or two receive multiple invites to groups they’re running, even after I’ve already declined an invite (or several). I get that this may be an easy way to get people to learn about your group without having to write tons of personalized messages and dedicate hours and hours to getting the word out about your group. But here’s the thing: there is nothing that will get me less interested in your group than spamming with me invites. So I wanted to brainstorm a few different ways that may help you get the word out about your group and that also won’t be annoying and make people hate you. 😉

Advertise it on Social Media Accounts

Social media is a must for anyone who’s trying to advertise anything. For the book community, I always recommend posting things to Twitter if you want to get people involved because Twitter has a huge and very interactive group of book-lovers. So if you have a new group and are looking for members, try posting about it on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr, etc. Don’t obsessively send out new tweets every few hours about the group. I’d say at the most, you should Tweet about it once a day. You can pin the tweet to your profile so it’s the first tweet anyone sees when they come to your profile. But mentioning it on social media (especially if you know how to make the most of hashtags) can be a great way to help people to find out about your group.

Talk About it on Your Blog

This is similar to social media advertising, but has a couple of different advantages/disadvantages. First of all, it’s assumed that anyone who visits or follows your blog is interested in at least some of the same things you’re interested in. So it’s highly likely that followers of your book blog would be interested in a book-centered group. This may not always be the case on social media, depending on whether your profiles are specifically tailored to books or are more of a mix of books and other interests. Secondly, you can make a blog post that focuses on your new group and what it’s about. This allows you to go into a lot more detail than a social media post would. Even after you write a big post about it, you can attach a small little memo onto the end of your other posts about it, similar to what I do with my social media accounts (take a look at the bottom of this post if you don’t know what I’m talking about). The main disadvantage to this strategy is that you’ll have a more limited reach. Your blog may only have a few hundred followers whereas a social media account has the potential to reach millions of different people.

Get People You Know Involved

It can also be super helpful to get other people involved in getting the word out. They may have a bigger reach on their blog or social media accounts than you do. Even if they don’t, they’re sure to have some followers that don’t follow you. Asking them to send out a tweet or to mention it on their blog can be a great way to reach people you wouldn’t otherwise. The one thing that I would really recommend about this though is making sure the people you’re asking to help with promotion are people that you’re familiar with. It’ll probably come across as a bit rude if you just message random people and ask them to promote something for you. If you’re asking other bloggers that you talk to frequently or are close with, it won’t have that same effect.

Get Yourself Involved in the Community

The same way that commenting and interacting with other bloggers will drive traffic to your blog, interacting with other people who are interested in books (if that’s what your group is about) is a great way to get more members. If you’re talking to a lot of different people, 1.) they’ll be interested in what you’re doing and want to learn more about any projects you may have and 2.) it can come up naturally in a conversation. Maybe they’re looking to join an online book club and you can recommend yours. It won’t seem forced. I always recommend getting involved with the community that you’re trying to connect with. It’s a foolproof way to find people who are interested in the same things you are and therefore find people who may be interested in what you’re doing. Just make sure you’re not only talking to people to push your  group on them.

These are just a few ways that you might be able to get more interest in your new group that doesn’t involve spamming people with group invites every day (or every hour). Keep in mind that some people may not be interested in your group or in groups in general. So if they don’t join, don’t be offended. It’s likely not anything personal. There are still tons of people out there who would love to be a part of your group – you just have to find them. 🙂

What are some strategies you’d recommend trying to get people involved in a new group?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

17 thoughts on “4 Ways to Get Interest in Your Group (That Don’t Involve Spamming People)

  1. So I definitely agree with you, that it’s not cool to spam people. But at the same time, I try to be understanding to the situation because when you have a GR group and click Invite Members, you have the option to send to all your friends. I have very easily clicked All without remembering to go back and unclick the few I’ve sent invites to already. With no intention whatsoever to spam anyone. And you really don’t have a clue who has declined an invite or who hasn’t. Especially when you have a huge group with lots of members. Honestly to me, it’s really not too bad when I get an unwanted invite to just click the decline button. It takes two seconds, so I really don’t think too much about it myself. But I totally understand where you guys are coming from. So I’ll be more careful now to not send more than one invite by accident, IF the situation arises. Great post 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand accidentally hitting all friends. And I do agree that it’s not that bothersome in general to have to decline invites. The incident that spurred this post though was one person sending me a friend request and then in two hours sending me THREE invites to their group. It was so excessive. I don’t mind being invited to groups, I really don’t. But when it’s that many in that short of a time period, it’s super annoying. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m reaaaally bad at using Goodreads (i.e. I don’t really use it to interact at all) but I agree with these tips! When I get those group invites I pretty much just ignore them, and I never even register in my brain what the name of the group was.

    More on the Goodreads side, though, I kinda wish they make it easier to interact. The UX isn’t super amazing, and I find it waaaay easier to interact/comment/reply on other platforms. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • If it’s an invite from someone who I’ve talked to before, I’ll take a look at the group but yeah otherwise, I just delete it haha My favorite was when last week, someone friend-requested me and then invited me to their group 3 times in 2 hours without so much as messaging me to introduce herself to me lol
      I totally agree with you though – Goodreads definitely should be more user friendly and easier to interact with other people. I don’t really talk too much on there. I use it more to track my own reading progress. 😛

      Like

  3. Great advice! I have recently been spammed on Goodreads by bloggers who are annoying me with updates. I told them to advertise it on their blog and Twitter, and instead, I’m getting spammed every day with messages. I host a Goodreads group and don’t annoy the members with as many messages I’ve been getting for this group that I’m now thinking of leaving. I think in 6 months I sent out 2 messages to my group. I’ve received more than that this week, telling me to vote on some book. 😂 Less is more in some cases.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so annoying. If you really have that much to tell your group members, why not wrap it up in one weekly message or something? Or just post about it in the actual group that way people who are active will see it, but people who don’t really care about the group that much anymore won’t get spammed with messages? It’s really not that hard to think of ways to get people involved without spamming them haha

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

