The Diverse Books Tag

random-post-blog-graphic

THE RULES:

  1. The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.
  2. If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.
  3. Everyone can do this tag, even people who don’t own or haven’t read any books that fit the descriptions below.

I was tagged to do this tag awhile ago by Kirsty. Thanks a bunch for the tag! I’m really excited to be doing this, although I have a feeling most of these will be books I have not yet read and/or had to look up because my reading habits suck when it comes to diversity. I have recently been trying to stock up on more diverse reads though because diversifying my reading is one of my major goals for next year. So maybe this tag will help me find some more to add to my collection. 🙂

FIND A BOOK STARRING A LESBIAN CHARACTER.

Keeping Her Secret by Sarah Nicolas

30228357

I haven’t read this one yet, but I’ve had my eye on it for awhile and the ebook was recently on sale for $1 so you know I couldn’t resist grabbing it.

FIND A BOOK WITH A MUSLIM PROTAGONIST.

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

25707621

I haven’t read this one yet and don’t even own it either, but the main character is Muslim and it honestly sounds like a hilarious novel. I remember seeing a few people talking about it on Twitter which is how I found out about it. Definitely need to read this one. Can I also add here that I love this cover?

FIND A BOOK SET IN LATIN AMERICA.

Love in the Time of Cholera by  Gabriel García Márquez

9712

This is set in Colombia and honestly I’m not 100% if I’ll read this any time soon, but I know it’s a well-loved classic so I’d love to read it someday.

FIND A BOOK ABOUT A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY.

Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers

25898555

I recently heard about this and have really wanted to read it ever since. The main character is deaf  and the author is also disabled so hopefully, that means this isn’t problematic. I’m always super nervous to read books that deal with disability just because I feel like it’s so easy to get it so wrong.

FIND A SCIENCE-FICTION OR FANTASY BOOK WITH A POC PROTAGONIST.

Truth by Michelle Johnson

25626729

Finally one that I’ve read haha This is a YA fantasy and the main character is black as you can see from the cover. This is also a great book if anyone’s looking for something new to read and wants to support an indie author. 🙂

FIND A BOOK SET IN (OR ABOUT) ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA.

Endangered by Eliot Schrefer

13591678

Okay so this is about a girl who travels with her mom to study bonobos in the Congo but according to its blurb and a lot of reviews I’ve seen, it also talks a lot about the history of the people in the area and the problems they face. I love bonobos so that’s what initially made me want to read this book, but I’d love to learn more about the history and conflict and everything of the area as well. I actually tried ordering this but it got lost in the mail… 😦

FIND A BOOK WRITTEN BY AN INDIGENOUS OR NATIVE AUTHOR.

Love Beyond Body, Space, and Time: An Indigenous LGBT Sci-Fi Anthology edited by Hope Nicholson

31560094

This is an anthology of LGBT sci-fi stories all of which are written by indigenous authors. I follow the author of one of the stories featured in this so that’s how I found out about it. It was just published pretty recently but I definitely want to check this out. I mean not only are all the stories written by indigenous people, but they also all feature LGBT characters so really, how could this possibly be better? 🙂

FIND A BOOK SET IN SOUTH ASIA (AFGHANISTAN, INDIA, PAKISTAN, SRI LANKA, ETC.).

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

51jkxadvndl

This is set partly in Afghanistan and partly in the US so I kind of feel like I’m cheating with this one, but this is a book that I read and really enjoyed so I couldn’t not use it. I’m sure a lot of you have read this already, but if you haven’t, I definitely recommend it.

FIND A BOOK WITH A BIRACIAL PROTAGONIST.

The Only Thing to Fear by Caroline Tung Richmond

18152063

In this alternate history book where Hitler won WWII, the main character is half Japanese and half white. I bought this I think back in January and then kind of forgot about it, to be honest. I actually didn’t know the MC was biracial until I was pulling a blank on a title with a biracial protagonist and did a google search for some and this is one of the ones I found. Even more of a reason to read this. 🙂

FIND A BOOK STARRING A TRANSGENDER CHARACTER OR ABOUT TRANSGENDER ISSUES.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

23947922

I’ve been wanting to read this book for MONTHS (before it even came out in May) and still haven’t gotten to it. I even won an ARC from Goodreads but haven’t read it. Shame on me. I swear I will read this soon.

Alright, well this was a very fun (and insightful) tag to do. I definitely need to read more diversely haha I’m going to tag a couple of my newer followers, but if you don’t want to do it, no worries! And if you’ve already done it, sorry 😛

Risa Lynn

Esther

Sarah


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

13 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

    • Thanks Lauren! I’m glad you heard at least one person who liked Keeping Her Secret. I’m pretty sure the only person I’ve seen mention it is an author on Twitter, Dahlia Adler haha So I haven’t heard much about it. But it does sound like a really cute read. 🙂

      Like

Let's Chat!

