Halloween Readathon TBR

halloween-readathon-tbr-blog-graphic

Lauren over at Wonderless Reviews put together and is hosting this awesome Halloween-themed readathon. I’m really excited for this because I do not read very much horror and have only recently started reading thrillers (and still haven’t read many…), so this is a great way to get myself to read something a little out of my comfort zone.

I’m not sure how many I’ll actually end up reading since 1.) I have a few review copies to get to this month and 2.) I don’t have very many horror or thriller books! But I’ve managed to come up with at least a few books that can fit for the challenges and luckily, we can use the same book for more than one challenge. πŸ™‚

The readathon starts on October 10th and runs through the end of the month. There are challenges (and the TBR I’m outlining here is to fit those challenges) but you don’t have to do them if you don’t want to! You can just read whatever spooky, creepy books you want. It’s really low pressure. If any of you are looking to participate or want more information on the readathon, head over to Lauren’s post.

costume-party

13597728

I think I bought this about a year ago with the intention of reading it around Halloween. That worked out well, huh? But I mean, look at that cover. Definitely creepy.

haunted-house

Both of these involve ghosts. I’d like to be able to do The Dead House for this one, rather than have to use Asylum for this and the last challenge, but since I don’t know how many books I’ll get to read, I’m including both since they both fit for this challenge. πŸ™‚

urban-legends

All Her Secrets is the highest priority out of these since I have a review spot for a blog tour on the 28th. If I have time to read more creepy books, Welcome to the Dark House and its sequel will be up.

I have a few others that could fit in here (The Cellar and Awake, both by Natasha Preston and The Cresswell Plot by Eliza Wass are the first few that come to mind) but these three are highest priority. Depending on how well I do getting through these, I may decide to pick up some of the other thrillers I have.

witching-hour1

For this, I’m just going to pick one of the ones I’ve already listed and count that book for more than one challenge. I feel like this barely counts as a challenge for me since 99% of the timeΒ when I read, it’s after sunset haha

trick-or-treat

I’m almost positive I’ll be going with “treat” on this one! Heartless comes out in the middle of November so I want to get my review up by the end of this month/beginning of next month. I’m really excited to read it. I borrowed Everything Everything from the library and it’s due at the end of the month so I want to try to read this at some point this month as well. After hearing Nicola Yoon talk at the Boston Teen Author Festival, I had to check out her book. Whichever one I read first will be counted for this challenge and the other will still get read, just not as part of the readathon. πŸ™‚

all-hallows-eve

This is the last challenge and honestly, I highly doubt that I’ll get to this with all the stuff I have going on with school this month, but I’ll try. It’s possible, but not likely. πŸ˜›

This is my TBR for Lauren’s Halloween Readathon. If any of you are participating, link me to your TBR post below and I’ll come check it out!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

21 thoughts on “Halloween Readathon TBR

  1. Pingback: πŸ‘»πŸŽƒ Halloween Read-A-Thon: Announcement & Details!!! πŸŽƒπŸ‘» – wonderless reviews

  2. Yay! I’m also participating! You can check my TBR here if you want πŸ™‚
    The first book has such a creepy cover, it’s perfect! And The Dead House’s cover is so good, I love it. I haven’t heard of these books before, but they do seem perfect for this readathon. Good luck πŸ˜€ I hope you get to read all of these and enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Asylum is pretty popular – I’ve heard a lot of good things about it which is why I have it in the first place haha I’m excited to finally read it! I love The Dead House’s cover too. I remember I saw it at the bookstore and picked it up because of the cover (I didn’t end up buying it there because it was pretty expensive, but the ebook went on sale recently which I was super happy about haha).
      Thanks Esther! I’ll come check out your TBR in a bit πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooooh, I want to read The Dead House! It sounds perfect for this readathon. I went with a couple classics and some new releases for my list…but now that I’ve looked at a bunch of others for this challenge, I’m floored by how many creepy/paranormal books I didn’t know about, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve got Asylum on my read-a-thon TBR too, under the Trick-or-Treat category! I can’t wait to read Heartless and Everything Everything is SO freaking good; I hope you love it too! Happy haunted reading and good luck! πŸ˜€

    Like

Let's Chat!

