Top Five Wednesday: Books That Took a Long Time to Read

top-5-wednesday-blog-header

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic.

This week’s topic is books that took the longest for you to read. Not books that sat on your shelves for a long time, but books that took awhile for you to finish once you had started them.

All titles link to Goodreads, but because I’ve reviewed all of these, I’m also including links to the reviews!

The Velvet Hours by Alyson Richman

28186286This book started off really slow for me and because of that, I was just hesitant to keep reading which resulted in this taking quite a long time to finish. I think it also started my slump that lasted for a couple of weeks. I will say that the second half of this book was a lot better in my opinion, mostly because that half focused more on WWII than on the MC’s grandmother’s life. Here’s my review.

 

The Forgotten: Aten’s Last Queen by J. Lynn Else

else the forgotten aten's last queenThis was a pretty dense book and, like The Velvet Hours, didn’t really have a lot of action until the last half or third of the book. So the beginning had me a bit bored and because of that I was dragging with getting any reading done. I was also still in the slump caused by The Velvet Hours. 😛 Here’s my review.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439I don’t actually remember if this took me a long time to read, but it definitely FELT like a long time. I just really wasn’t a fan of this book. I talk about it more in my review, but I basically felt like the author couldn’t really decide what she wanted to do with the book and so the plot was all over the place. This is actually the only book I’ve given a negative review for so far on the blog.

ADSOM/AGOS by V. E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows FinalA Darker Shade final for IreneThese books both took me 8-9 days to get through which is about twice as long as it usually takes me to finish a book. I’m not entirely sure what it was about them. I liked the books. Maybe the length (they are a bit long) just intimidated me and slowed me down? I’m not sure. Even though they took me awhile to read, I still really like both of these books (and also can’t wait for A Conjuring of Light). Here’s my review of ADSOM and of AGOS.

The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

51qfwi-xszl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Another book that started off really slow for me (are you sensing a pattern?). Still an overall pretty good book, but it was pretty slow throughout. There was a bit of action towards the end, but I think this is definitely a more character-driven book and the plot is very much secondary. But if that’s your thing and you like historical fiction, you’d probably love The Passion of Dolssa. It’s a pretty long book which also could explain why it took me awhile to get through. Here’s my review.

Have you read any of these? What books have taken you a long time to read? Link me to your Top 5 Wednesday in the comments!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Books That Took a Long Time to Read

  1. Oh, that’s sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy Truthwitch as much as you hoped. That book has been sitting on my TBR for so long because I’ve heard a few reviews similar to your own. One day I’ll get the urge to read it… maybe, haha.
    AND EIGHT TO NINE DAYS IS LONG FOR YOU?! Oh my goodness, I wish I possessed that ability to read a book in less than eight days, haha. But that’s because I’m at school and work at the moment, but still. I desperately NEED to read as fast as you! Oh my god.
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went into Truthwitch really excited because I hadn’t seen a single negative review for it and then I just… was not a fan at all. It was really disappointing 😛 I hope if you do end up reading it, you liked it better than I did!
      8-9 days is quite awhile for me haha I usually take around 5 days to read a book, depending on its length and how much time I have. I kind of force myself to read at least 20 minutes a day so that helps me get through books even when I have a lot going on with school. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

