October Releases I’m Excited For

random-post-blog-graphic

October is FULL of great releases that I’m ridiculously excited for. There are just so many books coming out this month that look amazing. I’m going to do my best to limit this list so that it doesn’t include every single book releasing throughout October, but I make no promises. Just warning you now, this is going to be quite a long list. I’ll try to keep my rambling about each book to a minimum so that this post doesn’t drag on too long. 😉

Nemesis by Anna Banks

Release date: October 4th

27414431The princess didn’t expect to fall in love–with her nemesis.

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee from his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift could save Tarik’s kingdom from the Quiet Plague. But should she trust her growing feelings for her nemesis, or should she hide her gifts at all costs?

 

You may have seen my review for this over the weekend so you know that I’ve already read this. If you read my review, you also know that I really enjoyed this book. I may actually end up buying myself a copy of this even though I have the ARC which is admittedly something I haven’t done yet. I can’t wait for everyone to be able to get their hands on this book. 🙂

Replica by Lauren Oliver

Release date: October 4th

28448287Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she was born. ‘A sickly child’, her lonely life to date has revolved around her home, school and one best friend, Alice. But when she discovers her father’s connection to the top secret Haven research facility, currently hitting the headlines and under siege by religious fanatics, Gemma decides to leave the sanctuary she’s always known to find the institute and determine what is going on there and why her father’s name seems inextricably linked to it.

Amidst the frenzy outside the institute’s walls, Lyra – or number 24 as she is known as at Haven – and a fellow experimental subject known only as 72, manage to escape. Encountering a world they never knew existed outside the walls of their secluded upbringing , they meet Gemma and, as they try to understand Haven’s purpose together, they uncover some earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls forever…

Not only does this sound like an intriguing dystopian (which we all know is one of my favorite genres, right?) but it also has an incredibly interesting format. You can read it in 3 different ways. I haven’t yet read anything by Lauren Oliver, so I need to get on that.

Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig

Release date: October 4th

27414423Flynn’s girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn’s girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can’t answer, and her friends are telling stories that don’t add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January’s boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January’s disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

I’ve been looking forward to this one for quite some time. It’s a thriller with an LGBT character and I’ve heard really good things about it. I think I saw one review that was so-so and the rest have been really positive. So I’m excited.

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

Release date: October 4th

28220826When the Moon Was Ours follows two characters through a story that has multicultural elements and magical realism, but also has central LGBT themes—a transgender boy, the best friend he’s falling in love with, and both of them deciding how they want to define themselves.

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town.

But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

Magical realism, multicultural influences, and a trans MC. Need I say more?

Look Past by Eric Devine

Release date: October 4th

29502367Someone brutally murdered Mary Mathison, daughter of a prominent and very conservative local pastor. Whoever it was is now taunting Avery, a transgender boy, with disturbing messages, claiming that Mary’s murder was revenge for her relationship with Avery. The killer’s demands are simple and horrific: Avery must repent for changing his gender identity, or he will be the next one killed.
Can Avery deny who he is to catch Mary’s killer? Or will sacrificing himself be the ultimate betrayal?

Again, a trans MC so count me in. Hopefully the rep ends up being good because the blurb has me a little skeptical. But I haven’t seen anything saying it’s bad yet so I remain hopeful.

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

Release date: October 11th

28818313It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Historical fiction releases seem few and far between so I am excited for this (and the next book on the list). It’s set in Boston too which is where I go to school so I love reading books set here in the city. Destiny was actually at the Boston Teen Author Festival last weekend, although I didn’t get a chance to see her. But I’m still just so excited for this book!!

Every Hidden Thing by Kenneth Oppel

Release date: October 11th

28374370Somewhere in the Badlands, embedded deep in centuries-buried rock and sand, lies the skeleton of a massive dinosaur, larger than anything the late nineteenth-century world has ever seen. Some legends call it the Black Beauty, with its bones as black as ebony, but to seventeen-year-old Samuel Bolt, it’s the “rex,” the king dinosaur that could put him and his struggling, temperamental archaeologist father in the history books (and conveniently make his father forget he’s been kicked out of school), if they can just quarry it out.

But Samuel and his father aren’t the only ones after the rex. For Rachel Cartland this find could be her ticket to a different life, one where her loves of science and adventure aren’t just relegated to books and sitting rooms. And if she can’t prove herself on this expedition with her professor father, the only adventures she may have to look forward to are marriage or spinsterhood.

As their paths cross and the rivalry between their fathers becomes more intense, Samuel and Rachel are pushed closer together. Their flourishing romance is one that will never be allowed. And with both eyeing the same prize, it’s a romance that seems destined for failure. As their attraction deepens, danger looms on the other side of the hills, causing everyone’s secrets to come to light and forcing Samuel and Rachel to make a decision. Can they join forces to find their quarry, and with it a new life together, or will old enmities and prejudices keep them from both the rex and each other?

Another historical fiction release and this one features a very intriguing romance and paleontology (which is something I find very interesting). I think this one has already been released in some countries, but not in the US yet. I’m really hoping I’ll have a chance to read this one soon-ish.

The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati

Release date: October 11th

25226021Seventeen-year-old Cath knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disease, has almost triumphed once, propelling Catherine to her first suicide attempt. With Zero only temporarily restrained by the latest med du jour, time is running out. In an old ballet shoebox, Catherine stockpiles meds, preparing to take her own life when Zero next arrives.

But Zero’s return is delayed. Unexpected relationships along with the care of a new psychiatrist start to alter Catherine’s perception of her diagnosis. But will this be enough? This is a story of loss and grief and hope and how the many shapes of love – maternal, romantic and platonic – impact a young woman’s struggle with mental illness.

I love reading books that focus on mental health topics and although I’ve read a million books about depression, I’ve not read a single one about bipolar disorder so I need to change that.

What Light by Jay Asher

Release date: October 11th

29093326From Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why, comes a romance that will break your heart, but soon have you believing again. . . .

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

This sounds like such a good romance and it sounds like it’ll be perfect to read around Christmas. I’ve heard good things about Jay Asher too.

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Release date: October 11th

28587957Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?

Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime. Kennedy McQuarrie, a white public defender, takes her case but gives unexpected advice: Kennedy insists that mentioning race in the courtroom is not a winning strategy. Conflicted by Kennedy’s counsel, Ruth tries to keep life as normal as possible for her family—especially her teenage son—as the case becomes a media sensation. As the trial moves forward, Ruth and Kennedy must gain each other’s trust, and come to see that what they’ve been taught their whole lives about others—and themselves—might be wrong.

With incredible empathy, intelligence, and candor, Jodi Picoult tackles race, privilege, prejudice, justice, and compassion—and doesn’t offer easy answers. Small Great Things is a remarkable achievement from a writer at the top of her game.

I’ve read and loved so many of Jodi Picoult’s books before so when I heard she was releasing a new book, that was immediately added to my TBR. I actually was curious whether my library was going to have it, so I looked it up and back in August it already had over 200 holds on it. Clearly I’m not the only one looking forward to Picoult’s latest book.

Okay so this is ridiculously long and if any of you actually read all of this, you deserve some kind of award. I wanted to cut it down and make it shorter, but I just couldn’t decide which of these books to cut. So a super long list it is!

What October releases are you most excited for?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

15 thoughts on “October Releases I’m Excited For

  1. Replica and Last Seen Leaving are soooo good!! I have an ARC of Iron Cast but still haven’t read it 🙈 I’m really excited for When The Moon Was Ours! I’ve heard some great things about it. My most anticipated release is definitely Gemina though which comes as a surprise to no one 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard so many good things about Last Seen Leaving! I don’t think I’ve seen much about Replica other than people being excited for it hahaha So jealous that you have an ARC of Iron Cast! I think I almost requested it but then looked at all the books sitting on my NetGalley shelf and decided against it lol I know lots of people are looking forward to Gemina! I haven’t read Illuminae yet though (don’t hurt me hahaha)

      Like

  2. So many October goodies Kourtni! I’m personally looking forward to Replica, When the Moon Was Ours (REALLY WANT THIS ONE! lol), Iron Cast, and Small Great Things. I’ve never heard of The Weight of Zero but I’m adding it to my TBR because I haven’t seen many books on bi-polar disorder. Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m really excited for Last Seen Leaving, Replica, and When The Moon Was Ours as well! Especially Last Seen Leaving, I was lucky enough to read an eARC and it was so fantastic! I can’t wait to have a physical finished copy in my hands. I’m thinking about rereading it. Great list! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

