Top Ten Audiobooks I Want to Listen to

top-ten-tuesday-blog-graphic

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is supposed to be anything related to TV. Since I try to only post about books, I wanted to also tie this theme into books. As a result, I’ve come up with a list of TV shows that are based on books that I want to watch (after I read the books, of course).

I was never the type of person who listened to audiobooks. Never. But once I realized that I could borrow them from my library and then listen to them on my phone, I decided to give them a try. After all, I spend a lot of time walking everywhere while I’m at school, so why not turn that time into reading (er, listening) time? I’ll admit I have been having trouble finishing them on time… but I still have some that I want to try listening to. All the ones I’m listing are audiobooks that are actually available from my library so I wouldn’t need to pay for them. 😉

All the links below will take you to Goodreads!

Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

12000020

I’ve heard really great things about this book and I’ve also heard it works really well as an audiobook because the book itself is quite dialogue heavy. And it’s narrated by Lin-Manuel Miranda who I’ve heard does a great job narrating it (would you expect anything else?). Plenty of reasons to give this one a shot.

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

15728577

The rest of these aren’t going to be on the list because I’ve heard anything in particular about the audiobook; they’re here because I want to read the book and I happen to be able to download the audiobook from the library.

This makes the list because I read Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy and it quickly became one of my favorites, so I want to read all her work – both stuff that’s already out and any future releases from her.

The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

22428707

I remember seeing this everywhere for a couple of weeks when it first came out and then it kind of… disappeared. I haven’t seen anyone mention it in quite awhile. I’d still like to give it a shot, maybe as an audiobook, maybe in physical form.

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

27064385

I remember a lot of people being disappointed with this book, not because it was a bad book, but because it was marketed as fantasy and people felt it didn’t have a lot of fantasy elements and was more just historical fiction. I love historical fiction though (and fantasy) so either way, this sounds good to me.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

26156203

This is one that I know a lot of people were really excited for and then were disappointed by. I’m hoping going into this with lower expectations will make it more enjoyable. I don’t remember the exact complaints, but maybe listening to it rather than reading it will bring something to it too.

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

26074194

This is one that I’ve had the opportunity to read several times and just… haven’t. I’m not sure why, exactly. Recently I’ve seen some people say that it was quite boring and that they didn’t like it. I still want to give it a shot though. Eventually.

Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Pérez

25256386

This is a YA historical fiction romance based on 1937 New London school explosion which I honestly had not heard about before coming across this book. It seems like I could learn something (maybe?) from this book plus have a great story.

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

18813642

This is a pretty popular collection of essays written by a woman of color about feminism and her own identity and experiences and is also apparently quite funny. What’s not to love?

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

23212667

I remember seeing this everywhere for a couple of weeks and I don’t think I saw a single negative review of it. It sounds really good too and I’ve been in the mood for thrillers/mysteries lately, so I may have to try this out on audio.

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

 

51vlyvoj52bl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

I’ve seen a few really positive reviews for this book too and again, I’ve been in the mood for mysteries/thrillers so it seems like a good choice for me. And I actually want to read this one so badly that I just put the audiobook on hold. 🙂 Although there are 3 people ahead of me on the hold list, so it may take a few weeks to get it.

Have you read (or listened to) any of these? What other audiobooks would you recommend?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Audiobooks I Want to Listen to

  1. I’ve read The Crown’s Game and can remember very clearly what disappointed me about the book – the magic is SO underwhelming, and there’s insta-love all over the place, not to mention a love triangle. If you go in expecting these things, I think you might actually enjoy it! The writing itself isn’t bad. 🙂

    I tend to prefer non-fic for audiobooks – I’ll recommend Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have only recently started looking for new audiobooks. I only listened to the Stephanie Plum series before. I really like Miller’s Valley it’s not action-packed but I love a good family and small town issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know if I could listen to an audiobook, but the fact that Lin-Manuel Miranda narrates Ari & Dante makes me want to listen to that one so badly 😅 I also really want to read Bad Feminist. I’m Thinking of Ending Things was a really weird book, haha. It was quite unique, but I felt like it was missing something.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a hard time getting myself to focus on audiobooks at first, but I do okay now 🙂 I remember seeing one person’s review of I’m Thinking of Ending Things that was just so positive that I felt like I had to read it haha I don’t even remember whose review it was now. 😛

      Like

  4. I’m not big on audio books, I can never concentrate on them. But I think listening to Ari & Dante would be interesting! I love that book and I’ve found in the past if I read while listening to the audio book it works out for me better so I might have to try that one day. Great picks! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a hard time concentrating on them at first (and still do at times), but I’ve been able to get myself to focus on them now. I have no idea how, but I do lol I think reading while listening would be a fun idea! Might have to speed up the audio a bit though haha

      Like

Let's Chat!

