Musing Mondays (9/19)

musing-mondays-blog-graphic

Wow, it’s been awhile since I did one of these posts! I had some stuff that I wanted to share with you all this week though so I thought this would be a good way to do it, since nothing really warranted its own post haha

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Books and a Beat where you answer one of the following prompts in addition to the weekly question:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

I didn’t buy this book, but got it on NetGalley. Drum roll please… HEARTLESS BY MARISSA MEYER! Holy crap! You couldn’t technically “request” the book, you could only wish for it. Basically meaning that whether you got it or not was completely random (I think that’s what that means… I’m not too sure actually). And honestly, I think that’s the only reason I did get it hahaha I was so surprised and excited to see an email that I had gotten this one! I know a lot of people are excited for it to release. It comes out early November, so I’ll probably read it at the beginning of October. I wish I could read it right now, but I’ve got other books that I need to read first.

I also ended up getting a 20% off one item coupon from Barnes and Noble so I bought Jane Goodall’s Through a Window, which is a book she wrote about her experiences studying chimpanzees. I’ve been wanting to read one of Jane Goodall’s books for awhile now (she has several) and this semester I have to actually read a book about a primatologist’s experiences and we could choose whichever book we wanted, so I’m going to be reading this one! My written assignment is due towards the end of November so I’ll be reading this either in October or the beginning of November.

But wait! I have more!

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

Two things: first of all, after discovering that there’s a library branch right on the same street I work on and that, despite being an out-of-state resident, I can get a card because I’m a college student in the state, I’m going to be going to get a library card today (assuming all goes well…)! Woohoo! At first, I wasn’t really sure if I should since I always tend to go overboard at the library and then neglect my own books (this summer was proof of that). But a very formal and official Twitter poll was unanimous in saying that I should get a card. I’m really excited because I mean… who doesn’t love being able to get books for free?

Secondly, I did my first guest post last week! Fidan over at The Reader Fidan contacted me and asked if I would want to do a guest post on her blog, so I ended up putting together a list of the reasons why I wish I could be a Hogwarts student. This went up about a week ago, but head over and check it out if you want. 🙂

That’s all for my stuff. Onto this week’s question!

This week’s question is: Write out a description of your life, as if it were a book’s description.

This should be interesting…

When Kourtni starts a blog dedicated to books, she never expects it will take over her life. Between writing posts and visiting other blogs, she has little time for anything else. Many posts and several months later, she has to try to balance school and blogging. Which one will win?

Wow, my life is so exciting. It’s true though – blogging has taken over my life (in the best possible way). I got into a certain rhythm over the summer balancing everything and now that I’m back at school, it’s gotten tough to keep on it all. 😛  And wow, do my creative writing skills need some work hahaha


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

7 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (9/19)

Join the Discussion

