3 Book Subscriptions I’d Like To Try

random-post-blog-graphic

Over the summer, I had some extra money and was luckily able to subscribe to OwlCrate. OwlCrate is a really popular YA book subscription service and I honestly really loved getting that box every month and seeing what awesome goodies it had inside. Now that I’m back in school though I’m not working as much, so I had to cancel my subscription for now. I decided to put together a list of some other book subscriptions that look good and that I’d like to try in the future just to kind of see what’s out there and maybe get some feedback from any of you who may have tried these boxes. πŸ™‚

Uppercase

My plan for over the summer was actually to get OwlCrate for April & May and then switch over to Uppercase for June, July, and August. I ended up liking OwlCrate so much that I didn’t bother, but I’d still love to get Uppercase. At first, I wanted to switch to this one because it’s cheaper but it also just looks like a great box. I like that you can choose whether to get just the book or to get the swag too.

Book of the Month

This is honestly the one that I would try out first out of all of these. I may actually see if I can do this while I’m in school because there are some really great discount codes that I’ve seen floating around. πŸ™‚ What I really like about this box is that you get to choose what book you receive (out of a group of pre-selected books). And if none of the books they have available for that month sound interesting to you, you can skip it. So you never have to worry about getting a book you don’t want. The only downside (depending on how you look at it) is that you don’t get any swag, just the book (I don’t think – correct me if I’m wrong). Another great thing about this subscription? FREE SHIPPING. Hallelujah.

FairyLoot

I’m honestly doubtful that I’d ever pay for this since it’s not based in the US and the shipping is incredibly expensive ($18!). But I’ve heard a lot of great things from subscribers and looking at their past boxes, it looks like you get quite a bit of stuff each month – plus, of course, a shiny new book. πŸ™‚ If I ever have the money, this would be a fantastic box to try out.

Have you gotten any of these subscription boxes before? What’d you think? Are there any that you’d like to try out?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

26 thoughts on “3 Book Subscriptions I’d Like To Try

  1. Fairy Loot always looks SO good!! I’d really like to try Owl Crate too, but both are kinda out of the question for me because of the shipping πŸ˜… Australia does have a YA sub box, but I’ve just never gotten around to signing up for it because I never seem to have money at the right time haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got a 3-month subscription to BOTM with a discount code for $30 which I consider a good deal (I forgot what it is normally). I bought it because 1. It was a good deal 2. I saw All the Ugly and Wonderful Things on the August list and 3. The choices were all adult books so I thought it would be nice to diversify my reading. The first month I did get a BOTM tote bag but I don’t think you generally get swag. I think I will be happy with my three books then cancel from there 😊 but I have been enjoying getting to choose my books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I want to try subscription boxes too but to be completely honest I feel like they’d be wasted on me. I like trinkets but I feel like they’re more of a hassle than anything, especially because I’m very particular about those things and really, really couldn’t care less for book swag… all I want is just the book! But the element of surprise and the idea of it being something like a gift are very tempting. Are you planning on trying one soon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get what you mean! To be honest, sometimes some of the stuff from my OwlCrate boxes felt like a waste to me too. Not so much because I didn’t like them, but because the items were centered around books I hadn’t read. I’ve still really enjoyed getting the boxes though.
      Now that I’m back at school I don’t really have a lot of money to spend, but I may end up trying out Book of the Month since it’s pretty cheap and there are some really great discount codes I’ve seen.

      Like

      • For OwlCrate, they at least announce the monthly theme quite a bit ahead of time so if there’s a book that I wanted, I’d make sure it couldn’t fit in with the month’s theme so I haven’t gotten multiple copies of the same book. Which has turned out to be a good thing since I had This Savage Song pre-ordered and it ended up being OwlCrate’s book for July. Once I realized it could fit with the theme, I canceled my pre-order haha But if someone buys a lot of books or gets multiple subscription boxes, I’d imagine that’d happen quite a bit.

        Like

  4. I actually ordered my first OwlCrate this month and I’m so excited to get it πŸ˜ƒ! I don’t usually have money to splurge on subscription boxes because wow they’re a bit pricey. Even though they are worth the price it just isn’t something I can normally afford. I plan on keeping it for this month and next month as a birthday present to myself, but after that I’ll probably have to cancel. Out of the ones you listed I so want to try FairyLoot! I’ve seen such gorgeous pictures and so many unboxings and it seems like a fantastic subscription box but like you said shipping is crazy to the US so I’m not sure if I’d ever be able to swing it. Who knows, maybe someday. πŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

    • This month is my last month of getting OwlCrate. Originally I was going to cancel after August since I was going back to school and don’t have as much money during the school year as I do during summer break. But then I saw the theme was darkness and well… I couldn’t resist haha My box is supposed to be delivered today and I’m so excited for it to come!! Have you gotten yours yet?
      Yesss! FairyLoot looks like such a great box, but I really can’t justify spending $18 on shipping πŸ˜› Why does international shipping have to be so expensive?!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am going on my 4th month of Owlcrate after switching over from Uppercase & can honestly say that I have no regrets. The Owlcrate box has amazing curating, I’ve already seen what’s coming this mth & as always they manage to raise the bar. I would to get BOTM & have been considering this as my next box just to make sure that I’m still reading other genres. Fairyloot has to be my most coveted box but like you mentioned…that shipping $ is steep, it really is a well put together box though…let me stop cuz I’m convincing myself to go & subscribe anyways smh *hides face* lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • hahahaha don’t do it! The shipping price isn’t worth it haha If I’m ever in a position where I can afford it, I would love to get FairyLoot at least once. OwlCrate is a great box and I’ve really enjoyed getting it. I’m sad that I don’t have the money to keep getting it. I got it from April-September. I’m definitely going to miss getting those monthly packages. 😦 Part of the reason why I want to get BOTM is that it usually (always?) has adult books as choices, not YA, so it would get me to read outside of what I normally choose for myself. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yea every mth I play with the idea of getting Fairy Loot but still can’t bring myself to take the hit lol. BOTM is cool & they seem to send best sellers so it’s always a book generating buzz. I find myself looking at their selections each mth as a point of reference smh then I go & buy the books πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

