How Has Blogging Changed How I Read? | 4 Impacts On My Reading Habits

bloggings-impact-on-my-reading-blog-graphic

I think once readers start blogging, it’s only a matter of time before they start to notice that their reading habits are changing a bit. Maybe it’s not really noticeable at first, but I think in one way or another, there’s probably been some influence that blogging has had. For me, there are quite a few aspects of my reading habits that have changed in the past several months because of being a blogger.

I pay more attention to new and upcoming releases.

Before I started blogging, I was not at all up-to-date on recent releases or on upcoming releases. The only time I really knew about them is if they were from an author or series that I really loved. And that’s usually because I followed the author on Twitter and would see them talking about it. I’d sometimes find out about recent releases if they were really popular and saw them on Epic Reads or something, but seeing as how I wasn’t really involved in the book community at all before I started blogging, that didn’t really get me to notice a lot of books either. Now though I have a list of books for the rest of 2016 that I’m looking forward to and even have some 2017 titles that I’m already anticipating.

I read more often.

This is actually one of the reasons why I started blogging: I wanted something motivating me to read more often. It definitely worked! Whereas before I used to read maybe a couple nights a week, I’d also sometimes go weeks without reading anything. Now if I skip one day of reading I feel off. I get through so many more books now than I used to. It’s lovely.

I read more critically.

I used to be someone who didn’t really pay a whole lot of attention to plot holes or writing style or really much of anything. And if I liked a book, it was 5 stars. I wasn’t hard to please. I still don’t pay as much attention to these things as other people, but I definitely notice them more now than I did previously. Same goes for being easy to please. I’m still not the hardest person to please (as you can probably tell from my plethora of 4-star ratings…), but I’m harder to please than I used to be.

I read books I wouldn’t otherwise have picked up.

This is one of the things that I’m really thankful for. I’ve branched out my reading interests so much. I think part of this comes from reading more often – since I’m reading so many more books, I end up picking up things that I wouldn’t have chosen if that was the only book I was going to read for the next month or two because I would have been more interested in other things. (I hope that made sense… I’m having a hard time explaining :P) But between reading more books and seeing all these awesome recommendations from fellow bloggers, I pick up so many books that I wouldn’t have heard about or cared about in the past.

Have you noticed blogging change any of your reading habits?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

30 thoughts on “How Has Blogging Changed How I Read? | 4 Impacts On My Reading Habits

  1. All of those apply to me, except the “I read more”. Although I still read a lot, since I’ve started blogging, a lot of my time has been consumed with blog surfing, commenting, and keeping up my blog. So I haven’t been reading as much. But I’m hoping once I get settled into things (I’ve only been blogging a month and a half) that I’ll get back into my regular reading routine. I just love hitting the refresh button on my Reader lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve noticed the same thing about myself with the reading more critically and picking up books I wouldn’t have otherwise. Like recently, I’ve been getting into the thriller genre and wanting to read more books like that. Before blogging I would have never picked up a thriller because it’s not what I’m usually into but now I want to read them all! As with being more critical I’m like you, a reader who isn’t hard to please. But definitely a tad more critical than I used to be. Great list! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can check off everything you wrote because they all apply to me! I definitely read more critically. I still have issues putting my feelings into words sometimes, but I pay more attention to everything. I have the feeling it gave a sharper edge to my reading, I feel more confident now. I was so not aware of releases and stuff before blogging. I only heard about the big blockbusters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here. I think part of me is kind of hesitant to point out technical aspects of the writing only because I never used to pay attention to it before so I’m not entirely sure if what I’m noticing is all that important and I’m not always sure how to phrase what I’m thinking.
      And yeah before, I only ended up reading books that were ridiculously popular (like The Hunger Games and Divergent) or that I found randomly at my library haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Kourtni! Blogging has definitely changed how I read. I especially relate to the last point you bought up. There’s so many books I wouldn’t have ever picked up if it wasn’t for blogging and I’m so grateful I was introduced to them. I feel like I’m reading a little more critically too, not heaps, but I’ll always think about how I’m going to review it and I’m picking up a lot more on tropes ect. than I used to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really grateful for how many books blogging has gotten me to read that I never would’ve picked up on my own. Especially when it comes to review books – I never in a million years would have read self-published books before, but now I read them quite a bit.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Ten Interesting Pots of the Week (9/18/16) – Pages Unbound

  6. I also read more now that I am blogging. And I read more newer books as well. I think I am as critical as I was before blogging, but I now take notes in Trello as I’m reading, so I can remember what I wanted to say in my review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Taking notes while I read (books that aren’t for school) is something I never would have imagined myself doing, but I do now that I have to write reviews haha Even if I don’t take notes, I keep track of page numbers with memorable quotes to use or where something happens that I want to make sure that I mention in my review. Never would’ve imagined that I would do that!

      Like

  7. I totally agree! I’ve definitely branched out more in my reading, because I’m thinking about what my readers might be interested in, or what kind of reviews they might find useful. And in the process I’ve been discovering some exciting new books, so it’s all good. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I hadn’t even considered that people may change their habits based on what their readers might be interested in. Well, I guess to some extent I do that too – I know my readers will probably be more interested in hearing about recent or upcoming releases than about books that have been out for years. πŸ˜›

      Like

  8. Pingback: Monthly review: September 2016 » Simply Adrift

Let's Chat!

