4 Reasons Why I Read

4-reasons-i-read-blog-graphic

One of the things that I love most about reading is that you can ask 10 different people why they like to read and you’ll probably get 10 different answers. There are an infinite amount of reasons why people like to read. Here are just a few of the reasons why I personally love reading.

Escapism

This one is probably a pretty common reason that people read. Sometimes you just need to escape from the world. Sometimes things in life get stressful. When that happens, there’s no better way to take a break from reality than by diving into a book. When things in the real world get to be too much, reading about people in a world with magic or with time travel can be a great way to forget about your problems. Even just reading a cute romance can help ease your mind.

Learning

I love when a book teaches me new things. And I’m not just talking about nonfiction. Fictional stories can teach you a lot too. It can teach you about different cultures. Reading historical fiction can teach you about past events or what life was like in a different time. (Also if you’re looking for historical fiction that will teach you something, may I kindly direct you to Ruta Sepetys’ WWII books?) You can learn new things while also being thoroughly entertained by a great story. And hey, if nonfiction is your thing, that’s a fantastic way to educate yourself as well.

New Experiences

Reading about different adventures or different places in the world or different time periods can give you experiences that you’d never get without reading. This is especially true for contemporary novels that can give you real life experiences without you doing things in real life. (Did that make sense?) You may never get the chance to go on a road trip across America or to go live in Paris for a year, but by reading books, you can still get a taste or what that might be like.

Different Perspectives

Reading can introduce you to new and different perspectives. It’s hard to imagine, for example, how a black woman who grew up during the 1940s might feel about a particular event or problem. But I can read a book with a narrator or main character who is a black woman who grew up during the 1940s and by doing that, get to see what someone with a completely different background from myself might think about certain things. (Bonus points if it’s an #ownvoices book!)

I could sit here and list probably a hundred different reasons why I like to read. But I think that might get a little boring. πŸ˜‰ So here are four different reasons instead.

Why do you like to read?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

8 thoughts on “4 Reasons Why I Read

  1. I just love having a thousand lives right at my fingers. There’s something solace in knowing you can travel and experience so much through words on a page.
    I agree with all your reasons! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your list and agree with every thing, all those reasons are also my reasons too, I would just add that I also read to lear not just new things but also to learn English bc that is not my native language and I would like to be the best english speaker (or should I say writer) that I can be. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

