Top Ten TV Shows Based on Books That I Want to Watch

top ten tuesday blog graphic 9-6-16

Before I get started, I just wanted to say sorry that I haven’t been around the past few days. I moved back to school on Sunday and classes started today so I’ve been a bit busy! I’m hoping that I’ll get into a regular schedule soon and be able to do some blog hopping, commenting, etc. πŸ™‚

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is supposed to be anything related to TV. Since I try to only post about books, I wanted to also tie this theme into books. As a result, I’ve come up with a list of TV shows that are based on books that I want to watch (after I read the books, of course).

All the links below will take you to Goodreads!

Under the Dome

Based on Under the Dome by Stephen King

This is based on a Stephen King novel about a small town that finds itself trapped in a dome (I bet you couldn’t figure that out from the title…). Knowing this is based on a Stephen King book, I’m sure it has a lot of creepy moments which I personally love to watch in TV shows. The concept sounds pretty interesting as well, so I’d definitely watch this.

Outlander

Based on Outlander (series) by Diana Gabaldon

I’m sure I don’t really need to give you a quick overview of this one, but I will anyway. This is a time-travel novel/show about a woman from the WWII-era who finds herself in the 1700s. I know that both the book and show are incredibly popular, which is part of the reason I want to read & watch the series. The problem is that the books are incredibly long, which we all know from yesterday’s post, deters me from reading books.

Game of Thrones

Based on A Song of Ice and Fire (series) by George R. R. Martin

I feel like the only person left on this entire planet who has neither read the books nor watched the show. I love fantasy novels, but there are so many things that make me nervous to pick up this series. One of these days I will do it, though, and then I will binge-watch this entire TV show. I swear.

Orange is the New Black

Based on Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

I’m kind of cheating with this one because I’ve watched the first two seasons of this show already. I need to finish it, though! I don’t remember why I stopped watching it honestly… The book seems like it’ll be really eye-opening too… if I ever get around to reading it. This is one of the very few times in my life when I’ve watched a TV show (or movie) without having already read the books.

The Magicians

Based on The Magicians by Lev Grossman

From what I know about this (which is admittedly not very much), this is about a guy who finds out magic is real (and that he can do magic) but then also finds out that it’s actually pretty dangerous. Like I said, I don’t know much about it. But hey, I like fantasy and I like magic, so what could go wrong? πŸ˜‰

Rizzoli & Isles

Based on Rizzoli & Isles (series) by Tess Gerritsen

This is another one that I don’t know a whole lot about. Basically, Rizzoli is a detective and Isles is a medical examiner in Boston. They’re both working together to try and catch a serial killer. The books honestly sound incredibly interesting and I really want to read the first book soon. Part of that is probably because I’ve been in such a mystery & thriller type of mood lately.

Black Sails

Based on Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is based on Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic novel, Treasure Island, and I believe is meant to be a sort of prequel to that book. Honestly, there isn’t anything that really makes me want to watch this other than the fact that I love pirates. So.

Fresh Off the Boat

Based on Fresh Off the Boat: A Memoir by Eddie Huang

I honestly had no idea until very recently that this was based on a book, but it is! I see pictures of this all the time on Tumblr and it just looks like a great and really funny show. The show follows a family of immigrants in America. The memoir it’s based on is apparently also quite funny. So I definitely need to check out both the book & show.

Elementary

Based on Sherlock Holmes (series) by Arthur Conan Doyle

This is one of a couple of TV shows based on Sherlock Holmes. I’m honestly not all that interested in Sherlock Holmes, but this particular TV show just looks really good. Plus, Watson is a woman in it and is played by Lucy Liu. I love when characters are gender-swapped, especially when it puts someone into a less traditional role for their gender.

Gossip Girl

Based on Gossip Girl (series) by Cecily von Ziegesar

Sometimes you just need some drama. And from what I hear, Gossip Girl is a great place to get it. I think years ago I was actually given one of the books from the series, but it wasn’t the first one so I never read it. Honestly, this is such an iconic show that I may watch it before I read it. Especially since it’s on Netflix.

These are 10 shows that are based on books that I’d like to watch (and read).

Have you watched any of these? What did you do for this week’s TTT?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

19 thoughts on “Top Ten TV Shows Based on Books That I Want to Watch

  1. OMG YAS FOR FRESH OFF THE BOAT AND ELEMENTARY! I caught some episodes of FotB on TV recently and remember how much I loved Season 1 (I haven’t continued on).

    Also after hearing Lev Grossman speak about The Magician just two weeks ago at a writer’s festival, I’m definitely keen to check out the show! I didn’t even know there was a show.

    I did my TTT on favourite TV shows. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I watch most of the fantasy ones here and they’re fantastic! Based on this list I recommend The 100 and Witches of East End (both on Netflix). Also, I had no idea that The Magicians was a show, I’ll have to watch the pilot! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Under the Dome is an awesome show. I still haven’t read King’s novel because I was afraid it would spoil the shows plot, but I don’t think it follows the exact same story. Gossip Girl the show is amazing. I love Blair in the show and hated her in the book. That extra bitchiness doesn’t translate well in book format and she’s very unlikable. I wouldn’t recommend the books. Same goes for Sex In The City. Amazing show and not so great book. I liked The Magicians TV show but I hear the books are not so great and that Quentin is even more unlikable in the books than the show, if that’s even possible. Game of Thrones! πŸ™Œ I love that show. It’s a bit slow and I’m annoyed the books aren’t finished, but from what I’ve heard the show is much better. I only read the first book and it’s long and sort of boring at times. I’d go with the show on that one. The 100 is also a better TV show than the books. I could keep going… Lol. I’m glad move in day went well and that you’re back in action. I’ve also taken some time off over the past few weeks. I think sometimes you need a break to regroup. Good luck with school! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard quite a few people say that Gossip Girl & Sex in the City are better shows than books. I think, at least for Gossip Girl, it’s because of the types of characters. Like you said, bitchiness works better on screen than on page. πŸ˜› I haven’t heard a whole lot about The Magicians, honestly. I just remember seeing a few trailers for the show that I think mentioned it was based on a book. The Game of Thrones books are so intimidating to me, but I’ve had several people who know me pretty well (my brother, coworkers, etc.) recommend them to me that I still want to read them. I just don’t know when I’ll get around to them haha I love The 100. I read the first book and thought it was pretty good, but I haven’t read the other books yet.
      Thanks! So far, classes are going pretty well. Hopefully they’ll stay that way haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, they’re way better shows than books. I was a major major Gossip Girl fan, and Ed Westwick is most definitely to blame. I crushed on him like crazy. Chuck Bass in the novels isn’t as good as the actor on screen and Blair is so much better on TV. I wanted to beat her with my book when I was reading her dialogue. She was really awful. And Sex In The City almost reads like a series of newspaper articles. I couldn’t finish it. The show is soo good though. Definitely get on the Game of Thrones bandwagon. It’s an awesome show. I got the paperbacks of the second and third books in The 100 series pretty cheap. I’m going to give them a shot and see how they turn out. I still think the show is way better. Bellamy is my love. 😍 That’s good news. Now, you just need to sneak in that coffee pot. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bellamy is such a great character. I honestly like almost all of the characters on that show (not necessarily in that I like them as people, but I think they’re interesting characters) which is really rare for me with TV shows.
        Hahaha I ordered a Keurig knockoff from Bed Bath and Beyond. Now it just needs to get here lol

        Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

