August Book Haul

august book haul blog graphic

If you read yesterday’s post about unrealistic college expectations in YA books, you’ll know that this post was originally planned to go up yesterday. But being the procrastinator that I am, I kept putting off going through my books and figuring out which had been bought in August and then ended up going to my brother’s house and didn’t have time to do it. Yesterday as I was packing away everything I’m bringing with me to college (I move in today!!), I went through my books too. Now I can finally publish my August book haul. Hallelujah.

Shout out to my mom for helping me keep track of which ones I bought in August. 😀

This was a month of a lot of thrift store finds and eBook deals, thankfully. I’m sure my bank account appreciates it just as much as I do…

All the links below will take you to the Goodreads page!

Physical Books

  1. Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill
    • AKA The Book of Negroes. This was recommended over at Read Diverse Books and I was able to find it pretty cheap online, so I grabbed a copy. No idea when I’ll get to it, but at least I bought it. 😉
  2. The Fixes by Owen Matthews
    • I won an ARC of this from Epic Reads. It sounds amazing and I’m super excited to read this one. It didn’t make my TBR for this month, but I may end up reading it anyway. If not, it’ll probably make it in for next month.
  3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
    • I know this is a super popular book with an LGBT romance so I’ve had it on my TBR for awhile. The paperback was listed on Amazon for just over $4 so, really, how was I supposed to resist that?
  4. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
    • This was another $4 paperback find on Amazon. I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile as well.
  5. The Compound by S.A. Bodeen
    • This is a post-apocalyptic book which is one of my favorite genres. I found this at the thrift store and it was in near perfect condition for $2. Thank you!
  6. P.S. I like You by Kasie West
    • This was the OwlCrate book for this month and I honestly wasn’t really excited about this book at first, but I’ve seen so many trusted bloggers raving about it so I’m actually really looking forward to it now. I put it on my September TBR so hopefully I’ll get around to reading it soon.
  7. The Third Chimpanzee by Jared Diamond
    • I LOVE reading and learning about human evolution (it’s why I’m minoring in anthropology…) so finding this at the thrift store was a blessing.
  8. The Road by Cormac McCarthy
    • I feel like a lot of people I know read this in high school, but I never did. I feel out of the loop so I bought it when I saw it at the thrift store.
  9. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
    • I’ve read this before, but I saw a brand new copy at the thrift store and I didn’t own a copy so I bought it.
  10. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
    • I’ve been wanting to read this for awhile. I found this at the thrift store too and figured owning a copy may actually get me to read it haha
  11. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory McGuire
    • This is a Cinderella retelling that I think focuses on one of her stepsisters. I’m honestly not 100% sure, but it looks really good and I saw it for $2 at the thrift store (are you seeing a pattern here?).
  12. The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks
    • I’m on a mission to get all of Oliver Sacks’ books and was thrilled to find this at the thrift store. It’s a collection of stories about people with neurological disorders and as a psychology student, this is incredibly fascinating to me.
  13. The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks
    • I once was obsessed with Nicholas Sparks and even though I’m not quite as obsessed now, I found this on my library’s “free to take” shelf so I had to grab it. Plus it picks up with some of the characters from The Notebook which I loved reading, so I’m calling this find a major success.
  14. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
    • This was another book that was available for free at the library. I tried reading this book once back when the movie first came out but ended up putting it down because I found it boring. That was a long time ago though and I’ve been wanting to give it another try.

eBooks

I’m not going to say much about these, except that all of these were either on sale for really cheap (at most $3), were free on Kindle, or were sent to me to review.

  1. The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson
    • Lora sent this cute YA contemporary romance to me to review and I’m honestly really excited to get into it. It looks great and I’ve been dying for a contemporary to read.
  2. The Forgotten: Aten’s Last Queen by J. Lynn Else
    • I got a review copy of this from the author as well and I’m currently working my way through this one. It’s taking me forever, though… But I’m loving reading about Ancient Egypt.
  3. Initiate by Laura L. Fox
    • Oftomes (the publisher) sent me a copy of this book which is Laura’s debut and is releasing early November. I’m looking forward to this one quite a bit as I’m a big fan of sci-fi. 🙂
  4. Breaking Free by Juliana Haygert
  5. Never Never (Part 1) by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher
    • I’ve heard mixed things about this particular story, but I’ve been wanting to try Hoover’s writing and this was free on Kindle. Even if I don’t end up liking this, I’m still going to try some of Hoover’s other writing.
  6. The Killing Jar by R.S. McCoy
  7. Right of First Refusal by Dahlia Adler
  8. Kitty Genovese: A True Account of a Public Murder and Its Private Consequences by Catherine Pelonero

  9. The Girl in Between by Laekan Zea Kemp
  10. The Pact by Jodi Picoult
  11. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
  12. The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
  13. Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sky
  14. The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent
  15. H2O by Virginia Bergin
  16. The Young Elites and The Rose Society by Marie Lu
  17. The Beast of Callaire and The Dryad of Callaire by Saruuh Kelsey
  18. Partials by Dan Wells
  19. When We Collided by Emery Lord
  20. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
  21. The Island by S. Usher Evans
    • I’ve followed S. Usher Evans on Twitter for what seems like forever. I thought it was about time that I read one of her books.
  22. Interference by Amelie Antoine

Holy crap I bought a lot of books this month! That’s 38 freaking books! Luckily, as I mentioned, almost all of these I got a great price. Thankfully I should be cutting back on book buying during September, now that I’ll be back at school. My wallet and shelves need a break!

What books did you get in August? Have you read any of these?


13 thoughts on “August Book Haul

  1. This is a great haul! I reviewed The Compound on me blog. I also enjoyed H2O, loved The Road, loved Ava Lavender, liked Ugly Stepsister, and liked Lonely Bones. The Marie Lu books were okay. Those I read prior to blogging. The Oliver Sacks book is on me ports for plunder list. It sounds fascinating. I added Three Chimpanzees to me list just now. Tried to read The Partials and couldn’t get into it. Might try again one day. Sheesh! I forget how much I read sometimes because I focus more on what I want to read next. I have over 700 books on the list not to mention all the ones stacked in me cabin. It felt good to reflect. Thanks for the awesome post matey.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Pact by Jodi Picoult! Oh my gosh, such a good book!!

    And yes if you don’t like Never Never then defiantly read more of CoHo because her other writing is a lot different! I love Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, November 9 and of course It Ends With Us!!

    You had a great book haul! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Jodi Picoult but I haven’t read The Pact yet so I was really excited the eBook was on sale.
      I’ve heard sooo many good things about Hoover so I’m probably going to read some of her other books eventually anyway haha It Ends With Us sounds fantastic so I might start there. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • I need to read more from Jodi! She has great book. Oh my gosh, It Ends With Us was amazing! It’s also a little bit different from her usual writing too! It’s amazing though, and I would recommend it to anyone 🙂 Happy reading girl!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I think Brave New World was a book on the summer reading list one year when I was in high school, but I ended up reading something different. I’ve wanted to pick it up ever since then though because I love dystopian and my mom said that she really liked this book too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was pretty cute! I hope you like it! I read the Compound years ago and I remember liking it a lot. I read Brave New World earlier this summer and I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would :/ It went in a different direction than I expected, but still good. I have a copy of the Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat. It’s really interesting. Haven’t finished it yet, but I read some of the passages. If you can’t read the Lovely Bones I still recommend watching the movie. I thought it was done beautifully. Really great picks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

