August Wrap-Up

august 2016 wrap-up blog graphic

I know I usually complain about the month speeding by, but my god, August dragged on. The last two weeks or so I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump and so the beginning of August seems like it was years ago. I thought I had barely read anything, but it turns out my book count isn’t quite as pathetic as I thought. 😛

Books I Read

I still managed to finish 5 books this month and I started a 6th book, but didn’t finish it in August so it’s being carried over. All the reviews have been posted and I’ll link them here:

  1. Beyond the Kingdoms by Chris Colfer (4/5 stars)
  2. Best Left in the Shadows by Mark Gelineau and Joe King (3/5 stars)
  3. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch (4/5 stars)
  4. The Velvet Hours by Alyson Richman (3.5/5 stars)
  5. Ash by Malinda Lo (3/5 stars)

The book I started reading is The Forgotten: Aten’s Last Queen by J. Lynn Else which I received a copy of from the author. I started it awhile ago, but it’s 550 pages so it’s taking me awhile to get through. I’m a little over halfway through with it though, so with any luck, I’ll finish it soon.

Other Things I Posted

Okay, this is going to be a pretty long section because I posted quite a bit this past month.

Challenge Wrap-Ups

I didn’t want to have to write a hundred different wrap-ups, so the wrap-up for ARC August and for the Summer BINGO are going to be put into this post.

ARC August

This was a month-long challenge hosted by Read.Sleep.Repeat to encourage you to read as many ARCs that you have as possible. I’ve participated in ARC April before which is the same thing just… in April instead of August. ARC August was, unfortunately, a major failure. I got through a whole 2 ARCs: Best Left in the Shadows (which is a novella…) and The Velvet Hours. Honestly, I think a lot of this was because I was trying to get through my library books since I have to return them before I go back to college (I go to school in a different state and don’t come home often enough to be able to take them with me). So I’m going to use that as an excuse. 😉 I think because I didn’t do as well as I was hoping, I’m going to kind of extend this challenge into September on my own and dedicate most of this month to reading ARCs.

Summer BINGO

This was my first time taking part in bookish BINGO and I loved it! I’ll admit, I didn’t really change my reading patterns at all, so I only ended up with one BINGO. BUT I really liked doing this and I’m definitely going to participate again. Bookish BINGO is hosted by Pretty Deadly Reviews. Bekka puts together a BINGO card and your goal is to try and get as many bingos as possible. This challenge lasted from June-August. Here’s the empty BINGO card:

summer-bingo-1024x1024

and here’s my completed card:

summer 2016 completed bingo card

I think I did pretty well. I definitely could have gotten a couple more BINGOs if I had paid more attention to what was on the card, rather than reading a book and then seeing if it fit anywhere haha But like I said, I still had so much fun with this and I’m definitely looking forward to participating in more bookish BINGO. 🙂

Random

I don’t really have much else to add, but I couldn’t close out my August wrap-up without mentioning that this happened this month:

200 follows

I know this may not seem like much, but I seriously am so surprised that so many people are interested in what I have to say haha So thank you, thank you, thank you guys for following me, reading my posts, commenting me, etc. It really makes me so happy! 🙂

Like I mentioned, I will be going back to school in a couple of days.

I THINK that’s everything I wanted to include in this… I didn’t realize how long this wrap-up was going to be. 😛 Anyway, I hope you guys liked seeing what I was up to in August!

Feel free to link me in the comments to your own August wrap-up!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

16 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

  1. You read a fair amount over the summer. 🙂 I really like the bingo idea. I remember seeing it at some point and forgot about it. I wonder if that would’ve helped me change my patterns. I always stick to my usual NA or YA romance and fantasy. I threw in a few mysteries so at least there was some mix. 🙂 I still need to do the NetGalley tag. Donna tagged me for it. That was an awesome idea. I’m so addicted to NetGalley. 🙂 I’m almost caught up now. Only 4 more to review. Now if only Edelweiss was as easy to get approvals from. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

