Top Ten Required Reading Books I Want to Revisit

top ten tuesday blog graphic 8-30-16

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, it’s a back to school freebie. Basically, you come up with an idea for a list that somehow relates to school. I thought this would be a great opportunity to talk about some books that have been required reading for me at some point during school that I’d like to reread (or in some cases, read more than 10 pages…) now that I’m older and would have a different perspective.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

37449

I honestly didn’t like this book very much at all when I read it in high school. I’m not really sure why; I think I was just bored by the writing style. But I know that this is one classic that is really well-loved, so I want to reread it and see if my opinion of it will have changed.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

71135

 

I actually didn’t mind this one as much, but it still wasn’t a favorite. I’ll admit I LOVE the movie with Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby though. I’d like to reread this one to analyze it a bit more. I just kind of took it at face value the first time I read it, and I’d like to look more into it.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

5107

I LOVED this book when I first read it back in my freshman or sophomore year of high school. Loved it. Because I know this tends to divide readers a lot (you either love it or hate it), I want to see if my opinion has changed about it.

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

890

I read this before and didn’t like it, but I want to reread it. Are you ready for the ridiculous reason why I want to reread this? I have the same birthday as John Steinbeck and really want to like one of his books. That’s it.

Night by Elie Wiesel

13458984

I love books about the Holocaust, especially when the book is written by someone who lived through it. Elie Wiesel recently passed away, but he made such an impact with his books. I know I’ll still love this book. I just want to reread it and enjoy it again.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

10210

I’m kind of cheating with this one since I didn’t have to read this in high school. It was given as an option for us to read for our summer reading assignment one year and I chose to read something else. But since I know a lot of people read this that year and really liked it, I want to read it too.

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

4900

This is an incredibly dense book and I remember not understanding anything because of that. I think next time I’m looking for a challenging book to read, I’ll give this another try. I think reading about colonialism is important so you can see just how brutal us colonialists were and understand the pain that still lingers among the Native populations.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin

6439048

This was a required read that I didn’t feel very strongly about. I liked it but didn’t think it was anything spectacular. I’d like to reread it and go in keeping in mind the context of the time it was written in. I know it was quite a scandalous and controversial book when it first came out and I don’t think I fully appreciated it when I read it back as a senior in high school.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

1118668

I read this my freshman year of high school and liked it quite a bit, but for some reason, I’ve never been able to think of it as a book that I read and enjoyed. I just think of it as some book I was forced to read. Like I’ve mentioned before, I really enjoy books about WWII, and I’d like to reread this so I can think of it more positively.

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

168642

I think this was a book that I had to read over the summer for my junior year. I remember hating the first half and loving the second half. I don’t really have a particular reason for wanting to reread it, I just do.

What did you include in your Top Ten Tuesday this week?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Required Reading Books I Want to Revisit

  1. I’d like to read Of Mice and Men and Night, for me it will be the first time. I also read Heart of Darkness in school, nice to see that US and Polish required readings overlap a tiny bit. I think Heart of Darkness is thought in Polish schools mainly because of the fact that Joseph Conrad is Polish.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I can see why you didn’t enjoy The Book Thief as required reading. It needs to be enjoyed at your own pace, so I can’t imagine being forced to read and finish it by a certain date. It’s my absolute favourite book of all time so I’d really recommend giving it another go, when you have plenty of spare time to dedicate to it. 🙂

    My TTT: https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/08/30/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-read-at-school/

    Liked by 2 people

    • I tended to have that problem with just about every required reading book haha If I was forced to read it, I usually didn’t end up liking it. I’m definitely going to read The Book Thief again though because I love historical fiction, especially when it’s set in WWII. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This is such a cool topic. It’s so interesting seeing what was assigned reading in different places!
    I also really enjoyed The Catcher in the Rye, so it’d be really interesting to see what I think about it now that I’m older. I had to read Of Mice and Men in school too, and I feel like we spent so, so long talking about it. I did actually quite like it but I’ve never picked up another Steinbeck since!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have a confession which is really bad considering I’m an English teacher and have taught the book at least 5 times; I can’t bear Of Mice and Men. I am deeply ashamed. I LOVE East of Eden though; if you’ve got time for a longer book, I’d go for that instead. I also reread Catcher this year and, while I now understand people’s aversion to Holden, I still love him.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great choices! To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite novel, and I think I learn something new each time I reread it. I need to reread A Catcher in the Rye, too; I had mixed feelings about the novel the first time I read it, and I think another reading will help me decide whether or not I like Holden. Of Mice and Men is definitely one of the most poignant stories I’ve ever read, but sweet at the same time<3

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m hoping by rereading all of these, I’ll appreciate them more than I did as a 14-15 year old. I think some of what the books had to offer just kind of flew over my head at the time. Plus, because I hated being forced to read specific books, I didn’t really enjoy reading them. I’d prefer to read them because I want to, not because my teacher is making me. So hopefully by reading them on my own, I’ll like them more. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

