Why I’m Tired of the Books vs. Technology Dichotomy

book vs technology blog graphic

If you’ve been on the Internet for more than, oh, 5 minutes, you’ve probably seen the whole “books vs. technology” dichotomy. Or maybe it’s more accurately summed up as “intelligence vs. technology” and “technology is ruining the world.” Regardless, it often ends up putting you into one of two categories: you’re either A.) smart and read books and stay up-to-date in world news or B.) spend your time watching frivolous TV shows and posting on social media.

It ends up spreading the message that you can be smart and enjoy reading and engaging with thought-provoking content OR you can spend time on social media and watching TV shows that ultimately are not super important, but that are entertaining.

I’m so sick of our world being dichotomized like this because it is 100% false.

The fact that book blogs even exist is proof that that dichotomy isn’t real. We all love reading, obviously, which should mean that we fit in group A: the group of people who love to read and because of that, are intelligent. But the fact that we have blogs and use social media (I’m sure 99% of you also use Twitter) should mean that we belong to group B: people who just don’t care about anything important and would rather spend our time posting about our lives on social media.

Why aren’t we allowed to be both of those people at once? Why do I have to always be pondering the existence of man to be seen as someone who is smart and who cares about things? Why am I not allowed to sit and watch Parks & Rec on Netflix and still be seen as a respectable person?

I’m willing to bet that most people who read also watch TV and movies and play video games and do things that don’t require them to be deep in thought 100% of the time. And I’m sick of the other readers who try to act as though they are always deep in existential thought. Because by being so pretentious, they give the rest of us a bad name, making us seem as though we are all pretentious and judgmental.

I’ll even admit that for a few years I stayed away from the online book community because I didn’t want to be a part of a community that was so judgmental. Of course now after interacting with some of the people who make up the book community, I realize that most people aren’t like that at all. But from the outside, that’s what it seems like sometimes. And because of that, I stayed away from this awesome community.

This has mostly turned into me ranting about how annoying I find it when people try to act as though you can’t belong in both of those groups, that you can’t be intelligent and well-read and also enjoy watching Netflix. I could honestly keep going on and on, but for the sake of my sanity (and probably yours), I won’t. I’ll leave it at this: I think we should all keep in mind that people are not so easily divided into groups. You can’t organize people based on one interest of theirs. Not everyone who watches TV or spends a lot of time on social media is frivolous and unintelligent. Similarly, not everyone who reads books is a deep-thinker on their way to unlocking the secrets of the universe. And most importantly, you can love reading and also love watching TV. These traits are not mutually exclusive.

Have you noticed this dichotomy online? What do you think of it?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

8 thoughts on “Why I’m Tired of the Books vs. Technology Dichotomy

  1. I agree. Most of the time, when I tell people that I enjoy reading, I can kind of see their perception of me change into someone who is boring, smart, and a goody-two shoes. This is accurate to a extent, but sometimes I feel like I am defined by it and people don’t see the other parts of me because they’re too focused on the “nerd” aspect. Stereotypes in general really bug me, and this is definitely a common one

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, that happens to me too. I read so much that it’s usually one of the first things people find out about me and then when they find out about something else, like that I like to drink for example, they’re shocked. It’s as if they can’t possibly imagine a person who likes to read might also like to do other things that don’t involve being “smart” or responsible or whatever else they associate with reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with all of this, but I haven’t had it happen to me online. In real life, people assume that because I am a bookworm, it’s all I am, that I can’t participate in deep conversations and debates about whatever classics and spend my days dissecting long paragraphs. If only they knew I spend my evenings and some afternoons in front on Netflix in my pajamas eating junk food, without overthinking everything and looking for the meaning of life. I’m a twitter addict, I love playing Tomb Raider, I like to leave my head rest most of the time. Stop with the boxes and associations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for writing this!
    You’re so right that people can’t be categorized so easily. We are too complex.
    And frankly, I don’t want to be friends or associate with anyone who thinks that spending a day watching Netflix and being on Twitter somehow makes me a lesser person. We all deserve relaxation and fun as well as intellectual stimulation! Why can’t it be both? Actually, it can. I want my life to have variety, so yes, sometimes I allow myself to do frivolous things.
    I can tell why you’re so passionate about this. I’m already getting worked up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha this is one of my biggest pet peeves, if you couldn’t tell. 😛 Judging people so harshly on one or two things that they like to do and not taking into consideration anything else is honestly ridiculous. As if you could possibly get a full picture of who they are based on one interest of theirs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

