Top Ten Books That Have Been on my TBR Before I Started Blogging

top ten tuesday blog graphic

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week gives you a different theme and you come up with a list of ten(ish) books that fit that theme. This week’s theme is books that have been on your TBR from before you started blogging that you haven’t gotten around to reading yet.

I’m going to be completely honest with you guys: I could probably write a list of 50+ books that have been sitting on my TBR (physically on my shelves or just on a wishlist somewhere) from before I even started blogging. Granted, my blog is less than a year old, so this isn’t quite as bad as if I had been blogging for a few years, but still… It’s pretty ridiculous.

But since this is Top Ten Tuesday and not Top 50 Tuesday, I’ll try to limit myself to just 10 books. πŸ˜›

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

20758104

I saw this book being recommended like crazy on Tumblr a few years ago and I think I bought this with Christmas money back in 2014.Β Have I read it? Of course not.

Legend by Marie Lu

9275658

You all know how much I love dystopian books and this is one of the more popular ones, so I HAD to read it. I got it as a Christmas present from my older brother years ago – maybe 2013 or 2014? I’m not sure exactly. All I know is it’s been sitting in my room for years and still hasn’t been read.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

38447

I actually was supposed to read this in my English class senior year of high school (that’s in 2012-2013). I started reading it and really liked it, but didn’t finish it for some reason (at this point, I have no idea why I stopped reading it). Ever since then, I’ve been wanting to pick it back up and back in November or December of 2015, I finally bought my own copy because I thought that would get me to read it, but… apparently not.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

256683

I’m actually slightly embarrassed to admit that I haven’t read this series yet. When I was in high school, I remember one of my friends telling me I should read the series because she really liked it and thought I would too. Sooo I bought the first book and like all the other books on this list, it’s sat in my room ever since.

Pivot Point by Kasie West

18090000

I bought this along with the next four books in a big Amazon haul last summer and haven’t read any of them yet. Why???

Dualed by Elsie Chapman

13401993

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan

15798696

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

16059484

Altered by Jennifer Rush

10859509

My sister has read this before I have and has begged me to read it because she loved it, but I still haven’t. This is the last one I got in that Amazon haul that I haven’t read yet.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

5907

This is possibly the most embarrassing one on here, simply because I have had this for almost a decade. I’m pretty sure my brother gave this to me when I was 12 or 13 and told me that I would love it and here I am, 21 years old and I still haven’t read it. Ridiculous, I know.

So, here are 10 books that have been sitting around waiting for me to read them since before I even had a blog!

Have you read any of these? What’d you include in your Top Ten Tuesday this week?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Have Been on my TBR Before I Started Blogging

  1. I really enjoyed The Mortal Instruments. Pivot Point was better than I expected. Legend was good, but the rest of the series was a bit of a letdown for me. And I really think you could skip Of Poseidon. But that’s just my opinion. Hope you get to read a few of these soon.

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of Poseidon is definitely one of those books that I’m not 100% sure I’ll end up reading. It’s been sitting on my shelves for so long that I’m not sure I’m actually still interested in it haha I still might read it though. After all, I already bought it πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. The third (and at the time last) book in the Mortal Instruments series came out in 2009, and I think I got all three in a set that year. I even went to a book convention and got them signed by her not too long after that! It wasn’t until 2014 that I actually read them :p Sometimes things just have to sit until you’re ready for them!

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the reason I keep putting off The Mortal Instruments is because there are quite a few books in the series and once I start a series, I always want to binge read it. So with 6 books in the series and me reading about 6 books a month, that’s a whole month I’d end up dedicating to it. πŸ˜› I’m sure I’ll get around to it though, I just don’t know when haha

      Like

  3. I haven’t read The Knife Of Never Letting Go either! I actually bought the whole series a while back and still haven’t picked it up πŸ˜‚. I hear such great things about the authors books and want to pick them up but there are so many other books I want to read more lol.

    Of Poseidon and The Mortal Instruments books are both incredible! If you ever do end up getting around to them I hope you enjoy them. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Following this week’s TTT has been so fun! I have seen so many different books in people’s TBRs that have been there for years. haha, I am definitely guilty of this. I could easily to a Top Fifty Tuesday. X)

    I was recently recommended Marie Lu’s series so I do plan to read it eventually. Hopefully it doesn’t take me years like it has for you.!
    Hmmm, I will forgive you for not having read The Hobbit because I am a nice person and you are awesome. But I will give you a deadline of 2020 to read it or…ELSE! OK? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Handmaid’s Tale is one I had to read in college, the first time I’d ever heard of Margaret Atwood, and I absolutely loved it! I read my first Cassandra Clare book earlier in the year (Clockwork Princess) and really enjoyed it, so I look forward to reading more of her stuff! Happy reading! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

