Bout of Books: Book to Movie Adaptation Challenge

bob books to movie adaptation blog graphic

I’m going to try not to spam you guys with posts this week so I won’t be participating in a lot of Bout of Books challenges since I have other posts that I want to put up this week and like I said, I don’t want to be spamming you guys with posts.

BUT I liked the topic for this challenge and couldn’t resist. 🙂 Here’s the original post  for this challenge on Writing My Own Fairy Tale.

BEST BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATION

This is such an easy answer: The Hunger Games. I felt like this is a rare instance where the movies actually got better as the series went on, but even the first movie was really good and did a pretty good job of sticking to the book. From Catching Fire on, it was pretty much a spot-on adaptation. So these movies definitely get the award for the best book to movie adaptation.

WORST BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATION

Why do I have the feeling I won’t be the only person giving this answer? I have to go with the Divergent series. More specifically, Insurgent. I liked the Divergent movie just fine. It changed some things, but I felt overall it was the same story and I still enjoyed it. My biggest complaint with that movie was that Christina felt so unimportant but throughout the whole book series, I loved her and felt she was quite a prominent character. But then came the Insurgent movie. When I first saw it, I didn’t mind it. I was disappointed but thought it was still okay. As time goes on, though, I hate that movie more and more. And I can’t even say anything about the Allegiant movie because I didn’t  go see it. I realized that Insurgent wasn’t that good and then I heard everyone’s complaints about the Allegiant movie so I just didn’t bother.

What are your most and least favorite book-to-movie adaptations?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Book to Movie Adaptation Challenge

  1. I love The Hunger Games adaptation. When the first movie was released, I gawked over how perfect it was, even way better than from what I had imagined in the books. Mockingjay felt a bit stretched out, but overall, it was a good series that my sister and I never get tired of watching.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely agree with you on Hunger Games. Game of Thrones is obviously fantastic but I guess that’s book to TV 🙂 Miss Peregrines School for Peculiar Children and The Girl with all the Gifts look like they will be good movies as well! Most adaptations are usually just average or terrible but I think the worst I’ve seen is Eragon 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • I never saw Eragon, but I’ve heard that it was terrible haha I definitely agree that Miss Peregrines looks like it’s going to be good. I can’t wait for it to come out. 🙂 I’ve never read or watched Game of Thrones (I know, shame on me) but that’s definitely one of the most popular adaptations out there.

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

