Bout of Books 17 Sign Up

bout of books 17 sign up blog graphic

After some deliberation, I’ve decided that I’m going to be participating in Bout of Books 17! I participated in the last one back in May and had a lot of fun doing it. This one starts on Monday and goes through next Sunday. I’m hoping it will be just as fun as the last one and that it will motivate me to get some books read. 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, Bout of Books is a week-long readathon that’s pretty low pressure. You can set your own goals and while there are challenges that go on throughout the week, you’re not required to participate in them. Here’s the official blurb from the website:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I’m going to go with the same goal that I set for myself last time: to read 3 books. I usually read 1-2 books a week, so 3 is pushing myself just enough that I am actually pushing myself, yet it’s not too stressful or unattainable.

Last time I didn’t participate in any challenges and to be honest, I’m not sure if I will this time either, but I might. I guess I’ll wait and see how I’m doing when it comes around. 😛

As for a TBR… I’m not really sure what I’ll be in the mood to read but I’ll give myself a few options here:

I may end up going completely off my TBR (which would be no surprise, honestly), but as of right now those are some of the books I’m thinking of reading.

Anyway, I’m really excited to be participating in this again and can’t wait to get some reading done!

Bout of Books

Bout of Books Progress Updates

Day 1:

  • Pages read: 42
  • Books finished: none
  • Total pages: 42
  • Total books finished: none

Day 2:

  • Pages read: 27
  • Books finished: none
  • Total pages: 69
  • Total books finished: none

Day 3:

  • Pages read: 91
  • Books finished: Ash (started before Bout of Books, read half during BoB)
  • Total pages: 160
  • Total books finished: 0.5

Day 4:

  • Pages read: 39
  • Books finished: None
  • Total pages: 199
  • Total books finished: 0.5

Day 5:

  • Pages read: 33
  • Books finished: None
  • Total pages: 232
  • Total books finished: 0.5

Day 6:

  • Pages read: 34
  • Books finished: None
  • Total pages: 266
  • Total books finished: 0.5

Day 7:

  • Pages read: 23
  • Books finished: None
  • Total pages: 289
  • Total books finished: 0.5 (this is embarrassing…)

Are any of you participating in Bout of Books?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

18 thoughts on “Bout of Books 17 Sign Up

  1. I’m not participating Bout of Books. I’m supposed to be taking apart of ARC August. I have read two ARCs. And I have a client whose book I have to read. So I’m kind of busy. But good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      I’m participating in ARC August too and I’m kind of hoping that by doing Bout of Books, it’ll get me to read one or two more ARCs than I would have without doing a readathon. I’ve gotten 2 ARCs read so far which is not nearly as good as I was hoping for 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It feels like the last Bout of Books just happened a few weeks ago. But it was in May?? How!?

    I’m taking a break from readathons after 24in48 lol. I wasn’t very successful there despite my honest intentions.
    3 books is totally reasonable for this one, though. That’s a goal I could reach as well.

    I think I’ll wait until the next Dewey’s readathon to try again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I also thought it was a lot more recent, but then I looked up my old posts from the last one and saw that it was way back in May. 😛
      I haven’t participated in Dewey’s readathon yet, but I’m really hoping I’ll be able to do the next one.
      Even when I’m not really successful in readathons, I still have fun. I don’t know what it is, but I just love doing them even if I don’t read much more than usual.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your TBR choices. I have never heard of any of them but I am going to be sure to check them all out on Goodreads. I am happy to see that I am not the only one who has not finished a book yet. I am hoping to finish my first book today. Hope you get to finish yours too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t gotten nearly as much reading done as I was hoping. And then without realizing it, I chose a book that’s 550 pages long so I’m not sure if I’m going to finish it before the readathon is over. Oh well. 😛 I’m still having fun participating, so that’s good enough for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

