Captain America Book Tag

cap20book20tag203_zpstbmz1ape

I wasn’t actually tagged to do this but I freaking love Captain America so I want to do it anyway. 🙂 This tag and the graphic above were both created by Morgan at Gone With the Words.

Steve Rogers/Captain America: a book with a big character transformation

Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult. This is kind of interesting to use for this one because we see two transformations: we see Cassie go from a very independent person to being pretty dependent upon her abusive husband and then we also see her break free from the abuse & her marriage. She definitely goes through a lot and comes out a very different person.

Peggy Carter: a book with a strong female protagonist

My go-to answer for this is always Katniss from The Hunger Games. I love her so, so much and she definitely fits the description of a strong female protagonist. I mean, she pretty much gives up her life for her sister. And even when things get really hard and dangerous for her, she still stands up for what she thinks is right and for the people she cares about.

Bucky Barnes: a book with your ultimate BROTP

I have to go with Kell and Rhy from V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series. They’re literal brothers, but really their friendship is awesome. I love those two.

Howling Commandos: a book with squad goals

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I love the characters in this book, even if they do seem a little ridiculous at times, and I especially love them as a group. There’s really no other option.

Red Skull: a book with a cliche plot

I’m having a really hard time coming up with an answer for this which is completely ridiculous because I KNOW I’ve read some pretty cliche plots in my life.

I’ll go with Faking Normal by Courtney Stevens. It’s cliche in that its plot kind of follows the same basic idea that a lot of “tough issues” contemporaries do – the MC is struggling to get over something that happened in her past, she finds strength in a new and understanding friend, then comes clean and is able to move on. I wouldn’t consider this a totally cliche book, but I guess it is a bit formulaic.

Natasha Romanoff: a book with a snarky side character

This is another one that I’m having a really hard time coming up with and it is driving me NUTS because again I know that I’ve read a lot of books with snarky characters.

I know I already used the Shades of Magic series, but I’m going to use it again: Rhy and Lila both fit perfectly.

Sam Wilson: a book with a friendship meet cute.

I don’t really know what this means? From Morgan’s original post, it seems like what it means is that two friends meet in a cute way, so that’s what I’m going with. I don’t know if this is “cute” but I love the fact that Sadie, Darcy, and Rosanna in City Love all meet as roommates but end up becoming really good friends. I guess it’s kind of a cliche way to meet friends, but I’m still going with this haha

Winter Soldier: a book with a great twist (plot twist or retelling)

John Boyne’s The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. If you’ve read it or watched the movie, you’ll know what I’m talking about. That freaking twist had me crying soo much when I first read it and I still can’t watch the movie without crying even though I’ve seen it 3 times.

I’m Just A Kid from Brooklyn: a book with a memorable setting/character backstory

I’ll go with Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. First of all, I freaking love this book. It’s definitely one of my favorites. Second, Josie has such an interesting backstory. Her mother is a prostitute who puts way more effort into getting a boyfriend & money than she ever has put into taking care of her daughter. Josei herself is super interesting – she has really high hopes for her future and wants to get away from the judgment she faces because of her mom being a prostitute, but she still helps the woman in charge of her mom & the other prostitutes. There’s so much I could say about Josie but I’ll stop here.

Do You Two…. Fondue?: a book with a love triangle

Let’s be real, there are a ton of books I could use for this one. I’m going to go with The Infernal Devices though because this is probably one of my all-time favorite love triangles. I like a lot of love triangles (sue me) but I love the one with Tessa, Will, and Jem the most because I honestly didn’t know who I wanted her to choose. I would’ve been the happiest with a polyamorous relationship with all three of them tbh.

You’ve Been Asleep, Cap: a book you love with a dual timeline/time travel

Can I do a book that involves traveling to different dimensions instead? (I’m going to anyway.) A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. I love, love, love this book and have yet to read the sequel which is kind of driving me nuts. I think I might buy it whenever it comes out in paperback…

Til The End Of The Line: a book with the OTP to end all OTPs

This is hard because I’ve recently realized that I don’t ship book characters that much? I mean I do, but I’m much more laid back with book characters than I am with TV shows. I don’t know. Anyway, I guess I would have to go with Four & Tris from the Divergent series. I love them.

I Had A Date: a book with a cliffhanger

Red Queen & Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard both end on massive cliffhangers. The cliffhangers for both books killed me and have made the wait for the next books terrible.

I Understood That Reference: a book with a pop culture reference

This is Me. by C.E. Wilson – This has quite a few pop culture references to Harry Potter, Supernatural, and a few others that I didn’t know what they were referring to haha I love when books reference pop culture.

Some of these were surprisingly difficult to come up with answers for! A few of them I definitely should have been able to come up with answers much more quickly than I did… I love when these are a bit of a challenge though. 🙂


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

6 thoughts on “Captain America Book Tag

Join the Discussion

