Do You Buy Multiple Copies of the Same Book?

buying multiple copies

It feels like it’s been quite awhile since I wrote any kind of discussion post, so today I’m back with a question that I’m really interested in: do you buy multiple copies or different editions of the same book?

I never have before, unless you count buying an eBook and physical copy. Well, I guess I’ve done this only once. I bought the Kindle version of Allegiant so I could read it the same day it came out (I didn’t have the rest of the series so I didn’t want to buy the physical) but later got the collector’s editions of the whole trilogy. But as far as collecting a hardcover, a paperback, a special edition, etc. all of the same book, I’ve never done that. To me personally, it seems like a waste of money.

But I understand the appeal. If there’s a certain book or series that you really loved and you feel like it’s been a huge influence in your life, why not collect as many different editions as possible? I can also understand buying a copy of the book when it first comes out and then buying another copy when it has a special edition, an anniversary edition, or something like that, especially if those other editions come with special content that you don’t have.

So I can understand both sides of the argument. On the one hand, buying multiple copies of the same book may seem like a waste of money. If you spend $20 on the hardcover, $10 on the paperback, and then another $15-20 on special editions, that’s a lot of money to spend on one story. It may also take up a lot of your bookshelf space. If you don’t have a lot of room for books, it may not be the best idea to have four copies of one book.

On the other hand, if you love that book, you may want to see what every edition has to offer. Maybe each one has a different author’s note or maybe one edition has special content that you can’t get anywhere else. Maybe you just want to give as much money to that book and its author to show the publisher how much it means to you and to help support the author. Maybe you bought the first edition you came across because you really wanted to read it, but the publisher then released a different edition that you likedย a lot more.

I will admit there’s one thing to collecting different editions that I don’t really understand: buying foreign editions in languages you don’t and will never understand and be able to read. Why spend money on a book that you will never be able to read? I get that some foreign editions are absolutely beautiful and it may be really tempting to buy it just so it can sit on your shelf and look pretty. But that seems like a big waste of money to me. I guess if you have money lying around and it won’t be missed, why not? But otherwise, it just doesn’t seem worth it to me. I don’t mean to sound judgmental, I just don’t understand it. (If you have any ideas on why people might buy foreign editions, let me know!)

So I guess what I want to know is: do you or have you ever bought multiple copies of the same book? If so, what were your reasons for doing it? If not, would you ever? Why don’t you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

20 thoughts on “Do You Buy Multiple Copies of the Same Book?

  1. I don’t own multiple copies of any books there’s a few of my favorite books that I want the paperbacks of so I can annotate, them I don’t want to write in pretty hardcovers. But it’s just to expensive to own multiple copies of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great discussion topic! I don’t understand buying multiple copies of books. It’s a complete waste of money. I own a few books on Kindle and paperback, but that’s because I bought the paper copies a long time before, forgot about them, and then bought the Kindle version.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can understand having an ebook & physical copy. I sometimes buy ebooks on impulse because they’re on sale for only a dollar or two, but I generally prefer having physical copies, so if I really liked it and thought I might reread it or if it was part of series, I might buy a physical copy too and would probably buy the rest of the series in a physical copy. But other than that, I can’t really see myself buying more than one copy of the same book.

      Like

  3. This is an interesting topic! To this day, I haven’t bought multiple copies of one book, aside from replacing a damaged copy.. but I do get the appeal as well.. I just think I’d rather buy a completely new story rather than spend money on the same book. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel the need to re purchase some of my favorites.. haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t get the need of possessing multiple copies of books. I’d rather buy new ones to complete my shelves ๐Ÿ™‚ Okay, I do multiples editions of Harry Potter, but in different languages, so it doesn’t count, haha. I am using it to work on translations, so I own the Japanese, American, British and French versions. But I can’t imagine getting different editions of books for another reason than work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand 100% having multiple copies in different languages if you’re trying to learn the language. That makes a lot of sense. But yeah, I’m the same way – I’d rather spend the money on new books I haven’t read rather than on more copies of a book I already have.

      Like

  5. I’ve only ever done that with the Harry Potter series. I have a nice hardcover set that I don’t read and multiple copies that have a little more love ๐Ÿ™‚ (My mom and I couldn’t share when we went to the midnight parties so we would always buy two copies).

    I WOULD buy the physical copy of a book if I have the ebook and I really enjoyed it…but I haven’t even gotten around to doing that because I already spend too much money on ebooks/other books ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • That makes sense! I feel like if I ever got a copy that I thought was really pretty I would never want to read it because I wouldn’t want it to get damaged at all haha
      I could definitely understand wanting to buy physical & ebook copies for various reasons. I could see myself buying an ebook first because it’s cheap (especially if it’s on sale for $2-3) and then realizing I really like it and buying it & the rest of the series in physical copies too.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. great post! i only own double copies of some books that i own the audiobook for since i want to have a physical copy to go back and reread only my favorite parts (its hard to relisten to your favorite parts of audiobooks without relistning to the entire thing which i usually dont want to do). but in my opinion, owning multiple copies of the same book is generally opulent and wasteful and as someone who is legitimately dirt poor and has to be extremely careful with money, it baffles me to see people buying multiples and tbh makes me a little envious as i dont have tthe money lying around to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does seem pretty wasteful in my opinion, but like I said, I can see the appeal to it. I kind of wish I had the money to buy multiples at times, mostly because I love having box sets but I also like buying books as they come out so it’d be great to do both. Although if I bought a box set, I’d probably just end up selling the other copies. I don’t feel like I need more than one copy of the same book ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve actually never bought multiple copies of the same book, though I’ve wanted too it’s just too expensive. If I had the money I’d be all for doing it with Cassandra Clare’s books as I wouldn’t mind owning the new box sets. She’s probably the only author I would whose books I would be multiple copies off. ๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might buy a box set of Harry Potter if I had the money. I have the whole series, but some are hardcover and some are paperback and it annoys me lol But it’s like $80 for a box set and I already have the books so it just seems like a waste of money ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      • That bothers me too. That’s how my Cassandra Clare books are which is probably another reason I want the box sets lol. As far as Harry Potter goes I have all the paperback original covers but there is this leather bound set that is my dream buy as far as books go. It’s so expensive though that I’ll probably never get it ๐Ÿ˜‚. It really does seem like a waste of money. Especially when you could spend that money on more important things or even new books that you want but don’t have.

        Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

