Top Ten Books I’d Buy If I Had A Gift Card

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week gives you a different prompt to come up with a list of 10 (or as many as you’d like) for. This week’s prompt is “top ten books you’d buy right now if you had a fully loaded gift card.” This is going to be insanely difficult to come up with only 10 books for! All links will take you to Goodreads.

The Nazi and the Psychiatrist by Jack El-Hai

20578508I saw this last time I was at the bookstore but I was already buying more books than I should have, so I had to resist getting this one. I really like learning about history (especially WWII) and I’m a psychology major, so this book sounds like a perfect read for me. Basically, this is about a psychiatrist who was assigned to determine if some captured Nazis were fit to stand trial during the Nuremberg Trials and took the opportunity to try to understand why they did what they did (and ended up being surprised because they didn’t seem like “evil” people despite all the atrocities they committed).

 

 

 

Poor Unfortunate Soul by Serena Valentino

27416133This is another one that I saw on my most recent bookstore trip. This is a villain origin story about Ursula from The Little Mermaid. I really think Ursula is a highly underrated villain and The Little Mermaid has always been my favorite Disney movie, so I would love to read it. Unfortunately, it was really expensive at the bookstore and I couldn’t justify spending that much money on such a short book (it was less than 200 pages), so I’d much rather spend a gift card on it. 🙂

 

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983I have heard very few negative things about this duology and I really want to read it. It’s kind of funny though – I took this out from the library over a month ago and I’ve still not read it. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. 😛 I’d love to own this one though – I love the cover (hardcover AND paperback are both beautiful) and the insides are supposedly just as good.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

29056083I’ll fully admit that I’m not actually sure whether I would spend a gift card on this, but I certainly wouldn’t spend my own actual money on it. I’m not nearly as excited about this as most people seem to be. If it were a full novel rather than a script, I probably would be. But I’ve never been much of a fan of reading play scripts and I have a few other hesitations about this book (it’s not only written by Rowling, it seems to have a pretty strange plot, etc.). I’d really still like to read this though so I thought I’d include this anyway.

 

 

And I Darken by Kiersten White

27190613Why haven’t I bought & read this yet? Does anyone know? I don’t. I have been really looking forward to this book since I first heard about it. I’ve heard extremely positive things about it, including that it has great representation of Muslim characters which is something that I would LOVE to see in a book. I just don’t know why I haven’t bought this yet! I would definitely be picking this up if I had a gift card to spend.

 

 

 

Adaptation by Malinda Lo

10744752I’ve never read this and only recently heard about this, but from what I’ve heard, this is a great book. It’s sci-fi which is something I always love. I believe it also features a bi character which is super rare (I literally can’t think of one bi character from a book that I’ve read) and would be wonderful to read about.

 

 

 

 

The Last Cherry Blossom by Kathleen Burkinshaw

25898828

This book just came out today (I think) and I only heard about it for the first time a few days ago but holy crap do I want to read this. It’s about a 12 year old living in Hiroshima when the atomic bomb hits and sounds like an incredibly powerful book. I can’t imagine how heartbreaking it will be to read it.

 

 

 

 

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

27833670This sci-fi thriller sounds like an amazing book and I’ve seen a few bloggers who really enjoyed reading it. Basically, the MC is abducted and wakes up and his life is completely different from what he remembers. I actually borrowed this from the library but since I have 10 library books out and a month to read them before I go away for school, I’m not sure if I’ll get around to reading this one.

 

 

 

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

24921954I’m kind of cheating with this one since it doesn’t come out until the end of the month, but I would definitely buy this one if I could. Not only does it have a beautiful cover, but it’s a sci-fi dystopian (my favorite) and just sounds so good. If I end up buying any books around the time this comes out, I’ll most likely be picking this one up.

 

 

 

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

16034235Yes, I’m one of the people who still hasn’t read this. I haven’t read anything by Maas yet but I hear great things about her books so I’d love to read them. I’ve been a bit hesitant to buy Throne of Glass just because I know I’d feel the need to buy all the books in this series and that would seriously drain my bank account. Maybe I’d buy it if I had a gift card and didn’t have to spend my actual money on it.

 

 

 

Here are ten books I would buy if I had a gift card! What did you put in your Top Ten Tuesday this week?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Buy If I Had A Gift Card

  1. I’ve seen a few of the Disney Villains stories around different stores and I’m always tempted to pick them up, but like you I can’t justify the money on such a short book I’m not even convinced I’ll like.
    And I can’t wait to read more Harry Potter, then again I actually really enjoy reading play scripts as I studied so many of them in high school and college.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. If it had been a longer book or had been cheaper, I definitely would’ve gotten it.
      I’ve heard so many mixed things about the HP script that now I’m not actually sure if I want to read it at all haha I guess I’ll wait and try to make up my mind 😛

      Like

Let's Chat!

