The Netflix & Books Book Tag

netflix and books book tag

I’m really excited to do this tag! I was kind of tagged by Reg over at She Latitude. Basically, she did it and I commented saying that it looked like a lot of fun so she then tagged me haha Thank you Reg! If any of you don’t follow her, you should go check out her blog ASAP because her and her blog are seriously wonderful. 🙂

Rules

  • Choose a book or book series that best matches the prompt provided.
  • Feel free to change the TV show if you’d like it to reflect YOUR preferences!
  • A blank set of the prompts is located at the very bottom.
  • Link back to the creators, Christy at Novel Ink and Lauren at Bookmark Lit, and tag some friends to join in!

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Unlikeable Character(s)

41vtpdcaq5l-_sx330_bo1204203200_

I’m going to go with the characters from Red Queen. Just about every character from this book could be unlikeable at times. Mare can be really self-pitying which is sometimes understandable, but sometimes not. Maven is just… terrible for a number of reasons. Even other characters like Cal and Kilorn annoy me a lot. I think the thing that annoys me about all of them is that they can be very, very whiny. Seriously guys, suck it up.

It’s kind of funny though that I’m complaining about all these characters because I really loved this book.

Vampire Diaries: Your Ship Sank or Didn’t Happen

I don’t think this has actually ever happened! Amazing, right?! I guess I just end up choosing the same ship that the author chooses. Works for me. 🙂

Friends: Best Cast of Characters/Friendships

I definitely have to go with V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series here. There are few characters that I like as much as Lila and Rhy. Pretty much every character in this series fascinates me, regardless of their role or whether they’re “good” or not. I just really love these characters.

Gossip Girl: Hate That You Love or Guilty Pleasure

I don’t have a specific book for this, but I guess I’d go with two genres: romances and dystopian. I don’t even read that many romances because I tell myself I don’t like them, but the second I do read them, I’m reminded of how much of a lie that is haha Nicholas Sparks is such a guilty pleasure. Dystopians aren’t as much of a guilty pleasure, but I still kind of consider them one because as much as I love them, they do tend to be pretty similar to one another and I just feel like I shouldn’t love them as much as I do.

Doctor Who: Long Series You Loved

3

First of all, let it be known that I do NOT like Doctor Who. At all.

Okay, now that that’s out there… I can’t think of any really long series that I’ve read. I guess the longest one is actually probably Harry Potter. And of course I love Harry Potter, so that’s my answer.

Grey’s Anatomy: All the Feels

13335037

This trilogy is one of my favorite series ever but my god, it consistently ripped my heart out. Veronica Roth, I love you and also kind of hate you.

How I Met Your Mother: Bad Ending

I can’t think of one for this… I even went through my entire “read” shelf on Goodreads and couldn’t find one (although admittedly, I couldn’t remember how a lot of those books ended…).

Supernatural: Favorite Paranormal/Fantasy

I’m having a surprisingly difficult time coming up with one for this. I thought I read more fantasy than I actually do I guess haha

I’ll go with a fantasy series I’ve read pretty recently: The Oleah Chronicles by Michelle Johnson. These books are great reads, even if they do have a few cliches in them. What book doesn’t?

Freaks & Geeks: Left You Wanting More

These were easy picks. After all the hype that surrounded Truthwitch, I was really disappointed when I actually read it. I was expecting this amazing fantasy and I just didn’t feel like that’s what I got. The Dark Days Club was good, but I guess I felt like it was missing something. It didn’t capture or interest me as much as I thought it would.

The OC: Series That Should Have Ended Earlier

I mentioned before that I don’t read many series that are really long, so I don’t really have any series that I feel should have ended earlier. I doubt I’d have an answer anyway since 1. I probably wouldn’t finish a series if I didn’t like it and 2. if I like a series, I tend to want it to keep going forever haha

Girl Meets World: Should Have a Spin-Off

2767052

I honestly would LOVE a spin-off about how Panem and it’s awful existence came to be. How does a government decide that sending kids to kill each other is a good idea? I really want to know!

That 70’s Show: Set in a Different Time Period

All books written by Ruta Sepetys are written in a different time period and are absolutely fantastic. If you like WWII historical fiction, I’d definitely recommend Between Shades of Gray and Salt to the Sea. Out of the Easy is set in 1950 in New Orleans and despite me having really no interest whatsoever in that time period/setting, I was super in love with that book.

Orange is the New Black: Couldn’t Stop Reading

25349721

Fear My Mortality is one of the best books I’ve read this year. It had me hooked literally from the first page and there wasn’t ever a moment where I felt bored or like the story was slow. It’s a really fascinating world too. All around a great book that was hard to put down.

Parks and Recreation: Made You Laugh Out Loud

18304322

First of all, I LOVE PARKS AND REC. That is hands down my favorite show ever. So if you haven’t watched that show yet, WATCH IT.

Anyway.

This is another one of my favorite reads so far this year. Aside from being a really entertaining story and just being all around amazing, there were some hilarious lines. Willowdean is a great and very funny main character.

One Tree Hill: Favorite Book Boyfriend

13335037

Yes I know I already used Divergent once in this, but too bad. Four has yet to be replaced as favorite book boyfriend for me. I love the badass guy is actually super vunerable trope and Four is pretty much the epitome of it. Plus, Theo James is super hot so him playing Four made me love his character even more (not ashamed to say that either).

Breaking Bad: Favorite Villain

I’m really struggling to come up with something for this one. I generally don’t like villains because they’re, well, villains. I know a lot of people love to hate villains but I just generally want to watch them lose.

Modern Family: Best Family or Parents

23502052

This is also kind of hard since YA has that whole “missing family” issue. There aren’t many YA books where parents/family play a huge role. But I’d say out of books I’ve read recently, this one goes to Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer. Now, Liberty’s mom kind of sucks since she pretty much leaves Liberty on her own so that she can go and fight for various causes. So Liberty grows up feeling lonely and uncared for. BUT Liberty’s grandma is the best. She has her moments where she’s a bit mean and she’s certainly overprotective, but I loved her. She really cares for Liberty and wants her to be happy. She encourages her to do what’s right, even when Liberty herself isn’t sure what to do. She’s just a really great and supportive person.

Whew, it took me quite awhile to come up with some of these answers! I, once again, am too lazy to tag anyone to do this but please feel free to tag yourself on my behalf!

Here are the list of prompts to make things easier for you:

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: unlikeable character(s)
Vampire Diaries: your ship sank or didn’t happen
Friends: best cast of characters/friendships
Gossip Girl: hate that you love or guilty pleasure
Doctor Who: long series you loved
Grey’s Anatomy: all the feels
How I Met Your Mother: bad ending
Supernatural: favorite paranormal/fantasy
Freaks & Geeks: left you wanting more
The OC: series that should have ended earlier
Girl Meets World: should have a spin-off
That 70’s Show: set in a different time period
Orange is the New Black: couldn’t stop reading
Parks and Recreation: made you laugh out loud
One Tree Hill: favorite book boyfriend
Breaking Bad: favorite villain
Modern Family: best family or parents

Let me know what you think of my choices! 🙂


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

6 thoughts on “The Netflix & Books Book Tag

  1. OMG, SO MUCH YES FOR RED QUEEN. Admittedly I don’t like the book, but Mare really frustrated me and Cal struck me as bland. I think I was reaaaally hoping that Mare would go for Maven just because it’d mix things up and make everyone seem more interesting and unique, but nope. ;_;

    And I ended up DNF-ing Truthwitch after a while. I tried reading it with other books at the same time just to keep me going, but the plot was so slow and the characters uninteresting that I just gave up. Sorry to hear that it left you wanting too! Some people seem to really like it.

    Thanks for doing the tag, Kourtni! I loved seeing your answers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as I love Red Queen, I can 100% understand why a lot of people don’t.
      I absolutely HATE to DNF books but if I was okay with it, I definitely would’ve ended up DNFing Truthwitch. I wanted to enjoy that book so much, but oh well. 😛

      Like

      • Aww, I understand! I DNF quite liberally because otherwise I’ll just frustrate myself and end up giving the book a lower rating than it probably deserves, but I can also understand not wanting to leave things unfinished, especially if you’ve invested some time/money/effort into it. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • I wish I could get myself to DNF books sometimes haha Usually I don’t because 1. I’ve usually spent money to buy the book and don’t want to feel like the money was wasted and 2. I’m always worried that the book will get better and I won’t know because I stopped reading it 😛

        Like

      • Yeees, the invested money is a thing for me too. I’m definitely likelier to DNF a library copy. 😛

        You have more patience than me, I think! Past a certain point I lose all hope that a book is going to get better and just give up, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

