Cross-Posting Reviews: Where, When, and Why To Do It

cross-posting reviews

Cross-posting reviews can be a lot of work. Sure, it’s easy to copy and paste the review from your blog to other websites, but it can be time-consuming to track down the right page on different websites and make sure the formatting doesn’t get completely messed up in the process. But cross-posting reviews is one of the easiest and best ways that us bloggers can help out authors.

When I first started blogging, it didn’t even occur to me that there may be some benefit to posting my reviews on other places besides my blog. But as I started signing up for review tours, I noticed that I was almost always being asked to post my reviews to Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Goodreads too. I couldn’t help but wonder why it mattered for them to be posted there.

Of course now it seems obvious, but it may not be to some of the newbies out there or even to people who have just never given it much thought. But reviews being put up on retail sites and Goodreads can help out the author a lot, especially if they’re an indie or self-published author and don’t benefit from all the marketing and publicity from a big publisher. By posting your reviews on other websites, you’re making your review more accessible to potential readers/buyers. People who were on the fence about buying a book may scroll down on Amazon to take a look at the reviews and your four or five star review may be what helps them decide to buy it.

Amazon’s own marketing depends on reviews as well. I admit I don’t know a lot about the specifics, but several authors I follow on Twitter have pointed out that once a book has a certain number of reviews on Amazon, that book is more likely to be shown in advertisements and recommendations to customers.

Now that I know how beneficial it can be, I try to always post my review at least on Goodreads and Amazon since those are the two websites I use the most and the two websites that I personally look at ratings/reviews on. Sometimes I forget to, but I make sure to always, always, always post my review there for less well-known books or books that were self-published. I know that in those cases my review can be really helpful to the author.

So if you’re wondering how to support an author you love, leaving your review on websites like Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, and The Book Depository (and any other book websites you use) is a great place to start.

P.S. If you need another push: at least on Goodreads, you can include your blog’s link in the review which may get you a few extra visitors. πŸ˜‰

Do you cross-post your reviews? If so, where do you post them? Are there any other benefits to cross-posting reviews that you can think of?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

26 thoughts on “Cross-Posting Reviews: Where, When, and Why To Do It

  1. I post all of my reviews on my blog, Twitter, Goodreads, and Amazon. The Amazon reviews also help an author get free promotion from Amazon where they’ll spotlight their books. An indie author can pull in a lot of sales from those reviews alone, so I always try to make it a point to post as many places as I can. Good idea for a post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I cross-post to Amazon & Goodreads. I also usually post to Audible, since I am an audiobook blogger. I have a macro that automatically alters my blog html into Goodreads html, then I copy & paste the actual GR review into Amazon & Audible. The most time consuming part, as you mentioned, is searching & opening the record for the book on each site and then navigating to the review form.

    My Most Recent Discussion: Love & Friendship: Ten Swoon-worthy Moments

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This going to sound overly cynical, but sometimes I just don’t see my job as “doing things to help authors out.” Of course I love many authors and am happy to promote their books when I can, but I guess I see my reviews as being directed primarily towards other readers and helping them decide whether or not they want to read a book. If it helps an author out, that’s great, but I don’t see that as my job. (Particularly since I do post negative reviews, which *might* help the author because any publicity is good publicity, or might not help them if it contributes to convincing someone not to read the book.)

    I’ve heard a lot of horror stories about adding reviews to Amazon, how they can be randomly deleted without warning, how you can be accused of knowing the author, how other reviewers will attack you if they don’t like your opinion of the book. I know this doesn’t happen to everyone, but it’s really put me off reviewing on Amazon since (again, I might sound a little selfish here), it doesn’t do much for me. I think it’s great to help out authors if you want to or can, but I don’t necessarily think you need to go out of your way to do so if you find it inconvenient.

    I cross-post to Goodreads and Riffle, but not Amazon or B&N right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s fair. I have heard of people getting their reviews taken down randomly which is awful. I don’t think I would be too annoyed by that just because I’m not writing a review specifically to put on Amazon, I’m just copying the one from my blog, so it’s not as though I’m really spending extra time on it. But I can definitely understand why people might not want to bother putting reviews on a website that might just turn around and take them down.
      I definitely do see what I do as something that helps other readers, but I like to think that I could do something to help authors as well, especially authors whose work I really enjoyed, seeing as how I’m benefiting from the time and effort they put into writing the book. And I think even writing negative reviews can be helpful because even if people decide not to buy/read the book, the author may get an idea of what to do better next time so that people will want to read it (I feel like that makes me seem a little conceited to say but oh well haha). And I’ve seen quite a few authors say that they appreciate negative reviews just as much as positive ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I have this whole routine of sharing my reviews – when it’s on the blog, it then goes on Goodreads (where I spend ages doing the format coding, ugh), then amazon, and a link will be shared on Twitter. Takes a while, but worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent post! I am absolutely terrible at cross posting. But when I get another lull in classes, it’s on my to-do list! I have done a couple though, but it’s mostly been for the tours who require it as well as being on the blog and Goodreads. Hopefully all of my reviews will be cross posted by the end of the year. It really does help out the authors.

    I saw a comment that said she (the blogger) doesn’t see it as part of the job to cross post. I agree, yet I disagree with it. I think with author review requests, a cross post should definitely be done (as part of the reviewing ‘job’), because that is kind of the point of the author seeking out the reviewer. I can see it being done for ARCs as well because of the publicity, and getting the word out and all. However, I think for purposes of just simply reviewing a book that is neither an ARC or author request, it’s okay not to cross post. I totally think this is a thin line, but I don’t think there is a right or wrong here either. If that makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    • (Sorry I didn’t see this until now!)
      I definitely agree with what you said. I don’t think you necessarily HAVE to cross-post reviews if they’re books that you’re reading 100% for your own personal reasons. But if you were asked to read and review it or if you received it as an ARC, you did agree to help get the word out about the book, so it’s a good idea. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post!! I certainly do cross posting. Along with my own blog the post goes in Amazon, Goodreads, Twitter, Google+, Facebook page… Quite a long list πŸ˜‰

    I do it because I think that its helps to promote the authors. Yes as per the places where I post, it becomes a little tedious at times but still I don’t mind it.

    I believe that the relation of author and reader is based on mutual cooperation.
    If authors will not write good books how will the readers quench their thirst of reading… and if readers don’t appreciate them, how will the authors work hard enough to give the best of their creativity again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly why I cross-post too! I have it so as soon as I post, it gets shared on Twitter and I sometimes share links on my Tumblr as well. It definitely can get tedious, but I think spending an extra 5 or 10 minutes putting my review out there is a small thing to do to help authors who put months or years into writing a book for us readers to enjoy. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post, Courtney! I always cross post my reviews to Goodreads, but one I always forget is Amazon. I have posted on their a few times, but not as often as I do Goodreads. I know I should though because a lot of publishers look at your Amazon reviews over Goodreads. When I do post it’s normally a condensed version of my blog post. A few times my reviews have been removed though for inappropriate language (when all I’ve used is something like damn) πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

Let's Chat!

