ARC Review: From Deities by Mary Ting (Review Tour)

from deities cover

Rating: 3.5/5

Published: October 7th, 2014, self-published

Length: 314 pages

Series: Descendant Prophecies #2

Genre: YA, paranormal, fantasy, romance, action, mythology

Source: I received a review copy from Barclay Publicity in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon | Goodreads

A mysterious stranger enters Skylar’s inner circle, destroying her precarious peace. She begins college amid new secrets, emerging powers, fresh dangers, and a potential stepfather.

In New Olympus, a hidden dwelling place for descendants of the gods, she finally gets answers. But can she trust them? Skylar and the Grand family must work together with these descendants to discover the key to their rescue from the evolving, evil vultures of Hades.

As the threat increases, Skylar must learn to control her newfound powers and decide who to trust before it’s too late.

I pretty recently read the first book in the Descendant Prophecies, From Gods, and really, really loved it. I sped through that one and really felt like I couldn’t get enough. So when I got an email from Barclay Publicity about this review tour for the series, I was eager to sign up. While I enjoyed From Deities, I think this is an unfortunate case of second book syndrome.

Throughout most of the book, it kind of felt like not much was happening. Don’t get me wrong – there were quite a few fight & action scenes – but I just didn’t feel like they were carrying the story anywhere. It wasn’t until I was about 3/4ths done with the book that I felt there was a real plot. It was entertaining, but lacked a real story in my opinion.

My other complaint is that although I really love Skylar and Mason as a couple, the romance between them was a little much. They just said the most ridiculous things to each other that had me rolling my eyes constantly. Take this quote, for example:

“Love can do that to you. Make you forget the pain and anger. It has the power to heal, to mend, to fix what was once broken, but first, you must accept it. I know this because of you, Sky . You broke down my wall with your love, and the love for you I couldn’t deny any longer.”

Does anyone actually talk to their significant other like that? Maybe in their wedding vows, but other than that I highly doubt it.

But there were of course plenty of things that I did like. I mentioned before that there were a lot of action scenes which were fun to read. They kept me interested in the book despite feeling like there wasn’t a lot going on. It was really interesting to see Skylar getting involved in the fights, rather than just standing there and hiding.

I also thoroughly enjoyed getting to see more of the bonds between the characters. I especially liked the glimpses we got into the relationship between Mason and his brother, Nick. I felt like I got to see a lot more of them in this book than I had in the previous one.

From Deities wasn’t bad but it definitely wasn’t as good as From Gods. I still want to continue the story and see what happens to Skylar, Mason, and the rest of the group in From Origin.

3.5 stars

Author Bio:

author picInternational Bestselling, Award-Winning, Author Mary Ting/M. Clarke resides in Southern California with her husband and two children. She enjoys oil painting and making jewelry. Writing her first novel, Crossroads Saga, happened by chance. It was a way to grieve the death of her beloved grandmother, and inspired by a dream she once had as a young girl. When she started reading new adult novels, she fell in love with the genre. It was the reason she had to write one-Something Great.
Connect with Mary:

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Amazon | Newsletter |

Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

 


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: From Deities by Mary Ting (Review Tour)

Leave a Reply

