Review of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462Rating: 4/5

Published: September 1st, 2012 by Scholastic Press

Series: Book 1 out of 4 in The Raven Cycle

Length: 409 pages

Genre: YA, fantasy, paranormal

Source: Won an eBook giveaway from Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

This was the book that won my Make Me Read It Readathon poll and I have to admit, I’m really glad all of you who voted made me read this because I really enjoyed it but I know I would have put it off even longer if it weren’t for the readathon.

Let me start by saying this book did take awhile for me to get into. The beginning is kind of slow as we get to know each of the characters and piece together the relationships they have with each other, what their lives are like, etc. I think this is one of the reasons why it took me 3 or 4 days to even get more than 15% through the book and it’s definitely the mainย reason that I gave it a 4 rather than 4.5 or 5 star rating.

Once I got through the slow introductions and things started to pick up, I really started enjoying myself. Around the 60% mark, the action picked up so much that I didn’t want to put the book down at all. In the second half of the book, there’s a lot going on for Blue and the boys and I found myself trying to figure out what exactly was going to happen (I failed at doing so, by the way).

the raven boys

I’d heard from many people that the characters in the story were really great and they were absolutely right about that. Although there were a couple of characters that I didn’t really connect with or care about much as individuals, the dynamics as a group were really entertaining. Each one of them had something that they brought to the group. I connected most with Blue & Adam and liked them a lot but like I said, as a group, everyone was fun to read about.

I thought the paranormal/fantasy aspects of the story were great too. Stiefvater did a great job of incorporating them in a way that didn’t seem totally ridiculous and unrealistic. It was a nice balance between feeling like it was paranormal and feeling like it was something that could really happen.

Although the beginning was slow and hard to get into, I still really enjoyed The Raven Boys and will be looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Stiefvater did a great job, especially with writing the characters and their relationships and interactions with each other.

4 stars


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

11 thoughts on “Review of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Thanks for the mention. I’m glad you read this book and liked it. ๐Ÿค— You convinced me yesterday to start reading it again. And your review also makes me want to hit that 60% mark so I can fangirl with everyone else. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Are you planning to read the rest of the series?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely felt the same way about this book! It took me a while to get into and for a while, I was almost sure that I was going to DNF. I ended up enjoying it by the end but haven’t had a chance to continue with the series. I’ve heard that the second book is glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

