Blogger Recognition Award

blogger recognition

Thank you so much to Melissa @ BookNerdMomo for tagging me to do this! If all of you don’t already follow her, go check out her blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

How Kourtni Reads Started

For the past couple of years, I’ve been a big Tumblr user and had recently realized that there is a huge book community on there (Booklr). Around November/December, I was trying to get myself to read more and figured that getting involved in at least part of the book community was a good way to motivate myself to read more. So in the beginning of December, I started a booklr (which I still have) but within a few weeks I realized it wasn’t quite as interactive and in-depth as I was hoping for. With that realization, I decided to start my very own blog right here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Advice to New Bloggers

I still feel pretty new myself, so this feels kind of weird to do, but I’ll try my best haha

  1. Don’t let your stats discourage or consume you. It’s pretty unlikely that your blog is ever going to reach a level where you’re getting thousands of views a day (and even if it does, it’s going to take a long time to get there), so don’t be discouraged when you’re not getting tons of views. Remember how much you love books and reading. That should be what fuels you and keeps you blogging. ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. Don’t feel pressured to do things a certain way. You will find tons of posts about the right way to do certain types of posts or other blogging-related thingsย and these can be really helpful. Just a few days ago, I put up a post like this. But if you’re reading these advice posts and you don’t think that’s how you want to do things, don’t worry about it! What one blogger may see as a flaw in your posts, others may be really drawn to. And even if they’re not, who cares? Blogging can (should?)ย be something you do mainly for yourself and your own enjoyment, so don’t worry if other people think you’re not doing things the “right way.” There isn’t really a right way to blog anyway.

Nominations

I’m not going to nominate 15 people because that seems like a lot and it also seems like nearly everyone has done this already haha So I’ll only nominate a few. If you’ve already done this or don’t feel like doing it, feel free to ignore the tag. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Mellanie @ No Shelf Control
  2. Sam @ The Literary Sam
  3. Lynn @ Neck Deep in Books

Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

8 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

    • Yup, I started it right on January 1st! I’m still learning not to care about stats because it’s easy to worry over them, but really I have so much fun blogging that I really don’t care if I have great stats or if they stay where they are. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Aw, thank you Aila! ๐Ÿ™‚ I still sometimes find myself getting caught up with worrying about stats, but I’m learning more and more not to worry about them. I have fun doing what I’m doing so if other people like it, awesome. If not, oh well haha

      Like

Join the Discussion

