Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie week so I decided to do a list of my favorite books that I’ve read so far this year, as I was planning to make a post like this anyway.

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Links will send you to the reviews I’ve posted!

Front Lines by Michael Grant

Beware: this is a review from when I first started blogging so it’s not in a great format haha

18743370

This is an alternate history book that includes women in combat during WWII. It has a fairly diverse cast of characters with multiple POVs, one from a Jewish girl and one from a black girl. I really enjoyed this book a lot and can’t wait to see where the rest of the series takes it.

City Love by Susane Colasanti

51awi6qnqrl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

I won a giveaway of book 2 in this series so I picked up the first one and was really surprised by how much I liked it. I hadn’t read any YA contemporary/romance in quite a long time but this was a great book to get back into it. There’s a perfect mix of fluff and heartbreak. I still haven’t read book 2 (ugh, I’m the worst), but I can’t wait to finally get to it.

Fear My Mortality by Everly Frost

25349721

This is about a girl who is mortal in a world full of basically immortal people. I got an ARC from Month9Books and absolutely loved it. It’s a great sci-fi book and quite fast-paced. You definitely won’t get bored. If you are even the slightest sci-fi fan, give this book a shot.

There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane

29362972

This is another one I got from Month9Books that I ended up really enjoying. This was the first dystopian I had read in quite awhile and it did not disappoint. It’s very fast-paced and hard to put down. I was hooked from the beginning until the end.

Keep Sweet by Michelle Dominguez-Greene

51do2jptbxl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

This is a book I had been meaning to read for ages and I noticed that my library had it so I took it out and was blown away by it. It deals with some very tough topics and my heart was breaking the whole time. It does end on a positive note though!

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

18304322

A book with a fat MC that doesn’t end with said MC losing weight and “becoming beautiful”? Sign me up. I loved this book a lot more than I thought I would (I originally didn’t even want to read it honestly).

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

25614492

We all know I love Ruta Sepetys. Her latest book tells the story of a few refugees and the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff. As always, Sepetys wrote the story beautifully.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade final for Irene

After hearing what seems like a billion people raving about ADSOM, I finally read it. I was worried it wasn’t going to live up to the hype, but that thankfully wasn’t an issue. Now I need to get A Gathering of Shadows and then join the wait for A Conjuring of Light.

From Gods by Mary Ting

184626431

Barclay Publicity sent me a copy of this to review and I’ll be honest: I think I loved this way more than I should have. It definitely has flaws and certainly could have been edited more. But I loved it regardless. I think a big factor was just that it was completely different from what I had been reading recently and that helped me enjoy it a lot more.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

11178225

Another Sepetys novel. This is actually probably my favorite of hers which is saying something considering it’s her only book that’s not WWII historical fiction and I am a huge fan of WWII historical fiction. I just loved the setting and the characters. I highly recommend reading this book.

That’s all for this TTT! If you made a TTT post this week, link to it in the comments below and I’ll check it out.


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

  1. Frontlines seems like an impressive read. There’s not enough multiple POVs in WWII fiction. It would be nice to see the war from different perspectives all in a single book. And the premise is just so fascinating!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

