The NY Times By The Book Tag

nyt by the book tag

I was tagged by Lauren over at Wonderless Reviews. If you don’t already follow her, you should definitely go check out her blog! The NY-Times By the Book Tag was originally created by Marie Berg. Check out her original video here.

What book is on your nightstand now?

I don’t have a literal nightstand, but I am currently reading The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman. I’ve barely gotten to read the past couple days so I’m really not very far and can’t say much about it yet. I’m hoping I’ll like it though. It’s fantasy/paranormal and historical fiction which are some of my favorite genres, so I can’t imagine I’ll dislike it. 🙂

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys! It turned me into a complete Sepetys fangirl. It’s the only one of her novels that doesn’t focus on WWII so going into it, I wasn’t sure if I’d like it as much as her other two novels, but holy crap. I absolutely loved it. You can check out my review here if you’d like. If you’re a fan of YA historical fiction, it’s a must-read (in my not-so-humble opinion).

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

Like I said, I’ve recently become a Ruta Sepetys fangirl so I’d probably choose her. I guess I’d like to know how she chooses which stories to write about since both of her WWII novels are based on real, but not super well-known events. But I’d honestly be too busy talking about how much I love her books to actually ask anything haha

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

This is tough because I don’t think I have any really odd books or anything. I do have a few books about Wicca and witchcraft which might be surprising? When I was in middle school, I went through a phase of being obsessed with learning about it. I also have a book about Good Charlotte and one about My Chemical Romance. Other than that, most of my books are pretty similar to the books that I’ve talked about here on the blog so I don’t know.

How do you organize your personal library?

My life is sad and all my books are in boxes except for those that I’ve bought really recently so they aren’t really organized. I tried to organize them based on books I’ve read and books I haven’t, but ended up running out of space in some boxes so they ended up getting mixed together. When I had an actual bookshelf to use, I had my books organized alphabetically by the author’s last name because it’s just the easiest organization system if you ask me.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

There are so many, where to begin? I’ll go with Tolkien’s books. I actually think I mentioned this in another post pretty recently. My older brother gave me The Hobbit when I was in around 5th or 6th grade (I’m now 21 and going into my senior year of college) but I still haven’t read it. But honestly, there are dozens of other books with similar stories.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. Everything about this seemed like something I would thoroughly enjoy. It’s a YA fantasy with magic unlike what I’ve read in other books and features two badass teenage girls who have an awesome friendship. Plus, the reviews I had seen before I read it were all positive. But I had serious problems with the pacing and felt like the magic had inconsistencies. I was so disappointed that I didn’t like it. If you want to see more of what I thought, my review is here.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

Well, just looking at my blog you can tell I really like YA fantasy, sci-fi, and historical fiction. I’d say that makes up most of what I read. There isn’t much that I stay clear of except for erotica (or really sex-heavy books) and biographies. I guess I also tend to stay away from books where sports is a big part of the plot. I’m not really a sports fan at all and it just bores the crap out of me reading about them lol

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

You know, I really don’t know. I can’t think of a particular title, but something about the effects of poverty, racism, or sexism most likely. Or all three. I think those are really big issues in our society and any president we have should be aware of their history and their present effects.

What do you plan to read next?

I’m not 100% sure. I still have a ton of library books to read and I took more out (big surprise there). I really need to try to get those read so I don’t have to return them without reading them. I’d also like to read some of the ARCs I have from NetGalley that have been sitting on my Kindle for months. So I don’t know. It’s a mystery to me as much as it is to all of you haha

I’m not going to tag anyone because quite honestly I’m too lazy to do it and I feel like a lot of people have already done this. But by all means, if you want to do it – consider yourself tagged! I’d love to see your answers. 🙂


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

6 thoughts on “The NY Times By The Book Tag

  1. Loved reading your answers! I have a copy of The Dark Days Club so I’ll be interested to see what think of that! It’s so cool that you have books on Wicca! It’s something I’ve always been interested in. Love your themes for what the President should read too. I feel like all those things you mentioned should be required reading for everyone, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

