What Makes You Pick Up a Book?

what makes me pick up a book

Something I’ve noticed since I started blogging is that nearly everyone has different things that makes them decide to read a certain book. Some rely completely on reviews. Others pick up a book based on its cover or its blurb. I decided I would type up a quick post on what commonly gets me to read a book and, out of curiosity, see what gets all of you to read a book!

Most commonly: its blurb

9 times out of 10 the reason why I decide to read a book is its blurb. Often when I’m in a bookstore or a library or just browsing through books on Amazon, trying to decide what to buy, I look at its blurb and if it sounds interesting, that’s good enough for me. It seems like this is fairly atypical of book bloggers, as most seem to want some sort of confirmation from other people that the book lives up to its blurb.

Cover

That saying “don’t judge a book by its cover”? Yeah, I don’t follow that. I usually don’t read a book only because of its cover, but a lot of the time when I’m trying to find a book to read, I’ll pick up books that have nice covers and read their blurbs to see if I want to read them. It’s not usually the deciding factor, but it can definitely be what makes me initially look into a book. I’m a sucker for pretty covers, what can I say?

Reviews

Before I started blogging, I paid very little, if any, attention to reviews. But now that I follow so many lovely bloggers, I pay more attention to reviews. If a blogger who tends to like similar books as I do writes a review praising a book, I’m more likely to pick it up. Negative reviews don’t deter me too much (more on that here), but positive reviews can absolutely get me to go check out a book or if it’s already on my TBR, to bump it up.

Hype/Popularity

I feel obligated as a book lover to read books that are really popular, regardless of whether or not they deserve that popularity. Hype about books is what made me pick up books like The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Divergent, and (way back in the day) Twilight. I feel left out if I haven’t read series that are really popular with readers, although I’ll admit there are still tons of really popular series that I haven’t read yet. You can check out this post I made last week to see what some of those series are.

These are some of the most common reasons why I personally decide to read a book. Are any of these deciding factors for you? Are there any other factors you would add?

23 thoughts on “What Makes You Pick Up a Book?

  1. Great post. I’m like you I have a mixture of things that get me to pick up a book. If the blurb sounds good I will give the book a try. However, I think I mostly chose a book based on what others in the blogging community have said about the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find that if I’ve heard a lot of people talking about it on booktube videos then I’m likely to look into it. It doesn’t even have to be a review, if a book gets mentioned enough I get interested. I’ve found quite a few books through this! I still look at the blurb before reading these books but it is a great way to find out about books I might not have heard about otherwise ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely the blurb and cover for me. I almost try to avoid hype books unless I see a ton of rave reviews because they’re always the most disappointing. I read a lot of indie books, so I’m open to reading just about anything as long as it sounds good and the reviews are not bashing the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am definitely guilty of reading books based on the hype surrounding them, especially since joining the book blogging community. If I see a lot of photos featuring a particularly beautiful cover though, I’m never sure whether it’s the cover or the hype that makes me want to read it! I would love to pick up more less well known books but I would just have no idea where to start.

    Great post! Thank you for sending me your blog link ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I tend to pick up books that aren’t really well known mostly when I’m at the library. It’s tough to tell if I’ll like those books so I don’t want to risk spending money on them haha but when I see tons of people saying they loved a certain book, I usually end up also enjoying it.
      Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. I do have to admit that I listen mostly to hype when it comes to choosing books. I don’t even mean to, I just tend to love the popular books! I think it’s mostly because I read YA, and there seems to be so much more encouragement and hype build up for YA than any other age range. I don’t follow hype blindly though. I definitely take notice of reviews, especially from bloggers or booktubers that have similar reading tastes to me! I feel like it depends on the genre though too, because I’ve recently discovered my love for historical fiction, which doesn’t have many books in the limelight, just the odd few. So when it comes to historical fiction, I rely pretty much on random recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely agree that YA books tend to get more hyped up! I think outside of YA, the only books that get really hyped up are ones that are getting movie adaptations.
      I never thought of it, but you’re totally right that historical fiction doesn’t really get hyped up. The only ones I can think of that do are maybe books written by Ruta Sepetys.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. When buying a book for myself, I rely on everything, but mainly the blurb. Recently, I’ve been going into bookshops, and just browsing, I’ve been buying books based on my feelings there and then in the shop, not what I already know and the hype from reviews. Cover impacts my decision to buy it too – if I really hate the cover, I’ll probably just get it on Kindle! Reviews don’t really come into my decision making, unless everyone has given the book really negative reviews

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I go by the blurb and the cover, too. Reviews don’t necessarily mean much to me as not everyone as the same tastes that I do. If I see a bunch of negative reviews I might pass, but if I like what the book seems to be about, I’m usually going to try it anyway, regardless of what others are saying.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Same! If I see glowing reviews, I’ll check something out even if I hadn’t heard of it before. I don’t know what the difference is, why I’d rather believe positive rather than negative reviews, but there you have it!

        Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

