Top Ten Reasons I Love Book Blogging

Top Ten Tuesday

So this week’s Top Ten Tuesday was a bit of a freebie. The prompt was “top ten reasons I love X” where you could make X whatever you wanted. I decided to share just a few of the reasons why I love book blogging. 🙂

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely The Broke and The Bookish.

1. I can connect with other people who love reading as much as I do.

This is a big one that I know a lot of bloggers love. I absolutely love having all of you wonderful people to talk to about my love for books because you completely understand! Before I started blogging, I didn’t really have anyone to talk to about books because no one I know really loves reading and if they do, they don’t read the same types of books as me which makes talking about books pretty difficult. 😉

2. I discover a lot of books that I probably would not come across otherwise.

Because of how diverse bloggers’ reading interests are and because we come from all over the world, I come across so many books that I’ve never heard of before. Even without considering books I hear about directly from other bloggers, I still get introduced to new books through blogging. For example, I never used to read self-published books, but now I get a decent amount of review requests from self-published authors and so I’ve read quite a few.

3. I’ll never run out of books to read.

This is kind of related to my last point, but now that I see so many different books from other bloggers, I will never again feel like I don’t know what to read. (Although I’ll admit, this wasn’t much of a problem before I started blogging either haha) My TBR is officially a never-ending list of books that provides me with PLENTY of reading material. I’m sure you can relate…

4. I get introduced to different opinions.

Because of how diverse book bloggers are and because we all have very different backgrounds, I get introduced to so many different opinions on books, genres, reading habits, etc. that I never would have even thought of on my own. It gets me to see things from a different point of view and think more critically about things.

5. I can get opinions on books that deal with marginalized identities/groups from people with actual experience.

This is a huge one for me. I always get kind of nervous reading a story with characters or a plot that deals with something like disability or racism because there could be tons of problems with the representation that I, as a white and able-bodied person, wouldn’t pick up on. By reading other book blogs, I can see what people who actually identify with these groups think of the representation and can support books and authors that deal with these topics well.

6. I get a chance to share my thoughts and opinions with people who actually care (I think).

My family and friends no longer have to suffer and listen to me ramble on about books that they don’t care about and will never read. 😉 It’s nice to know that the people I’m talking to are actually interested in what I have to say and I can actually talk with people rather than at them.

7. I get a chance to interact with and work with authors (and other bloggers).

I admittedly haven’t done this a lot yet, but it’s so great when I do. I love being able to help authors promote their books and interview them to see more about the person behind the book. I’m looking forward to having the chance to do this more in the future as this is one of my absolute favorite things about being a book blogger.

8. I get the chance to interact with people from all over the world.

Okay so admittedly a lot of the people I talk to are from the US just like I am, but I’ve also gotten the chance to talk to people from a lot of other countries. This is always really fun for me because I would never have met them if it weren’t for book blogging and I just really love it.

9. It helps me develop skills that will be useful in other contexts.

I honestly didn’t think about this at all when I first started blogging, but after having been a book blogger for a few months now, I see how much running a blog helps me build other skills. Blogging has given me a chance to improve my organizational and communication skills the most. Through writing blog posts I’ve become better at accurately sharing my thoughts and through writing back and forth with authors and other bloggers I’ve become better at writing “professional” (I use this term very loosely hahaha) emails. And of course by having to write out and schedule blog posts, my organizational skills have vastly improved.

10. It motivates me to read more.

This is actually one of the main reasons why I started book blogging. I’ve always loved reading, but I noticed that for the past couple of years I’ve barely read any books. I figured that by starting a book blog, it would kind of force me to read. After all, you can’t really blog about books if you don’t read any. Already this year I’ve read way more books than I read all last year which makes me very happy.

Here are ten things that I personally love about book blogging. Do you see any things here that you like about blogging too? What would you add to the list? What did you do for Top Ten Tuesday this week? Let me know in the comments!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons I Love Book Blogging

  1. Oh yes, great pick for this weeks prompt! Love that this prompt means nearly all our posts are about something different. I love blogging so much and am so happy I decided to start my blog. It has been such a journey and I have loved every minute. I love the book blogging community, it is one of the best I love having a place to come and discuss books, as I don’t have anyone to discuss with in my day to day life. You can check my TTT post out here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list, and super relatable too! #4 is very important to me — I love it when my opinions are challenged and more so when my eyes are opened because of it. And #9 is so true; we learn quite a lot just by doing this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

