May Wrap-Up

May is over, June is here, and with it comes my wrap-up post for May. This month has flown by and it’s been pretty relaxing for me (besides the first week which was finals week) since I’m on summer break and doing nothing but hanging out at home and working part-time.

Surprisingly, I didn’t read more in May than in April despite having a lot more free time. I’m hoping to step-up my game in June. Anyway, here are the books I’ve read and links to the reviews:

  1. Five Seven Six by C.E. Wilson (3.5/5)
  2. Justice by Michelle Johnson (4/5)
  3. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (5/5)
  4. The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry (3.5/5)
  5. Faking Normal by Courtney Stevens (4/5)
  6. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (4.5/5)
  7. Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult (4/5 – review to come)

Out of these books, Dumplin’ was definitely my favorite, but Salt to the Sea was another great read as well.

And I of course wrote some discussion posts which I love doing because I love seeing what all of you have to say about the topics too:

  1. Does Reading Negative Reviews Deter You?
  2. Diverging From Popular Opinions
  3. Originality in Blogging
  4. Importance of Mental Health in Books

In May I also participated in my very first readathon! I participated in the Bout of Books readathon which was a lot of fun. I was really happy to be able to participate and am looking forward to doing more readathons in the future. You can see my wrap-up post for that here.

I also had a massive library haul and I still have not read all of these, but I was luckily able to renew the ones I hadn’t read so I’m going to push myself to finish them within the next couple of weeks. In addition to the library books shown in that post, I also borrowed Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys and A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.

As of Monday, I had officially made 100 posts on here. I can’t believe I’ve already written that many posts! It feels like I just made my first post a couple of days ago.

post-milestone-100-2x

May was a fun month for me and I did get quite a few books read as well although not as many as I was hoping. For June, I’m aiming to read at least 10 books including all of the library books I currently have. I’m sure I’ll be picking up more from the library as well and I have a few books that I ordered that are making their way to me. I’m participating in Relay for Life next weekend which I’m thinking will be a good opportunity to get a bit of reading in, as there isn’t much else to do while I’m walking around a track at 2 am. 😉

How was May for all of you? How many books did you read? Which was your favorite?

 

10 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

  1. Faking Normal and Dumplin’ are on my TBR. I have so many books to read and review I can barley kept track anymore. 100 posts that’s so awesome. I’m almost there myself. I was shocked when I saw how many posts I’ve written in less than three months. I’m sure you were shocked when that popped up. It goes by so fast. Blogging is so much fun. I think I read about 5 books this month, maybe even more. I have to double check my Goodreads. Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

      • You’re new to blogging, too. That’s cool. I started mid-March, and I’ve been having a ton of fun doing it. I’ve been kinda slacking the past week though. I love that Dumplin’ has an overweight character. You never see that in YA. I’ve been trying to expand my reading collection to books with hard topics, diverse books, and anything that has an MC that deviates from the norm.

        Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

