Musing Mondays (5/30)

 

First of all, today is Memorial Day in the US and to any of you who may have lost someone in the military, my heart goes out to you. ❤ I hope today isn’t too hard for you.

Now onto my Musing Mondays post.

Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Books and a Beat where you answer one of the following prompts in addition to the weekly question:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s question is: Name a book that disappointed you.

So as a Barnes & Noble member, I get way too many coupons for 20% off one item. They sent one over this weekend and last night I used it to order Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I’ve heard so many people raving about this book and recommending it to everyone which had me interested in it. Plus it just won a Nebula Award for best novel! I’m really excited for it to arrive, which should be at some point later in the week or at the beginning of next week. If any of you have read it, let me know what you thought of it!

A book that disappointed me… Luckily there haven’t been too many, but I’ll go with the most recent one: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I wanted to like it so badly. Other people seemed to be enjoying it (although I’ve since seen more people with opinions similar to mine) and the premise behind the book seemed promising, but it could have been written much better than it was. If you want to see more about what I didn’t like (and what I did like), you can find my review here.

If any of you wrote a Musing Mondays post, link me to it in the comments. Have a great Monday (or at least try)! 🙂

Let's Chat!

