Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

Top Ten Tuesday

This is the first time in awhile that I’m actually participating in Top Ten Tuesday! But since this week is all about books that we picked up on a whim and I pick up almost every book based on a whim, I thought this would be a perfect chance for me to showcase some books that I randomly picked up and either can’t wait to read or already read and really loved.

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely The Broke and The Bookish. Each week has a different theme and you post a list related to that theme.

So before I actually get into my list of books, I feel like I should explain what I’m interpreting “on a whim” as since I feel like it’s a pretty subjective phrase haha For me, this means that it’s a book that I hadn’t heard of before from other people and that I didn’t read anything about (didn’t read reviews, hadn’t seen people raving about it, etc.). Without further ado, here are my ten books. All links will take you to their Goodreads pages.

Elusion by Claudia Gabel & Cheryl Klam

12369550

I found this book at my local library last summer. The cover is what initially got me to pick it up and once I read the description of the book, I had to borrow it. This is a great YA sci-fi book that also has a ton of suspense. I’m definitely glad that I found it. 🙂

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

51fa0mhsovl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I know a lot of you are probably wondering how I hadn’t heard of this, but… I hadn’t. At the time, I wasn’t really involved with the book community at all so I didn’t really hear much about books except for ones that got super popular, like The Hunger Games or Divergent. But I remember my younger siblings’ school was having their book sale and I saw this and decided to get it because I love WWII historical fiction but hadn’t read anything about it that didn’t focus on what the Nazis were doing. As I’ve mentioned before, this is one of my favorite books so thank god I picked this up!

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17234658

I might actually be cheating on this one because I can’t really remember whether I had heard about this book before I decided to read it, but I don’t think I had. I’m pretty this is the same story as Elusion: I saw it at the library and really liked the cover, so read the description and decided to read it. Another great YA sci-fi. This is also the only book I can remember reading where there’s travel to different dimensions which I really enjoyed. Alternate universes are my jam. I still need to read the sequel though!

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

18630496

Another one that I found at the library. It was labeled as a librarian pick but I’m still counting it as being picked up on a whim since I had no other information on it haha I read this either last summer or over my winter break, I’m not sure. It was kind of weird and to be honest, I’m still not totally sure how I feel about it, but I enjoyed reading it. It’s a dystopian, so I would have been surprised if my dystopian-loving self hadn’t liked it. This is another one whose sequel I still need to read, but I know my library has it, so I’ll probably be reading it this summer.

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

3678651

This book was the first (and only) YA horror I’ve ever read. I didn’t think it would scare me at all but then there was a creepy possessed doll involved and all bets were off. I powered through it anyway but I’ve still been afraid to pick up the rest of the series hahaha I’m a baby, I know. I found this at a library tag sale last summer and I’m pretty sure it was only $1.50 so how could I not buy it?

Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez Greene

51do2jptbxl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

As far as I can tell, this isn’t a very well-known book but holy crap, I loved it. I just read this last month (you’ll find my review here). I initially found out about this book because I watched a documentary about the FLDS and then searched on Amazon for books based on it. I was thrilled to realize that my library had it!

In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey

51or5dp2b51l-_sx322_bo1204203200_

This is a book that I stumbled across on NetGalley and requested because NetGalley is where my self-control goes to die. I hadn’t heard anything about it before, but it sounded really interesting and I was not disappointed. This is one of the first books I actually reviewed on my blog back in February so you can take a look if you’d like. This was a great YA suspense/thriller that I’d recommend if that’s your kind of thing.

I’m kind of cheating with these last three books because I haven’t actually read them yet but shhh.

Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon 

17302690

A few months ago (in February, I think), I placed my first order with Book Outlet and this is one that I got in that order. Since Book Outlet (in my experience) doesn’t typically have really popular books very often, I was just kind of browsing through the books they had and this sounded really interesting. The description reminds me a little bit of The Fault in Our Stars which I loved, so I’m excited for when I eventually get to it.

The One Safe Place by Tania Unsworth

18267072

Another one from my Book Outlet haul. We all know by now that I’m a sucker for dystopians so I couldn’t resist, especially since it was only $1. I’m saving this for when I’m really craving a dystopian. It probably won’t take very long for that to happen haha

Friday Never Leaving by Vikki Wakefield

17083869

And yet another book that I got from Book Outlet. The title and cover initially drew me in but the description really sounds like it will be a great read. I can’t wait to read this one!

So here are ten books that I picked up on a whim! Let me know if you’ve read any of them and what you thought of them if you did and feel free to link me to your own Top Ten Tuesday.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

Join the Discussion

