ARC Review: Justice (Oleah Chronicles #2) by Michelle Johnson

29744031Rating: 4/5

Release Date: May 15th, 2016

Length: 248 pages

Source: eARC from the author in exchange for an honest review

Amazon | B&NGoodreads

After discovering the truth about her Oleah origins, Angel thought she could still have a normal life, consisting of normal things – like her seventeenth birthday party. But there is no such thing as normal for Angel anymore. She learned that the hard way after Sindrell – the most powerful sorceress in the universe – crashed her party, destroyed the city, and took her best friend, Julie, captive. Determined to defeat Sindrell for good, Angel must risk her life, along with the fate of the entire universe to get Julie back…alive. The only way she can do this successfully, is to embrace her Oleah instincts and learn what it takes to become a true warrior. Problem is, Sindrell has an insurance policy of her own that will put millions of lives in danger – including Zander’s – to ensure her quest for power is brought to fruition. One way or another. In order to protect Zander, and save Julie, Angel has to make a choice… but will it be the right one?

A couple of weeks ago, I reviewed the first book in Michelle Johnson’s Oleah Chronicles series, Truth. Although it was a bit of a cliche plot, I really enjoyed it (you can find my review here) and so Michelle sent me over an ARC of the sequel, Justice, to review as well. Thank you Michelle!

Justice picks up right where Truth leaves off. Angel has just found out that Sindrell captured her best friend Julie and has been given an ultimatum: turn herself in to Sindrell or Julie dies.

In the beginning we get to see Angel receiving a “crash course” in Oleah training. I enjoyed this so much. As she discovers more and more about her abilities as an Oleah, she becomes more confident and sure of herself. Seeing Angel not only accept her identity, but embrace it was great and something that I thoroughly enjoyed. Getting to see what she’s capable of was very entertaining and interesting as well.

I can not say enough good things about the pacing. As I was reading this, I felt like there was so much going on and found it pretty hard to put the book down. But once I started reflecting on the book, I realized there wasn’t as much going on as I thought, it’s just that the pacing makes it seem like there’s a lot going on and stops you from getting bored.

I mentioned in my review of Truth that I really liked the relationship that Angel had with her parents and this is still true in Justice. Her parents are incredibly supportive of her and willing to listen to what she has to say instead of just overpowering her and making all of her decisions for her. With that said, they still act as parents: they don’t let her do whatever she wants and they do whatever they can to protect her and help her.

In general, the relationships that Angel has with the other characters are something that I enjoy reading about. I liked seeing the lighter moments between Zander and Angel and really liked that he helps make her stronger and more confident. He also helps her deal with everything that’s going on as it is predictably very hard for her to deal with the fact that her best friend has been kidnapped by an evil sorceress.

I liked seeing Angel get to know some of the people from Uforika, the world where Oleahs live. I liked that despite feeling as though they idolized her a bit too much, Angel still was kind to and liked being with Kovu and Coral.

I can not finish this review without mentioning the ending. Holy crap. It was really great although extremely heartbreaking. I want to cry, scream, and read book 3 right now.

Justice is a great second installment in the Oleah Chronicles that has me eager to continue the series. Even if you’ve read Truth and weren’t a huge fan, I would definitely recommend continuing. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Let's Chat!

