ARC Review: Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

25626729Rating: 4/5

Release Date: June 15th, 2015 (not really sure, as I’ve seen multiple different dates)

Length: 182 pages

Source: eARC from the author, Michelle Johnson, in exchange for a review

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

What would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.

I really, really, really liked this book. I’m not even quite sure what it was about it that I loved so much. When Michelle contacted me asking if I was interested in reviewing it, I certainly thought that I would like it, but I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did.

Originally I wasn’t sure how much I would like it simply because the plot seemed very similar to other things that I had read recently. All in all, it is a bit of cliche fantasy plot: girl thinks she’s a normal teenager, but then finds out she’s not and also finds out she has some crucial role in the world she’s truly a part of. With that said, I still really liked the story. I thought there were enough unique aspects thrown in to keep it interesting.

The Oleah were really interesting. They’re basically half-lion, half-human (they’re described as kind of like a centaur but with a lion instead of a horse). They also have a lot of special abilities, as is expected. I won’t go too much into them because it was fun for me to find out about them as I was reading, so I’ll let you do the same. The Oleah actually reminded me a bit of the Mai in The Nine Lives of Chloe King. I can’t wait to see more of them in the next book.

One of the things I liked the most was Angel’s character. She’s portrayed as both mature and not exactly immature, but more of a typical teenager. There were times where she feels that she needs to deal with things on her own so that she doesn’t put her parents in danger or stress them out, but there were also times where she’s gossiping about boys with her best friend, Julie. In my experience, books often don’t show this range, but teens absolutely can show both of these kinds of traits/behaviors.

I admittedly am complete trash for Zander. I absolutely love him. I won’t say why that makes me trash since it’s a spoiler, but just. Ugh.

I also enjoyed the relationship Angel had with her parents and the relationship between her parents. You could tell that they were close and really cared about each other, which is so nice to see with teenage characters. So often teenagers are portrayed as at odds with their parents and while there was a little bit of that (which was very realistic if you ask me), it did not define Angel’s relationship with her parents at all.

Finally, Johnson’s writing was simple but in a really good way. I fully admit that I often find very descriptive and long-winded writing confusing and it makes me lose interest because I get bored. So the simplicity of her writing was great. It made the story easy to understand and didn’t have me skipping through lines because I got bored.

I would definitely recommend you check out if you like fantasy/paranormal. It’s not super unique or beautiful writing-wise, but is something that you may enjoy if you’re looking for something fun and quick to read. I can’t wait to read the next book and see what happens!

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

Let's Chat!

